Spotlight Stationery Monthly Subscription Box February 2019 Haul Flatlay Stacked Neat
Review Unboxing

Spotlight Stationery Subscription Box: Varsity Edition | February 2019 | Unboxing & Honest Review

This is a review and unboxing of the February 2019 “Varsity” Edition of the Spotlight Stationery subscription box.

Spotlight Stationery is a stationery subscription box, delivered monthly or bi-monthly (you decide!). Each box includes a curated collection of premium and artisan stationery: pens, pencils, postcards, paper paraphernalia, and more.

Please visit our Affiliate Disclosure page for important information about affiliate links, free samples, and site commissions.

The Haul

The February 2019 “Varsity” Edition of the Spotlight Stationery subscription box contained 14 of items: 3 pocket notebooks, 3 pens, a pencil and sharpener, an eraser, a greeting card, and 4 postcards.

Spotlight Stationery Monthly Subscription Box February 2019 Haul Flatlay Neat

The box included an informational sheet listing the items. It looks as if it was printed on a home printer, but I don’t mind lower production value when boxes are donating some of their proceeds to charity. I would much rather see that incremental cost going to an important cause!

Spotlight Stationery Monthly Subscription Box February 2019 Brochure

The “Varsity” theme for February was inspired by England’s two most famous universities, Oxford and Cambridge.

Without further ado, here are the items that I received in my February 2019 “Varsity” Edition of the Spotlight Stationery subscription box:

  • Cambridge Imprint Patternmakers, Set of 3 Pocket Folio Memo Books in Red (48 pages each)
  • Helix, Oxford Eraser and Sharpener Set
  • Helix, Oxford HB Pencil
  • Goodeehoo, Blade Pen in Blue
  • Uniball, Eye Needle Pen in Red (Fine 0.7 mm)
  • Uniball, Signo Sparkling Gel Pen in Silver (1.0 mm)
  • Museums & Galleries, Greeting Card in “Boat Race, 1923”
  • Spotlight Stationery, Set of 4 Illustrated Postcards

Cambridge Imprint Patternmakers, Set of 3 Pocket Folio Memo Books in Red (48 pages each)

The first item in the February 2019 “Varsity” Edition of the Spotlight Stationery subscription box is a set of three 48-page Pocket Folio Memo Books in Red from Cambridge Imprint Patternmakers.

Cambridge Imprint Pocket Folio Memo Book 3 Pack Bound

Cambridge Imprint Pocket Folio Memo Book 3 Pack In Line

About

These pocket memo books come in a trio of pretty cover designs in shades of pink and red. The flower burst design has unlined pages, the star design has lined pages, and the curling branch design has graph paper.

Cambridge Imprint is based in its namesake town, Cambridge, England. Their goal is to make everyday objects beautiful, with a focus on cheerful combinations of color and hand-drawn patterns. All of their manufacturing is carried out in England.

My Thoughts

I love these notebooks! I am a sucker for pocket-sized memo books, because they are lightweight enough that I can carry them anywhere. The patterns on the covers of these notebooks are super cute, and I love that the paper styles are different so that they can be used for various purposes. This was my favorite item from the box!

Retail Value

Spotlight Stationery does not provide retail values for the items in the boxes. We estimate the MSRP of this set of memo books to be about £9.95 (~$12.72).

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 box or you want to get some more of these memo books for yourself, you can grab them directly from Cambridge Imprint.

Helix, Oxford Eraser and Sharpener Set

The next item in the February 2019 “Varsity” Edition of the Spotlight Stationery subscription box is an Oxford Eraser and Sharpener Set from Helix.

About

This large block eraser is free of PVC, phthalates and latex, and the sharpener has a finger grip to reduce slippage.

My Thoughts

I love large erasers, and my kids go through them like mad. So I can always use more! But my favorite here is the sharpener, which is deliciously tiny and perfect for taking on the go. I love that it’s metal rather than plastic, giving it a more refined and classic feel. A very cute and handy set.

Retail Value

Spotlight Stationery does not provide retail values for the items in the boxes. We estimate the MSRP of this eraser and sharpener set to be about £1.50 (~$1.92).

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 box or you want to get some another of these eraser and sharpener sets for yourself, you can grab them from Amazon.

Helix, Oxford HB Pencil

The next item in the February 2019 “Varsity” Edition of the Spotlight Stationery subscription box is an Oxford HB Pencil from Helix.

About

There’s not much to say about a pencil, except that this one came pre-sharpened!

My Thoughts

This pencil feels old-school and academic, just like a good “varsity” pencil should. It is a great way to round out the eraser and sharpener set.

Retail Value

Spotlight Stationery does not provide retail values for the items in the boxes. We estimate the MSRP of this pencil to be about £1 (~$1.28).

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 box or you want to get some more of these pencils for yourself, you can grab them from Amazon.

Goodeehoo, Blade Pen in Blue

The next item in the February 2019 “Varsity” Edition of the Spotlight Stationery subscription box is a Blade Pen in Blue from Goodeehoo.

Goodehoo Blade Pen Blue in Tube

Goodehoo Blade Pen Blue

About

This blue and silver twist action pen was designed to complement Goodeehoo’s mushroom and tan range of products, and it came in a gift tube.

My Thoughts

This pen writes smoothly, and it has a nice heavy feel in the hand, probably because of its 50% iron composition. The soft touch rubberized casing is very comfortable to hold, and the color is fresh and fun. I love this pen!

Retail Value

Spotlight Stationery does not provide retail values for the items in the boxes. We estimate the MSRP of this pen to be about £8.99 (~$11.50).

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 box or you want to get some more of these pens for yourself, you can grab them directly from Goodeehoo in either blue, red, pink, or orange.

Uniball, Eye Needle Pen in Red (Fine 0.7 mm)

The next item in the February 2019 “Varsity” Edition of the Spotlight Stationery subscription box is a Eye Needle Pen in Red (Fine 0.7 mm) from Uniball.

About

Uniball’s needlepoint eye tip is designed to provide a smooth line with only the lightest touch. The “Super Ink” prevents tampering and is permanent, so this pen is suitable for technical uses.

My Thoughts

I love Uniball’s rollerball pens, and red is a surprisingly handy color to use. This pen will be perfect for marking up documents at work and otherwise annotating books and notes.

Retail Value

Spotlight Stationery does not provide retail values for the items in the boxes. We estimate the MSRP of this pen to be about £1 (~$1.28).

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 box or you want to get some more of these pens for yourself, you can grab them from Amazon in 12-packs of the following colors:

And if you would rather have them all, you can pick up a variety pack that has one of each of these 7 colors.

Uniball, Signo Sparkling Gel Pen in Silver (1.0 mm)

The next item in the February 2019 “Varsity” Edition of the Spotlight Stationery subscription box is a Signo Sparkling Gel Pen in Silver (1.0 mm) from Uniball.

About

This pen has glitter gel ink and is part of a sparkling ink line that includes a rainbow of colors. It writes on paper of any color, and it can go from a sheer look on lighter paper to a starry look on darker paper.

My Thoughts

I have always loved decorative pens, ever since I passed my high school days designing beautiful gel pen spreads in my homework planners. I have never tried the Uniball Signo pens, though, so I was excited to receive this one in my box. Silver is great for doubling over a bolder but more boring color like blue or black or, well, red gel ink! I am going to have fun playing with this one in my bullet journal.

Retail Value

Spotlight Stationery does not provide retail values for the items in the boxes. We estimate the MSRP of this pen to be about £1.50 (~$1.92).

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 box or you want to get some more of these pens for yourself, you can grab an 8-pack of the sparkling gel pen line from Amazon.

Museums & Galleries, Greeting Card in “Boat Race, 1923”

The next item in the February 2019 “Varsity” Edition of the Spotlight Stationery subscription box is a Greeting Card from Museums & Galleries in a print entitled, “Boat Race, 1923.”

Museums and Galleries Boat Race 1923 Greeting Card

About

This greeting card features a print of a poster by Charles Paine, and it is part of the Transport for London Collection of the London Transport Museum. It is blank inside, so you can use it as you see fit. The card was designed and printed in Britain by Museums & Galleries,

My Thoughts

It’s great to have all-purpose cards lying around, and this one has a pretty design that really fits with the theme of the box. I am not especially into rowing, but the image is abstract and artistic enough that I could actually see myself using this card.

Retail Value

Spotlight Stationery does not provide retail values for the items in the boxes. We estimate the MSRP of this greeting card to be about £2.60 (~$3.32).

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 box or you want to get some more of these greeting cards for yourself, you can grab them from The Blank Card Company.

Set of 4 Illustrated Postcards: $8

The final item in the February 2019 “Varsity” Edition of the Spotlight Stationery subscription box is a set of 4 illustrated postcards from up-and-coming illustrators from Spotlight Stationery.

Spotlight Stationery Monthly Subscription Box February 2019 Pens Pencil Sharpener Eraser Illustrated Postcards

About

These postcards are branded with the Spotlight Stationery name and website on the message side of the card, and each one features a different untitled design from an up-and-coming illustrator.

First, there is a forest fairy from Brittany Lakin.

Spotlight Stationery Monthly Subscription Box February 2019 Pens Pencil Sharpener Eraser Illustrated Postcards Brittany Lakin

Next, there a patterned tiger from Bex Challoner.

Next, there is flower and leaf print entitled “Botanical 5” from Crystal Moseley.

Spotlight Stationery Monthly Subscription Box February 2019 Pens Pencil Sharpener Eraser Illustrated Postcards Crystal Moseley

And finally, there is an illustration of a woman reading in a forest with a cup of tea from Emily Pike.

Spotlight Stationery Monthly Subscription Box February 2019 Pens Pencil Sharpener Eraser Illustrated Postcards Emily Pike

My Thoughts

It’s always fun to see the postcards in my monthly boxes, and I especially liked this month’s batch. It was cute and whimsical, and I could see myself using all of these cards. It would be especially fun to see Spotlight Stationery work a bit harder to match the illustrations to the monthly themes, but that would just be a bonus because the postcards are always great.

Retail Value

Spotlight Stationery does not provide retail values for the items in the boxes. We estimate the MSRP of this postcard set to be about £6 (~$7.67).

Stock Up

This item is exclusive to this box and to Spotlight Stationery. The only way to get items like this is to sign up for a subscription or purchase one of the past boxes from the Spotlight Stationery shop.

Writing Utensils: Samples

We tested out the pens and pencils included in this month’s box. Here’s how the sample lines turned out:

Spotlight Stationery Monthly Subscription Box February 2019 Pen and Pencil Sample Lines

Delivery Time

My February 2019 Spotlight Stationery subscription box shipped on February 19, 2019, and it was delivered to me in Tokyo, Japan, on March 1, 2019.

  • Delivery time: 10 days
  • Average delivery time (as of February 2019): 10 days

Value & Verdict

My total monthly cost for the Spotlight Stationery subscription is £30.83 (~$39.42).

The total retail value of the items in the box was as follows:

  • Cambridge Imprint Patternmakers, Set of 3 Pocket Folio Memo Books in Red (48 pages each): £9.95 (~$12.72)
  • Helix, Oxford Eraser and Sharpener Set: £1.50 (~$1.92)
  • Helix, Oxford HB Pencil: £1 (~$1.28)
  • Goodeehoo, Blade Pen in Blue: £8.99 (~$11.50)
  • Uniball, Eye Needle Pen in Red (Fine 0.7 mm): £1 (~$1.28)
  • Uniball, Signo Sparkling Gel Pen in Silver (1.0 mm): £1.50 (~$1.92)
  • Museums & Galleries, Greeting Card in “Boat Race, 1923”: £2.60 (~$3.32)
  • Spotlight Stationery, Set of 4 Illustrated Postcards: £6 (~$7.67)

Spotlight Stationery Monthly Subscription Box February 2019 Haul Flatlay Horizontal

In sum, here’s how the February 2019 “Varsity” Edition of the Spotlight Stationery subscription box measures up:

  • Total retail value: £32.54 (~$41.60)
  • Total savings over retail ($): £1.71 (~$2.18)
  • Total savings over retail (%): 5%
  • Average price per item: £2.20 (~$2.81)

Verdict: The $$$

Overall, the monetary value for this box appears to be on the low end for subscriptions that offer international shipping. This month came out to provide just 5% retail savings over the total price of the box, if international shipping is taken into account. The value was actually within a few cents of last month’s value. This box is not really for international subscribers who are looking to get amazing discounts on their box goodies. Rather, you should subscribe for the joy of discovering new stationery products and the curating eye of the box providers. And you can provide money to charity while getting a small discount over retail, which is a nice bonus!

Verdict: The ★★★

This box excels when it comes to curation, product discovery, and thematic cohesion. And if you are a stationery addict or bujo lover like me, a subscription might help you put the brakes on your paper goods spending, while still allowing you to get your monthly fix and build your journaling or planner stash. This month’s box was full of a great variety of complementary products: three pens in different ink styles and colors, a pencil, eraser, and sharpener for workhorses, a trio of stylish notebooks, and a solid batch of blank stationery. Other than the postcards, they really matched the theme, and they even came together in the strong primary colors of blue and red, plus silver for a dash of style.

(Fun fact: both Oxford and Cambridge call their official colors “blue,” but Cambridge’s “blue” actually looks like a light green. Also, where does the red come in—could it be a little tip of the hat across the pond to Harvard’s crimson?)

Spotlight Stationery Monthly Subscription Box February 2019 Haul Flatlay Stacked

General Information

For general information about Spotlight Stationery, including subscription options, cost, shipping, tracking, packaging, charitable giving, and customer experience, see the Spotlight Stationery Overview post.

Also, don’t forget to check out the rest of our monthly Spotlight Stationery reviews.

And if you are in the market for a fabulous subscription or gift box for women that offers global shipping, check out our round-up of the top 10 subscriptions for women who live abroad!

Give a Shout!

Let us know what you think of the February 2019 “Varsity” Edition of the Spotlight Stationery subscription box in the comments below. As always, we love hearing from you.

You may also like...

Popular Articles...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.