TheraBox April 2019 Haul Stacked Horizontal
Review Unboxing

TheraBox | April 2019 | Unboxing & Honest Review

This is a review and unboxing of the April 2019 edition of the TheraBox.

TheraBox is a monthly self-care subscription box. Curated by a therapist, TheraBox’s mission is to “inspire happier lives through practical joy boosting activities & thoughtful self-care products.” Each month has a theme and a happiness boosting activity, along with an assortment of 6-8 wellness goodies such as teas, skin care products, journals, and more. TheraBox promises to deliver over $100 in retail value with every box.

Please visit our Affiliate Disclosure page for important information about affiliate links, free samples, and site commissions.

The Haul

The April 2019 edition of the TheraBox contained 8 items, including a happiness booster.

TheraBox April 2019 Open Lid with Pamphlet

The theme for the April 2019 TheraBox was “Anniversary.” TheraBox has just turned two, and so the team has chosen to thank the TheraTribe for its loyalty this month.

TheraBox April 2019 Open Lid Open Tissue Paper

As usual, the box included a glossy brochure with high production value. It explained the items in the box, provided details on the happiness booster, and offered usage tips for the physical products. As a bonus, the brochure also provided coupon codes for discounts on many of the products in the box.

TheraBox April 2019 Pamphlet

Without further ado, here are the items that I received in my “Anniversary” April 2019 TheraBox:

  • Dr. Shainna Ali, The Self-Love Workbook
  • The Happy Shoppe, Balance Triangle Necklace
  • Naturally Vain, Miracle Eye Cream (59 ml)
  • Story Of My Tea, I Am A Gypsy Iced Tea (6 pouches)
  • Edgewater Candles, Travel Tin in Wood Sage Sea Salt
  • Modern Skyn Alchemy, Rose Lip Polish (30 g)
  • Elements of Aliel, I’m Beet Clay Mask (1.2 oz)
  • The Happy Shoppe, Diamond Laser Cut Heart Pen

TheraBox April 2019 Haul Flatlay Horizontal

Dr. Shainna Ali, The Self-Love Workbook

The first item in the April 2019 TheraBox is a book called, “The Self-Love Workbook,” by Dr. Shainna Ali.

About

This workbook by Dr. Shainna Ali, owner of Florida-based Integrated Counseling Solutions, contains a full program full of self-discovery and self-acceptance activities.

My Thoughts

I have always known, in a superficial sense, about the importance of self-acceptance. But it’s a journey, as anyone who has started peeling back the onion will know! So I am very excited to dive into this book, and the visual learner in me is happy to have a physical item as this month’s happiness booster.

Retail Value

According to TheraBox, the MSRP of this workbook is $15.95.

Stock Up

If you missed the April 2019 TheraBox or you want to get another copy of this workbook for yourself, you can get it from Amazon.

The Happy Shoppe, Balance Triangle Necklace

The next item in the April 2019 TheraBox is a Balance Triangle Necklace from The Happy Shoppe.

The Happy Shoppe Balance Triangle Necklace Gold-Plated

About

This gold-plated necklace has a simple triangular charm. The triangle is meant to represent the perfect balance among mind, body, and spirit.

My Thoughts

This necklace is quite pretty and simple, and it will pair well with a range of outfits, from casual to evening. It seems quite strong for a necklace with a simple chain, so I trust that I can wear it around my young children.

Retail Value

According to TheraBox, the MSRP of this necklace is $25.

Stock Up

The Happy Shoppe does not seem to be offering this necklace for sale at this time. So if you missed the February 2019 TheraBox or you want to get a necklace like this for yourself, you will need to subscribe to TheraBox.

Naturally Vain, Miracle Eye Cream (59 ml)

The next item in the April 2019 TheraBox is a 59 ml jar of Miracle Eye Cream from Naturally Vain.

Naturally Vain Miracle Eye Cream Open Jar

About

This vegan eye cream from Canada contains a heavy-hitting combination of antioxidant- and vitamin-rich oils.

The TheraBox brochure seems to indicate that the cream contains marigold extract, but the ingredients on the jar do not include it. Naturally Vain’s website advertises a different eye cream, Bright Eyes, which does include this ingredient. So perhaps there was a mix-up?

The brochure also includes a discount code for 20% off any purchase.

My Thoughts

This jar of eye cream is quite generous, so I think it may even last beyond the shelf life of the product. It is on the thicker and stickier side, which is to be expected from the oils and butters on the ingredient list. I will be adding this to my nighttime eye routine from now on.

Ingredients

This eye cream contains deionized water, aloe leaf juice, sodium hyaluronate, shea butter, mango seed butter, olive oil, sweet almond oil, avocado oil, sunflower seed oil, and grape seed oil. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to TheraBox, the MSRP of this eye cream is $15.

Stock Up

If you missed the April 2019 TheraBox or you want to get some more of this eye cream for yourself, it appears to be out of stock now.

Story Of My Tea, I Am A Gypsy Iced Tea (6 pouches)

The next item in the April 2019 TheraBox is a packet of Am A Gypsy Iced Tea from Story Of My Tea.

Story Of My Tea I Am A Gypsy Hibiscus Iced Tea Blend

About

This packet of caffeine-free hibiscus iced tea blend makes 6 quarts of tea, and the flavor profile is floral, citrus, and tart.

The brochure also includes a discount code for $5 off any purchase.

My Thoughts

I adore iced tea, especially during the steamy Tokyo summers. This tea smells intoxicating and fresh, with a very appealing blend of peppermint and chamomile. I will savor this very generous batch of tea.

Ingredients

This tea contains hibiscus, lavender, chamomile, peppermint, and licorice root. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to TheraBox, the MSRP of this tea is $7.99.

Stock Up

If you missed the April 2019 TheraBox or you want to get some more of this tea for yourself, you can get it directly from Story Of My Tea.

Edgewater Candles, Travel Tin in Wood Sage Sea Salt

The next item in the April 2019 TheraBox is a Travel Tin in Wood Sage Sea Salt from Edgewater Candles.

Edgewater Candles Wood Sage Sea Salt Travel Tin

About

This candle is hand-poured from all-natural soy wax, and it provides about 35 hours of burn time. The travel tin allows you to take the candle along on overnight trips.

The brochure also includes a discount code for 15% off any purchase.

My Thoughts

This candle smells very soothing and clean, with an earthy, woody feel. I am a candle lover, and this one is particularly pleasant. I have a feeling it won’t last long!

Retail Value

According to TheraBox, the MSRP of this candle is $14.

Stock Up

If you missed the April 2019 TheraBox or you want to get some more of these candles for yourself, you can get them directly from Edgewater Candles.

Modern Skyn Alchemy, Rose Lip Polish (30 g)

The next item in the April 2019 TheraBox is a 30 g jar of Rose Lip Polish from Modern Skyn Alchemy.

About

This lip polish is an exfoliant for the lips, because even your pout needs TLC. It contains nourishing Vitamin E and moisturizing sea butter, and presumably the scrubbing effect itself comes from sucrose.

The brochure also includes a discount code for a very generous 40% off any purchase.

My Thoughts

This is the second TheraBox item from Modern Skyn Alchemy – the February box included their Shimmering Rose Moisturizing Facial Mist. This has become one of my favorite skincare products, so I am so excited to have another item from this wonderful line of non-toxic products.

Ingredients

This lip polish contains sucrose, shea butter, safflower seed oil, beet root powder, Vitamin E acetate, Provence rose flower extract, and rosewood wood oil. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to TheraBox, the MSRP of this lip polish is $12.

Stock Up

If you missed the April 2019 TheraBox or you want to get some more of this lip polish for yourself, you can get it from Etsy.

Elements of Aliel, I’m Beet Clay Mask (1.2 oz)

The next item in the April 2019 TheraBox is a 1.2 oz jar of I’m Beet Clay Mask from Elements of Aliel.

Elements of Aliel I'm Beet Clay Mask

About

This face mask comes in a powdered form, and all you need to do is add 1-2 tablespoons of water and mix to form a paste. The mask provides abundant vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants, primarily Vitamins A and C. It is vegan, 100% natural, and free of parabens, preservatives, synthetic fragrances, and chemicals.

Elements of Aliel was started by an African-American mother after the birth of her first child in 2013. Her goal was to formulate non-toxic, eco-friendly products that could be used by pregnant women and women struggling with infertility and health issues.

Time required: 10-15 minutes.

The brochure also includes a discount code for 20% off any purchase.

My Thoughts

I have received “natural” skincare products that seem to be moldy or musty/stale, probably because they are made without synthetic anti-fungal agents. So this mask is a really smart idea, and I am excited to give it a try. It has a nice aroma, unlike many clay masks that smell like, well, dirt.

Ingredients

This mask contains bentonite clay, jojoba, ed clay, beet root powder, and rosehip powder. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to TheraBox, the MSRP of this mask is $22.

Stock Up

If you missed the April 2019 TheraBox or you want to get some more of this mask for yourself, you can get it directly from Elements of Aliel.

The Happy Shoppe, Diamond Laser Cut Heart Pen

The next item in the April 2019 TheraBox is a Diamond Laser Cut Heart Pen from The Happy Shoppe.

The Happy Shoppe Diamond Laser Cut Heart Pen on Box

About

This pen comes in a beautiful black box labeled with an important self-care reminder: “Start each day with a grateful heart and choose joy, always.” The pen itself seems to have ordinary ballpoint pen ink inside, housed in a twisting retractable case. The pen is printed with a cursive message, “choose joy,” and it is topped with a pretty geometric heart that is coated in pink gold.

My Thoughts

I really enjoyed both of The Happy Shoppe’s original products this time, and I am excited to have received a pen to fill out the workbook. A well-thought out pairing, and a major upgrade to my collection of random hotel pens.

Retail Value

According to TheraBox, the MSRP of this pen is $15.

Stock Up

If you missed the April 2019 TheraBox or you want to get some another of these pens for yourself, you can get it directly from The Happy Shoppe.

Delivery Time

My “Anniversary” April 2019 TheraBox shipped on April 24, 2019, and it was delivered to me in Tokyo, Japan, on May 2, 2019.

  • Delivery time: 8 days
  • Average delivery time (as of April 2019): 13 days

Value & Verdict

My total monthly cost for this subscription is $57.50.

The total retail value of the items in the box was as follows:

  • Dr. Shainna Ali, The Self-Love Workbook: $15.95
  • The Happy Shoppe, Balance Triangle Necklace: $25
  • Naturally Vain, Miracle Eye Cream (59 ml): $15
  • Story Of My Tea, I Am A Gypsy Iced Tea (6 pouches): $7.99
  • Edgewater Candles, Travel Tin in Wood Sage Sea Salt: $14
  • Modern Skyn Alchemy, Rose Lip Polish (30 g): $12
  • Elements of Aliel, I’m Beet Clay Mask (1.2 oz): $22
  • The Happy Shoppe, Diamond Laser Cut Heart Pen: $15

TheraBox April 2019 Haul Stacked

Verdict: The $$$

In sum, here’s how the “Anniversary” April 2019 TheraBox measures up:

  • Total retail value: $126.94
  • Total savings over retail ($): $69.44
  • Total savings over retail (%): 55%
  • Average price per item: $7.19

The value of this month’s box was on the lower side for TheraBox, but it was still more than double the price of the box, even with the cost of international shipping. More importantly, TheraBox always delivers outstanding retail value, and this month is no different.

TheraBox April 2019 Haul Flatlay

Verdict: The ★★★

TheraBox always does a great job with its themes, and the boxes always have a great variety of self-care items. The “Anniversary” box provided a bit less thematic coherence, which is understandable. But the items were of equally great quality, with a self-care workbook, a packet of tea, a scented candle, a necklace, a beautiful pen, and a few skincare products of different varieties.

TheraBox is one of the best and most consistent subscription boxes around, and it is wonderful that they ship abroad. I can’t wait to see what’s in my next box!

TheraBox April 2019 Haul Stacked Vertical

General Information

For general information about the TheraBox, including subscription options, cost, shipping, tracking, packaging, charitable giving, and customer experience, see the TheraBox Overview post.

Also, you can click here to see our other TheraBox reviews.

And if you are in the market for a fabulous subscription or gift box for women that offers global shipping, check out our round-up of the top 10 subscriptions for women who live abroad!

Give a Shout!

Let us know what you think of the “Anniversary” April 2019 TheraBox in the comments below. As always, we love hearing from you.

You may also like...

Popular Articles...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.