Spotlight Stationery Monthly Subscription Box January 2019 Three Edition Haul Scatter
Review Unboxing

Spotlight Stationery Subscription Box: Three Edition | January 2019 | Unboxing & Honest Review

This is a review and unboxing of the January 2019 “Three” Edition of the Spotlight Stationery subscription box.

Spotlight Stationery is a stationery subscription box, delivered monthly or bi-monthly (you decide!). Each box includes a curated collection of premium and artisan stationery: pens, pencils, postcards, paper paraphernalia, and more.

Please visit our Affiliate Disclosure page for important information about affiliate links, free samples, and site commissions.

The Haul

The January 2019 “Three” Edition of the Spotlight Stationery subscription box contained 5 types of items: notebooks, pens, sticky notes, paperclips, and postcards. The “Three” theme for January celebrates Spotlight Stationery’s 3rd birthday. Congratulations to them!

Spotlight Stationery Monthly Subscription Box January 2019 Three Edition Haul In Box

The box included an informational sheet listing the items. It looks as if it was printed on a home printer, but I don’t mind lower production value when boxes are donating some of their proceeds to charity. I would much rather see that incremental cost going to an important cause!

My box also included a cute welcome card in a cute whale print. This card would look great in a small frame!

Spotlight Stationery Monthly Subscription Box January 2019 Three Edition Welcome Card

The welcome card had a nice handwritten note, which was a cute personal touch.

Spotlight Stationery Monthly Subscription Box January 2019 Three Edition Welcome Note

Without further ado, here are the items that I received in my January 2019 “Three” Edition of the Spotlight Stationery subscription box:

  • Kikkerland Design for WritersBlok, Ultra Light Ruled Notebook 2-Pack in Navy/Yellow
  • Spotlight Stationery, Unruled Pocket Notebook in a 3rd Anniversary Design
  • Iconic Design: Color Twinpen 3-pack in 6 colors No. 4800
  • Iconic Design: Sticky Book Ver. 3 in Antique No. 4000
  • 6 Striped & Colorful Paperclips: 3 Large, 3 Small
  • Spotlight Stationery, Set of 4 Illustrated Postcards

Kikkerland Design for WritersBlok, Ultra Light Ruled Notebook 2-Pack in Navy/Yellow: $10

The first item in the January 2019 “Three” Edition of the Spotlight Stationery subscription box is a 2-pack of Ultra Light Ruled Notebooks in Navy/Yellow from WritersBlok and Kikkerland Design.

About

These notebooks have thread-bound binding and a slim cover for maximum portability. There are 120 acid-free pages of 53gsm paper, so they can handle fine detail with ease. The notebooks measure 5.5” x 8.25”.

Kikkerland is a designer of household objects that combine form, function, and delight. WritersBlok is their stationery line.

My Thoughts

Wow, this paper is silky smooth and dense! I love that the ruling covers the entire length of the page, without that wasted blank space at the top. I can definitely see myself writing poetry and journaling in these babies.

Retail Value

We estimate the retail value of this notebook pack to be approximately $10.

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 box or you want to get some more of these notebooks for yourself, you can grab them from Amazon.

Spotlight Stationery, Unruled Pocket Notebook in a 3rd Anniversary Design

The first item in the January 2019 “Three” Edition of the Spotlight Stationery subscription box is an unruled pocket notebook in a 3rd Anniversary design from Spotlight Stationery.

Spotlight Stationery Monthly Subscription Box January 2019 Pocket Notebook 3rd Anniversary

About

This slim, passport-sized pocket notebook is a celebratory item that commemorates the third anniversary of Spotlight Stationery, and so it is branded and dated on the cover. Inside, the pages are unlined and bright white.

My Thoughts

I am always in need of handy notebooks for jotting down lists and reminders when I am out and about. This one is a bit larger than most of my handbag staples, and it might just make me fall in love with the passport-style notebook concept.

Retail Value

We estimate the retail value of this pocket notebook to be approximately $3.

Stock Up

This item is exclusive to this box and to Spotlight Stationery. The only way to get items like this is to sign up for a subscription or purchase one of the past boxes from the Spotlight Stationery shop.

Iconic Design: Color Twinpen 3-pack in 6 colors No. 4800

The next item in the January 2019 “Three” Edition of the Spotlight Stationery subscription box is a 3-pack of Color Twinpens 6 colors (No. 4800) from Iconic Design.

About

These clever gel ink pens have a very fine 0.4mm tip and have a different color on each end, so you get six different colors in three pens.

The color combinations are:

  • Green/Brown
  • Black/Yellow
  • Blue/Red

Iconic Design is a Korean stationery company that makes pretty and kawaii stationery and accessories, including notebooks, travel wallets, and more.

My Thoughts

I am a pen addict, and I especially love fine-tipped pens that I can use in my bullet journal. These pens are fabulous because they write with really clean, smooth lines. And best of all, they allow you to carry a bunch of colors when you’re on the go, without an overly bulky pencil case. Love these!

Retail Value

We estimate the retail value of these pens to be approximately $12.99.

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 box or you want to get some more of these pens for yourself, you can grab them from Amazon.

Iconic Design: Sticky Book Ver. 3 in Antique No. 4000

The next item in the January 2019 “Three” Edition of the Spotlight Stationery subscription box is a Sticky Book Ver. 3 in Antique (No. 4000) from Iconic Design.

About

This sticky book contains an assortment of sticky notes in 3 different sizes and 8 different designs. There are 30 sheets of each design, for a total of 240 stickies. The stickies come wrapped in a handy cover that makes it easy to take them with you on the go.

This is the second item in this box from Iconic Design.

My Thoughts

I am so excited about this item! I am a total nerd and love flagging my books and documents, and those standard-fare neon paper flags are so ugly. I am going to get through these notes very quickly.

I am also impressed with the adhesive on these notes. For all sizes, it comes more than halfway down the note, so you don’t have to worry so much about your notes fluttering away or getting knocked out of place.

The only thing I don’t love is that they seem to leave a bit of sticky residue behind, at least on smooth surfaces like my wooden table. The residue comes off easily enough, but it’s annoying. If you use these notes, you should be careful not to stick them to anything too delicate or valuable.

Retail Value

We estimate the retail value of this sticky book to be approximately $7.50.

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 box or you want to get some another sticky book for yourself, you can grab them from Amazon in any of the following patterns:

6 Striped & Colorful Paperclips: 3 Large, 3 Small: $0.15

The next item in the January 2019 “Three” Edition of the Spotlight Stationery subscription box is a set of 3 large and 3 small striped and colorful paperclips in assorted colors.

Spotlight Stationery Monthly Subscription Box January 2019 Three Edition Paper Clips
Oops, one of the clips is missing from this photo.

About

These paperclips are from an unknown brand, and they have an alternating two-color, striped design. I received the following clips:

  • Large: green/white, blue/white, brown/white
  • Small: red/yellow, green/white, blue/white

My Thoughts

I have seen these paperclips before, and they are fun and colorful. They are a bit thick for my taste, as I tend to prefer gentler clips that don’t bend the paper as much, but you can never have too many clips.

It would have been nice to receive a proper packet of paperclips, rather than just a smattering of loose items, but I will just consider these a little bonus item on top of the other goodies in the box.

Retail Value

We estimate the retail value of these paperclips to be approximately $0.15.

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 box or you want to get some more of these paperclips for yourself, you can grab a tub of 500 from Amazon.

Set of 4 Illustrated Postcards: $8

The final item in the January 2019 “Three” Edition of the Spotlight Stationery subscription box is a set of 4 illustrated postcards from up-and-coming illustrators from Spotlight Stationery.

Spotlight Stationery Monthly Subscription Box January 2019 Three Edition Postcard Set

About

These postcards are branded with the Spotlight Stationery name and website on the message side of the card, and each one features a different untitled design from an up-and-coming illustrator.

The designs include:

  • a bright colored nature print from Lorna Davey
  • a sun with four eyes and a mustached human face from Adam Forster
  • a cute brown puppy on a purple background from Jamie-Leah Grant
  • a stylized woman on a moonlit night, holding a teacup that reads, “Take life one cup at a time,” from Emily Legg

My Thoughts

I love adding unique items to my paper stationery collection, as I like writing handwritten notes and messages to my friends and family back home. As someone who lives abroad, it is especially easy to feel disconnected from the people who matter to me.

It’s hard to pick a favorite illustration because I think they are all quite charming in their own way. I think Lorna Davey’s style is most like my own, so maybe that one?

Retail Value

We estimate the retail value of this postcard collection to be approximately $8.

Stock Up

This item is exclusive to this box and to Spotlight Stationery. The only way to get items like this is to sign up for a subscription or purchase one of the past boxes from the Spotlight Stationery shop.

Value & Verdict

My total monthly cost for the Spotlight Stationery subscription is £30.83 (~$40.82).

The total retail value of the items in the box was as follows:

  • Kikkerland Design for WritersBlok, Ultra Light Ruled Notebook 2-Pack in Navy/Yellow: $10
  • Spotlight Stationery, Unruled Pocket Notebook in a 3rd Anniversary Design: $3
  • Iconic Design: Color Twinpen 3-pack in 6 colors No. 4800: $12.99
  • Iconic Design: Sticky Book Ver. 3 in Antique No. 4000: $7.50
  • 6 Striped & Colorful Paperclips: 3 Large, 3 Small: $0.15
  • Set of 4 Illustrated Postcards: $8

Spotlight Stationery Monthly Subscription Box January 2019 Three Edition Haul on Table

In sum, here’s how the January 2019 “Three” Edition of the Spotlight Stationery subscription box measures up:

  • Total retail value: $41.64
  • Total savings over retail ($): $0.82
  • Total savings over retail (%): 2%
  • Average price per item: $6.80

Overall, the monetary value for this box appears to be on the low end for subscriptions that offer international shipping. We still beat retail by a hair this month, and it remains to be seen if we will have a different experience in future months. For now, we have to say that this box is not really for those who are looking to get amazing discounts on their box goodies.

Instead, this box excels in curation, product discovery, and delivering a little bundle of joy to lovers of stylish and unique stationery products. And if you are a stationery addict or bujo lover like me, a subscription might help you put the brakes on your paper goods spending, while still allowing you to get your monthly fix and build your journaling or planner stash.

General Information

For general information about Spotlight Stationery, including subscription options, cost, shipping, tracking, packaging, charitable giving, and customer experience, see the Spotlight Stationery Overview post.

Also, don’t forget to check out the rest of our monthly Spotlight Stationery reviews.

And if you are in the market for a fabulous subscription or gift box for women that offers global shipping, check out our round-up of the top 10 subscriptions for women who live abroad!

Give a Shout!

Let us know what you think of the January 2019 “Three” Edition of the Spotlight Stationery subscription box in the comments below. As always, we love hearing from you.

You may also like...

Popular Articles...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.