Therabox Monthly Subscription Box: January 2019 Renew Edition Haul Tabletop Sideview
Review Unboxing

TheraBox | January 2019 | Unboxing & Honest Review

This is a review and unboxing of the January 2019 edition of the TheraBox.

Therabox Monthly Subscription Box: January 2019 Open Box Open Tissue Paper

TheraBox is a monthly self-care subscription box. Curated by a therapist, TheraBox’s mission is to “inspire happier lives through practical joy boosting activities & thoughtful self-care products.” Each month has a theme and a happiness boosting activity, along with an assortment of 6-8 wellness goodies such as teas, skin care products, journals, and more. TheraBox promises to deliver over $100 in retail value with every box.

Please visit our Affiliate Disclosure page for important information about affiliate links, free samples, and site commissions.

The Haul

The January 2019 edition of the TheraBox contained 8 items and 2 happiness boosters (score!): a meditation CD download and a free 1-month membership to Change Your Energy.

Therabox Monthly Subscription Box: January 2019 Renew Edition Haul Tabletop Sideview

The theme for the January 2019 TheraBox was “Renew.” TheraBox partnered with Ilchi Lee, a teacher of ancient Korean healing practices, to curate the happiness boosters.

The box included a single-page, folded brochure explaining the items in the box and providing details on each of the happiness boosters and usage tips for the physical products. As a bonus, the brochure also provided coupon codes for discounts on many of the products in the box.

Therabox Monthly Subscription Box: January 2019 Renew Edition Pamphlet Unfolded Outside

Therabox Monthly Subscription Box: January 2019 Renew Edition Pamphlet Unfolded Inside

Without further ado, here are the items that I received in my “Renew” January 2019 TheraBox:

  1. Nature Awakens: Meditations for Loving Yourself, Full Audio CD Download
  2. Change Your Energy, 1-Month Premium Membership
  3. Your Tea, Tiny Tea Tox (42 count, 14-day program)
  4. Alitura Naturals, 600 Titanium Microneedle Derma Roller (.25mm)
  5. Mídflower, Biocellulose Peel Mask (15 ml)
  6. Mídflower, Bulgarian Rose Water Mask (20 ml)
  7. Purederm COLOR!SKIN, Twinkle Design Moisturizing Hand Mask (26 g)
  8. Knock Knock, Awesome Fill in the Love Journal
  9. Cougar, Marine Collagen Facial Serum (30 ml)
  10. The Hippie Homesteader, Essential Oil Serum in Motivate (10 ml)
  11. Herbal Chest, Rose Peony Lotion Bar (0.7 oz)

1. Nature Awakens: Meditations for Loving Yourself, Full Audio CD Download

The first item in the January 2019 TheraBox is a full audio CD download entitled, “Nature Awakens: Meditations for Loving Yourself.”

About

This download contains 6 guided nature meditations produced by Ilchi Lee, mind-body expert and New York Times bestselling author.

My Thoughts

I am a big fan of guided meditation, and this meditation CD has a rating of 4.9/5 on Goodreads. That is pretty great! And I think it’s wonderful that TheraBox has included such a heavy-hitting collection in this month’s box. It makes this box feel like a legitimately therapeutic investment, rather than just a bunch of monthly indulgences.

Retail Value

According to TheraBox, the MSRP of this downloadable CD is $17.95. However, this is the price of the physical CD version, and the downloadable version is available at a much lower price point ($4.95 as of today).

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 TheraBox or you want to get this CD of meditations for yourself, you can get it from Amazon.

2. Change Your Energy, 1-Month Premium Membership

The next item in the January 2019 TheraBox is a 1-month premium membership to Change Your Energy.

Change Your Energy Coupon and Meditation Voucher

About

Change Your Energy is an online learning platform for energy, meditation, yoga, chakras, and meridians. It was founded by mind-body expert Ilchi Lee, and it offers 1,500 videos, articles, and weekly live classes.

The premium membership includes a free private consultation, as well as an energy quiz that provides content recommendations based on your vitality needs.

My Thoughts

I don’t usually include free trials or coupons in my box value calculations. However, in this case, the premium membership can deliver a lot of value if you redeem it at the optimal time. And you don’t need to spend money to take advantage of the free month of access, so I will not discount this item.

Retail Value

According to TheraBox, the MSRP of this membership is $19.99.

Sign Up

If you missed the January 2019 TheraBox or you want to get a Change Your Energy membership for yourself, visit them directly to learn more.

3. Your Tea, Tiny Tea Tox (42 count, 14-day program)

The next item in the January 2019 TheraBox is a 14-day Tiny Tea Tox from Your Tea, with 42 teabags.

About

This 14-day teatox from Australia is a digestive detox plan based on Chinese herbal medicine that is intended to target excess fat, reduce bloating and water retention, and alleviate indigestion. It is manufactured with tea from the Fujian Province in China.

The full detox plan is supposed to last for 28 days, and the instructions say that you should drink the tea approximately 30 minutes before each meal.

Expiration date: March 25, 2020.

My Thoughts

This tea smells heavenly, and I can’t wait to see if it really works as promised or if it’s just another batch of yummy tea. I suffer from myasthenia gravis, which limits my mobility and leaves me prone to bloating and fluid retention. So I could use the health-promoting effects, but you will also never hear me complain about having a new supply of delicious tea.

Ingredients

This tea contains oolong tea, barley sprout, hawthorn fruit, tangerine peel, cassia seeds, radish, and lotus leaf. If you have allergies, be sure to check the full ingredient list before consuming.

The tea contains gluten, but it is free of soy, dairy, and GMOs.

Retail Value

According to TheraBox, the MSRP of this tea detox is $35.

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 TheraBox or you want to get this tea for yourself, you can get a 28-day supply from Amazon here.

4. Alitura Naturals, 600 Titanium Microneedle Derma Roller (.25mm)

The next item in the January 2019 TheraBox is a .25mm 600 Titanium Microneedle Derma Roller from Alitura Naturals.

Aliture Naturals The Derma Roller .25mm

About

The derma roller is a cult beauty and anti-aging secret long enjoyed by celebrities and dermatologists. It is a handheld roller covered with 0.25 mm titanium micro needles, and you use it by rolling it gently over your facial skin in 4 different directions approximately once a week.

Derma rolling works by creating “micro-wounds” to stimulate an acute inflammatory response that promotes healing and cell regeneration. It is also supposed to boost collagen production and combat stretch marks and cellulite.

Alitura Naturals has published a usage guide that beats the one included in the TheraBox brochure. So check it out before you get started with your new derma roller.

My Thoughts

How exciting! This may be my favorite item in this box. I would probably never buy a derma roller for myself, but now that I have one, I am eager to see if I can get any results out of the micro-needling process. My 30-something skin is getting a little tired, and I’d love to restore some vitality and reduce my dependence on cosmetics.

Retail Value

According to TheraBox, the MSRP of this derma roller is $29.

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 TheraBox or you want to get a derma roller for yourself, you can get it directly from Alitura Naturals. And if you use coupon code grnwv5fhv4, you can get 20% off your purchase from Alitura. Score!

5. Mídflower, Biocellulose Peel Mask (15 ml)

The next item in the January 2019 TheraBox is a 15 ml Biocellulose Peel Mask from Mídflower.

About

This sheet mask is for aging skin, oily skin, large pores, and acne prone skin. Its only ingredient is rosa damascena flower water, which is known for rejuvenation and hydration. The biocellulose material binds to dead skin cells and lifts them from the face, which smooths the skin and reduces fine wrinkles.

This mask is cruelty-free and vegan.

Expiration date: September 18, 2019.

Time required: 60 minutes.

My Thoughts

I am very excited to try this sheet mask, which is all-natural and additive-free. I have never seen a peeling mask with only one ingredient. If it works, I will be seriously impressed!

Retail Value

According to TheraBox, the MSRP of this mask is $15.

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 TheraBox or you want to get this mask for yourself, you can get it directly from Mídflower. You can also buy a 4-pack of Midflower masks, including both of the masks in this box, from Amazon.

6. Mídflower, Bulgarian Rose Water Mask (20 ml)

The next item in the January 2019 TheraBox is a 20 ml Bulgarian Rose Water Mask from Mídflower.

About

Like the peel mask above, this sheet mask is also hydrating and brightening, but it is made from a different type of sheet material that does not have a peeling effect. This mask is intended for all skin types, including dry and combination skin.

Expiration date: September 20, 2020.

My Thoughts

I am excited to compare the two rose water masks, which will make it easier to confirm the incremental difference from the peeling effect of the mask above. And more sheet masks means another excuse to kick back and watch a bit of TV – can’t beat that!

This mask is cruelty-free and vegan.

Ingredients

Like the peel mask above, this sheet mask contains rosa damascene flower water. The rose petals are picked during the annual Rose Harvest in Bulgarian Rose Valley.

However, this mask also contains a number of additional ingredients that are meant to create brightening effect. If you have any allergies, be sure to check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to TheraBox, the MSRP of this mask is $5.

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 TheraBox or you want to get this mask for yourself, you can get it directly from Mídflower. You can also buy a 4-pack of Midflower masks, including both of the masks in this box, from Amazon.

7. Purederm COLOR!SKIN, Twinkle Design Moisturizing Hand Mask (26 g)

The next item in the January 2019 TheraBox is a 26 g pair of Twinkle Design Moisturizing Hand Masks from Purederm COLOR!SKIN.

About

This hand mask is an intensive Korean beauty treatment that is intended to improve skin tone and texture, nourish the skin, and provide deep hydration. It is covered with stars to brighten your mood while using the mask.

Time required: 20-30 minutes.

Expiration date: July 21, 2020.

My Thoughts

I love hand treatments, especially if they work their magic in just 20-30 minutes. And in a sea of bland sheets and masks, the fun design is fabulous!

Ingredients

This hand mask includes gympie nut tree seed oil, shea butter, honey, and bee glue extract. If you have allergies, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to TheraBox, the MSRP of this hand mask is $5.

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 TheraBox or you want to get this hand mask for yourself, you can get it from Amazon or at a crazy discount from BeautyNet Korea. BeautyNet even has a matching foot mask, in case your feet want to join in the party.

8. Knock Knock, Awesome Fill in the Love Journal

The next item in the January 2019 TheraBox is a “Why You’re So Awesome” Fill In the Love Journal from Knock Knock.

About

This journal is a tiny book full of 50 fun prompts like, “It’s awesomely funny when you .” Fill it out and give it to a friend, family member, or significant other to tell them why you love them so much. It comes in a gift box for easy gifting.

My Thoughts

I really love the practice of gratitude journaling, but sometimes it can feel a little private and self-centered. I’ve tried sending spontaneous personal messages to people that I care about, but this journal really takes appreciation to a new level, while also taking the pain out of coming up with a worthwhile message. Who wouldn’t love to receive such a thoughtful gift from a loved one? This is one of the best items in the box, and it’s sure to be especially helpful for those who struggle with social anxiety or isolation.

Retail Value

According to TheraBox, the MSRP of this journal is $16. But Knock Knock itself is selling it for only $10, so I would knock this price back by $5.

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 TheraBox or you want to get this journal for yourself, you can get it from Amazon or directly from Knock Knock.

9. Cougar, Marine Collagen Facial Serum (30 ml)

The next item in the January 2019 TheraBox is a 30 ml tube of Marine Collagen Facial Serum from Cougar. As a variation, some boxes contain the Antioxidant Defense Facial Serum instead.

Cougar Marine Collagen Marine Facial Serum

About

This cooling, anti-aging facial serum is to be applied to clean skin before applying other moisturizing products. It promotes youthful, hydrated skin by brightening and lightening the skin, leaving it calm, toned, and refreshed.

Cougar Beauty is a family-run beauty label, and their other offerings include serums from snail slime and bee venom. Not for the faint of heart!

My Thoughts

This serum smells really fresh and light. It seeps quickly into my skin, without leaving behind any films or stickiness. I can’t wait to see if it creates a long-lasting firming or smoothing effect.

Ingredients

This serum contains organic aloe vera leaf juice, marine collagen from fish, organic avocado oil, Vitamin E, organic green tea extract, organic passion fruit extract, organic blueberry extract, argan oil, arnica oil, organic apple extract, and organic cucumber extract.

If you have allergies, be sure to check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to TheraBox, the MSRP of this serum is $15. However, I was able to find it on sale at Fragrance Direct for only 3.99 Euros (about $4.50).

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 TheraBox or you want to get this serum for yourself, you can get it from Amazon or from Fragrance Direct (with shipping from UK to a number of countries).

10. The Hippie Homesteader, Essential Oil Serum in Motivate (10 ml)

The next item in the January 2019 TheraBox is a 10 ml vial of Essential Oil Serum in Motivate from The Hippie Homesteader.

About

This essential oil blend is intended to give you a boost to overcome grogginess and lack of focus. The vial contains a roller ball so that you can apply the oil to your wrists or temples for that little zing that you need to get you activated to conquer your day.

Wisconsin-based Amanda Rose created The Hippie Homesteader’s line of essential oil blends in 2016. All blends are created without artificial fragrances or petrochemicals.

My Thoughts

I spent many years of my youth living in the pine forests of the U.S. Rocky Mountains, and pine aromas always take me back to those simpler times. I am usually not a huge fan of rosemary, but it’s very subtle and pleasant in this blend.

The only thing I dislike about this bottle is that it does not seem to have a leak-resistant, tip-safe design. It seems that the manufacturer knows this, as the oil was packed in a ziplock bag in my box, and lo and behold it had leaked all over the place. The Hippie Homesteader advertises this product as a “grab and go” pick-me-up, but this vial is going to be staying on my bathroom shelf.

Ingredients

The serum contains coconut and avocado oils, and the essential oil is a blend of lime, rosemary, pine needle, and peppermint.

Retail Value

According to TheraBox, the MSRP of this essential oil is $10.

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 TheraBox or you want to get this essential oil for yourself, you can check out The Hippie Homesteader’s Etsy shop.

11. Herbal Chest, Rose Peony Lotion Bar (0.7 oz)

The final item in the January 2019 TheraBox is a 0.7 oz Lotion Bar from Herbal Chest in Rose Peony.

Herbal Chest Rose Peony Lotion Bar

About

This pale pink lotion bar is carved to look like a rose, and it comes in a cute tin for maximum portability. It is handmade by Herbal Chest, an Etsy seller.

My Thoughts

Lotion bars are fabulous for frequent fliers, as they don’t pose the spill threat that we all fear. And this one has a dreamy combination of murumuru, shea, and cocoa butters for maximum moisturization.

Ingredients

This lotion bar contains rose, peony, sunflower oil, shea butter, cocoa butter, murumuru butter, beeswax, geranium oil, clary sage, and cinnamon.

Retail Value

According to TheraBox, the MSRP of this lotion bar is $10.

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 TheraBox or you want to get this lotion bar for yourself, you can get it from Etsy.

Delivery Time

My “Renew” January 2019 TheraBox shipped on January 27, 2019, and it was delivered to me in Tokyo, Japan, on February 7, 2019.

  • Delivery time: 11 days
  • Average delivery time (as of January 2019): 11 days

Value & Verdict

My total monthly cost for this subscription is $57.50.

The total retail value of the items in the box was as follows:

  1. Nature Awakens: Meditations for Loving Yourself, Full Audio CD Download: $17.95
  2. Change Your Energy, 1-Month Premium Membership: $19.99
  3. Your Tea, Tiny Tea Tox (42 count, 14-day program): $35
  4. Alitura Naturals, 600 Titanium Microneedle Derma Roller (.25mm): $29
  5. Mídflower, Biocellulose Peel Mask (15 ml): $15
  6. Mídflower, Bulgarian Rose Water Mask (20 ml): $5
  7. Purederm COLOR!SKIN, Twinkle Design Moisturizing Hand Mask (26 g): $5
  8. Knock Knock, Awesome Fill in the Love Journal: $16
  9. Cougar, Marine Collagen Facial Serum (30 ml): $15
  10. The Hippie Homesteader, Essential Oil Serum in Motivate (10 ml): $10
  11. Herbal Chest, Rose Peony Lotion Bar (0.7 oz): $10

In sum, here’s how the “Renew” January 2019 TheraBox measures up:

  • Total retail value: $177.94
  • Total savings over retail: $120.44 / 68%
  • Average price per item: $5.23

Overall, the value from this box is pretty great. Using the listed values from the brochure, TheraBox beat the price of the box by $120.44, which is on the high end as far as subscription boxes go.

Even if we look at the discounted and actual values, the box comes out at $148.44. This is still clearing both the promised box value and the total price of the subscription with international shipping by a very comfortable margin. Great job, TheraBox!

Therabox Monthly Subscription Box: January 2019 Renew Edition Haul In Box

The “Renew” box really hit the nail on the head with its theme. All of the products made sense as sources of renewal and rejuvenation, and the pampering was evenly distributed among relationships, the mind, the face, the hands, the digestive system, and the senses.

This was my first TheraBox, and it definitely lived up to the hype. I can’t wait to see what’s in store for future months!

General Information

For general information about the TheraBox, including subscription options, cost, shipping, tracking, packaging, charitable giving, and customer experience, see the TheraBox Overview post.

Also, don’t forget to check out the rest of our monthly TheraBox reviews.

And if you are in the market for a fabulous subscription or gift box for women that offers global shipping, check out our round-up of the top 10 subscriptions for women who live abroad!

Give a Shout!

Let us know what you think of the “Renew” January 2019 TheraBox in the comments below. As always, we love hearing from you.

You may also like...

Popular Articles...

1 Comment

  1. […] actually received the very same mask in my January 2019 TheraBox, so apologies for repeating myself. But for those who have not read the other article, I am very excited to try this sheet mask, which […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.