TheraBox February 2019 "Love Yourself" Haul Stacked with Box
Review Unboxing

TheraBox | February 2019 | Unboxing & Honest Review

This is a review and unboxing of the February 2019 edition of the TheraBox.

TheraBox is a monthly self-care subscription box. Curated by a therapist, TheraBox’s mission is to “inspire happier lives through practical joy boosting activities & thoughtful self-care products.” Each month has a theme and a happiness boosting activity, along with an assortment of 6-8 wellness goodies such as teas, skin care products, journals, and more. TheraBox promises to deliver over $100 in retail value with every box.

TheraBox February 2019 Box Closed

Please visit our Affiliate Disclosure page for important information about affiliate links, free samples, and site commissions.

The Haul

The February 2019 edition of the TheraBox contained 8 items and the theme was “Love Yourself.” It’s the perfect theme for a month when the entire beauty and gift industry turns its attention romantic love for others.

The box included a single-page, folded brochure explaining the items in the box and providing details on each of the happiness boosters and usage tips for the physical products. As a bonus, the brochure also provided coupon codes for discounts on many of the products in the box.

TheraBox February 2019 Brochure Love Yourself

Without further ado, here are the items that I received in my “Love Yourself” February 2019 TheraBox:

  • Knock Knock, I’m Lovable Inner Truth Journal
  • The Happy Shoppe, Lavender & Frankincense Incense Sticks (10 sticks)
  • The Happy Shoppe, Natural Wooden Incense Tray
  • Manna Kadar Beauty, Bloom Volumizing Mascara in Jet Black (10 ml)
  • Modern Skyn Alchemy, Shimmering Rose Moisturizing Facial Mist (120 ml)
  • Voesh, Unicorn Glimmer Pedi In a Box
  • Elements Truffles, Ashwagandha Infused Dark Hot Chocolate (114 g)
  • Revive Beauty, Natural Jade Facial Roller

TheraBox February 2019 "Love Yourself" Haul in Box

Knock Knock, I’m Lovable Inner Truth Journal

The first item in the February 2019 TheraBox is a large I’m Lovable Inner Truth Journal from Knock Knock.

Knock Knock I'm Lovable Inner Truth Journal Large Front Cover

About

This journal encourages you to proclaim your love to yourself through a deliberate daily practice of self-praise. By recording the ways in which you are rocking your life, every single day, you can bring attention to your best qualities and drown out the harsh self-criticism that many of us get sucked into so easily.

Each page has a full-sized quote to provide perspective on self-love, as well as a full blank page for free-form reflection on everything you did right today.

Knock Knock I'm Lovable Inner Truth Journal Large Sample Page with Quote about Charm

Knock Knock makes fabulous and irreverent stationery, journals, and notepads that inject humor, fun, and emotional maturity into everyday situations.

My Thoughts

This journal actually feels like a big challenge, which is a sign that I need it. What better way to practice singing my own praises (and believing the hype about myself) than to force myself to write it all down, every day?

I am also a sucker for hard-hitting quotes and gorgeous design, and Knock Knock’s bold and colorful aesthetic is on point. Knock Knock was also featured in the January TheraBox, and I am loving their stuff. They may have earned an uber-fan in me!

Retail Value

According to TheraBox, the MSRP of this journal is $18.

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 TheraBox or you want to get one of these journals for yourself, you can grab one from Amazon in the large size (in this box) or a more portable small version. Knock Knock also has a bunch of other great Inner Truth journals, including:

The Happy Shoppe, Lavender & Frankincense Incense Sticks (10 sticks)

The next item in the February 2019 TheraBox is a 10-stick pack of Hand-Dipped Lavender & Frankincense Incense Sticks from The Happy Shoppe, the online shop operated by TheraBox.

The Happy Shoppe Co Frankincense Incense Sticks

About

These incense sticks were hand-dipped fresh in California and hand-rolled.

The brochure for this month’s box includes a write-up about Reverse Karma’s 12” Stay Lit Incense, and TheraBox included a note explaining that there was a hiccup with that vendor and offering these incense sticks in their place.

My Thoughts

I love incense, and these sticks burn very cleanly and smoothly. The aroma is similar to the Buddhist temple incense that you encounter all over Japan, full of tradition and solemnity.

It appears that the TheraBox team went out of their way to cook up these incense sticks in a hurry, once they realized that their vendor had fallen through. So quickly, in fact, that my sticks were still wet from the dipping when they arrived at my door! It’s wonderful that the team worked so hard to provide a replacement that was equally wonderful, even going to the trouble of coming up with their own product and working around the clock to meet the shipping deadline.

Retail Value

Because of the snafu with the Reverse Karma incense, TheraBox did not share the MSRP of these incense sticks. Based on our own research, we estimate the retail value to be about $8.

Stock Up

The Happy Shoppe does not seem to be offering these incense sticks for sale at this time. So if you missed the February 2019 TheraBox or you want to get some more frankincense incense sticks for yourself, you can find tons of handmade options on Etsy.

The Happy Shoppe, Natural Wooden Incense Tray

The next item in the February 2019 TheraBox is a Natural Wooden Incense Tray from The Happy Shoppe, the online shop operated by TheraBox.

The Happy Shoppe Co Wooden Incense Tray Holder

About

This incense holder is long and straight, with some pretty gold-embossed star and moon carvings. The hole goes all the way through the wood so that you can use it with long sticks (like the ones in this box). Made in India.

My Thoughts

This incense tray is really pretty. It is a bit narrower and shorter than the ones that I usually use, so it isn’t the best at catching all of the ashes.

Retail Value

According to TheraBox, the MSRP of this incense tray is $8.50.

Stock Up

The Happy Shoppe does not seem to be offering these incense trays for sale at this time. But if you missed the February 2019 TheraBox or you want to get another wooden incense tray for yourself, you can find some trays that look pretty much identical on Etsy.

Manna Kadar Beauty, Bloom Volumizing Mascara in Jet Black (10 ml)

The next item in the February 2019 TheraBox is a tube of Bloom Volumizing Mascara in Jet Black from Manna Kadar Beauty.

Manna Kadar Bloom Volumizing Mascara In Jet Black on Box

About

This cruelty-free, paraben-free mascara has a spiral-shaped wand that is designed with reserves to deliver more mascara with each swipe.

Manna Kadar was born in Paris. She created Manna Kadar Beauty to bring simplicity to luxury cosmetics. Her system allows you to apply your make-up in 7 minutes or less with three steps: Prime, Polish, and Perfect. This mascara is part of step three, naturally!

My Thoughts

How I envy the women with natural curl to their lashes! They can totally get away with waterproof mascara. But for some reason, only waterproof mascara preserves my curl all day long.

Putting that aside, this mascara goes on very smoothly, with a bit more definition than volume in my opinion. It looks natural, but it delivers a lot of attention and pop to the eyes. And the bottle is really beautiful and unique. If only I could use it as my go-to!

Retail Value

According to TheraBox, the MSRP of this mascara is $29.

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 TheraBox or you want to get some more of this mascara for yourself, you can grab some directly from Manna Kadar.

Modern Skyn Alchemy, Shimmering Rose Moisturizing Facial Mist (120 ml)

The next item in the February 2019 TheraBox is a 120 ml bottle of Shimmering Rose Moisturizing Facial Mist from Modern Skyn Alchemy.

Modern Skyn Alchemy Shimmering Rose Facial Mist Upright

About

This cruelty-free, organic facial mist can be used to set makeup or as the first step in your skincare routine. It moisturizes and nourishes your skin with Vitamin E and rosehip oil while providing a burst of rose-scented refreshment.

Modern Skyn Alchemy Shimmering Rose Facial Mist Label

Modern Skyn Alchemy is a family business that handcrafts its facial and body care products in small batches. The founder is a breast cancer survivor who was motivated to start the company after struggling to find beauty products that she could trust not to further harm her health. Their products follow Europe’s strict skincare standards, and all of their products are cruelty-free and contain no parabens, silicone, petrochemicals, phthalates, propylene glycol, mineral oils, synthetic dyes, synthetic fragrances, chemical sunscreens, sulfates, or aluminum.

My Thoughts

I have recently incorporated facial mist into my skincare routine, so I am thrilled to have another bottle to add to my stash. This stuff smells really fresh, and each spritz delivers a healthy dose of mist.

I love the long list of nourishing and refreshing ingredients. I especially love that this is a clean beauty item, and the story behind the brand is so inspirational. I can definitely see myself repurchasing this product because I believe in Modern Skyn Alchemy’s mission and feel inspired by their story. One of the best items I’ve received from any box this month!

Ingredients

This facial mist contains aloe vera juice, witch hazel, rose water, green tea extract, papaya extract, salt of the Dead Sea, reship oil, Vitamin E, rose essential oil, and rosewood essential oil.

This ingredient list is not complete, so you should check the packaging before using if you have any allergies or sensitivities.

Retail Value

According to TheraBox, the MSRP of this facial mist is $25.

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 TheraBox or you want to get some more of this facial mist for yourself, you can grab some from Modern Skyn Alchemy’s Etsy Shop.

Modern Skyn Alchemy also offers a smaller bottle of this facial mist for travel, and you can also get some Shimmering Rose Cleansing Nectar or Cleansing Milk to go with the mist.

Voesh, Unicorn Glimmer Pedi In a Box

The next item in the February 2019 TheraBox is a Unicorn Glimmer “Pedi In a Box” Home Pedicure Kit from Voesh.

Voesh Unicorn Glimmer Pedi in a Box

About

This home pedicure kit contains 5 generously-sized packets: Unicorn Soak, Unicorn Sugar Scrub, Unicorn Mud, Unicorn Cooling Gel, and Unicorn Massage Butter. The gluten-free formula is vegan and cruelty-free, and it has no parabens, phthalates, mineral oil, synthetic sulfate, or triethanolamine.

Made in Korea.

VOESH New York was founded with the aim of making clean and hygienic skincare products for salons and spas.

Voesh Unicorn Glimmer Pedi in a Box Packets Fanned

My Thoughts

Wow, what feels more luxurious and indulgent than a 5-step home pedicure? I have actually been eyeing some foot baths lately, so this is just the impetus I need to take the plunge and start taking better care of my feet.

My type 1 diabetes leaves me prone to neuropathy and foot infections, so a home pedicure is much better for me than the standard spa set-up. I can control the water temperature and duration, and I can be sure that I am not inheriting someone else’s foot germs.

This is one of my favorite products in this box, and it’s so much cheaper than a trip to the spa that I can see myself turning this into a regularly self-care ritual.

Ingredients

The soak contains sweet almond oil, so those with almond or tree nut allergies should skip that step and substitute with a different product. This ingredient list is not complete, so you should check the packaging before using if you have any allergies or sensitivities.

Retail Value

According to TheraBox, the MSRP of this pedi in a box is $7.99.

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 TheraBox or you want to get another pedi in a box for yourself, you can grab another kit from Amazon.

Elements Truffles, Ashwagandha Infused Dark Hot Chocolate (114 g)

The next item in the February 2019 TheraBox is a 114 g bag of Ashwagandha Infused Dark Hot Chocolate from Elements Truffles.

Elements Truffles Ashwagandha Hot Chocolate Mix

About

This raw, vegan, dairy-free, gluten-free hot chocolate uses Fair Trade cacao ethically sourced from Ecuador, and it is infused with powder from power ingredient ashwagandha root. It is free of soy, emulsifiers, preservatives, GMOs, synthetic flavors, artificial anything, and cane or refined sugar. It is produced in micro-batches.

Elements Truffles donates 25% of its profits to Care For Children by the Art of Living Foundation, which works to provide education for underprivileged children.

My Thoughts

One serving of this chocolate is pretty small, only a quarter cup. But there is a great reason for that: this stuff is like the espresso of hot chocolate. It is rich, not at all overly sweet, and absolutely heavenly to sip and savor. Even the tiniest sip provides a burst of decadent flavor, and because it’s made from dark chocolate, it feels great just to let it ooze around in your mouth for a bit.

For chocolate lovers like me, it would make a great snack on its own, or you might mix it into your coffee for a delicious homemade cafe mocha. It coats your mug with quite a thick film, which you can then fill with coffee to get just a hint of that chocolatey yumminess.

My husband isn’t really into hot chocolate, but he also thought it tasted amazing. Love!

Ingredients

This organic hot chocolate has just five ingredients: raw cacao powder, raw cacao paste, coconut palm sugar, ashwagandha root powder, and Himalayan sea salt.

Allergic warning: Manufactured in a facility that processes nuts.

Retail Value

According to TheraBox, the MSRP of this hot chocolate is $12.

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 TheraBox or you want to get some more of this yumminess for yourself, you can grab some in the following flavors:

Revive Beauty, Natural Jade Facial Roller

The next item in the February 2019 TheraBox is a Natural Jade Facial Roller from Revive Beauty.

Revive Beauty Natural Jade Facial Roller

About

This jade roller comes with a list of benefits a mile long, including relaxation and revival of tired skin. If you pop into the refrigerator, you will get a cooling effect that can recharge and stimulate your skin. It also primes the skin for moisturizing.

My Thoughts

My perception of facial rollers has recently gone from laughter and mocking to openness and curiosity. My weekly therapeutic massages for myasthenia gravis have really gotten my circulation moving. Because of the muscle weakness in my face, my circulation could use a little manual pumping. And cooling therapy is actually great for MG because heat makes the weakness work.

So I am psyched about this roller! It has a nice heavy feel, and the stones roll very smoothly.

Retail Value

According to TheraBox, the MSRP of this jade roller is $14.99.

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 TheraBox or you want to get another jade roller for yourself, you can grab one from Amazon.

Delivery Time

My “Love Yourself” February 2019 TheraBox shipped on February 6, 2019, and it was delivered to me in Tokyo, Japan, on February 28, 2019.

  • Delivery time: 22 days
  • Average delivery time (as of February 2019): 17 days

Value & Verdict

My total monthly cost for this subscription is $57.50.

The total retail value of the items in the box was as follows:

  • Knock Knock, I’m Lovable Inner Truth Journal: $18
  • The Happy Shoppe, Lavender & Frankincense Incense Sticks (10 sticks): $8
  • The Happy Shoppe, Natural Wooden Incense Tray: $8.50
  • Manna Kadar Beauty, Bloom Volumizing Mascara in Jet Black (10 ml): $29
  • Modern Skyn Alchemy, Shimmering Rose Moisturizing Facial Mist (120 ml): $25
  • Voesh, Unicorn Glimmer Pedi In a Box: $7.99
  • Elements Truffles, Ashwagandha Infused Dark Hot Chocolate (114 g): $12
  • Revive Beauty, Natural Jade Facial Roller: $14.99

TheraBox February 2019 "Love Yourself" Haul Flatlay Scatter

Monetary Value

In sum, here’s how the “Love Yourself” February 2019 TheraBox measures up:

  • Total retail value: $123.48
  • Total savings over retail: $65.98 / 53%
  • Average price per item: $7.19

The value of this month’s box was a bit lower than last month, but I actually felt like I got a better experience because each product was tangible. And using the listed values from the brochure, TheraBox still beat the price of the box by over 50%, even with the cost of international shipping. This significant savings is nothing to sneeze at!

Quality

TheraBox always does a great job with its themes, and the “Love Yourself” box was no exception. All of the products celebrated self-care and indulgence: sensory pleasure through incense burning, relaxation via body care with a home pedicure and jade rolling, yummy hot chocolate, self-focused journaling, and beauty with a bit of mascara and facial mist.

TheraBox is one of the best subscription boxes around, and it is wonderful that they ship globally. I can’t wait to see what’s in my next box!

TheraBox February 2019 "Love Yourself" Haul Stacked with Box

General Information

For general information about the TheraBox, including subscription options, cost, shipping, tracking, packaging, charitable giving, and customer experience, see the TheraBox Overview post.

Also, don’t forget to check out the rest of our monthly TheraBox reviews.

And if you are in the market for a fabulous subscription or gift box for women that offers global shipping, check out our round-up of the top 10 subscriptions for women who live abroad!

Give a Shout!

Let us know what you think of the “Love Yourself” February 2019 TheraBox in the comments below. As always, we love hearing from you.

You may also like...

Popular Articles...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.