Quaintly March 2019 Haul Flatlay Two Linesa
Review Unboxing

Quaintly & Co Subscription Box | March 2019 | Unboxing & Honest Review

This is a review and unboxing of the March 2019 edition of the Quaintly & Co Quintessentials subscription box. The subscription is available in two versions, Quintessentials & Classic. The two versions share a brochure and the same core items, so this unboxing and review will cover both versions of the box.

The Quaintly & Co subscription is a British lifestyle box for women that delivers a curated box full of themed or regional gifts from UK brands, including beauty, accessories, apparel, home essentials, crafts, and luxurious edibles.

Quaintly & Co also offers a Tea & Book Box subscription, which will not be covered in this post.

Please visit our Affiliate Disclosure page for important information about affiliate links, free samples, and site commissions.

The Haul

The March 2019 edition of the Quaintly & Co subscription contained either 5 items (Classic) or 9 items (Quintessentials), some of which were sets of multiple smaller items.

Quaintly March 2019 Open Box Lid

The box included an informational card listing the items contained in the box and their retail values.

Quaintly March 2019 Brochure

Quaintly & Co advertises that the boxes will be themed or regionally focused, but the information card does not explain the theme for this month. It seems pretty clear that the theme for this month is Yorkshire, but it would be lovely to see Quaintly & Co do a bit more work around presenting and explaining the monthly themes.

Without further ado, here are the items that I received in my March 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box:

  • Lighthouse Lane, Yorkshire Constellation Chart Print
  • Lighthouse Lane, Yorkshire Cushion Cover
  • The Yorkshire Candle Company, Yorkshire Dales Candle
  • Yorkshire Sayings Wooden Spoon
  • Yorkshire Crisps, Crisps in Roast Lamb & Mint (40 g)
  • QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Wentworth Pewter, Yorkshire Rose Trinket Box
  • QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: The Pretty Little Treat Company, All-Purpose Lavender Butter (12 g) & Sweetheart Matchbox Perfume Set (12 g)
  • QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Dalesman, Yorkshire Passport: Blue Edition by Adrian Braddy
  • QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Cartwright & Butler, English Breakfast Tea (30 g), Demerara Shortbread Biscuits (40 g), and Salted Caramel Biscuits (35 g)

Quaintly March 2019 Haul Stacked

Lighthouse Lane, Yorkshire Constellation Chart Print

The first item in the March 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box was a Yorkshire Constellation Chart Print from Lighthouse Lane.

Lighthouse Lane Yorkshire Constellation Start Chart Print

About

This constellation chart print contains funny sayings and Yorkshire place names, and it is designed to look like a standard star chart until you take a closer look. The unframed A4 design is printed on professional paper.

This print was designed by Lighthouse Lane, a husband and wife team operating out of Haworth in West Yorkshire. They design their own whimsical housewares, prints, clothing, and other gifts.

My Thoughts

I love the idea of displaying this print in a spot where it will appear to be a simple constellation chart, and then on closer look will reveal itself as a stockpile of silly Yorkshire slang. I am no expert on the lingo, so it’s a little beyond me if I’m being honest, but I think I will be able to find a cute place to put it up.

Retail Value

According to Quaintly & Co, the MSRP of this print is £12 (~$15.56).

Stock Up

If you missed the March 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box or you want to get another of these prints for yourself, you can grab them directly from Lighthouse Lane.

Lighthouse Lane, Yorkshire Cushion Cover

The next item in the March 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box was a Yorkshire Cushion Cover from Lighthouse Lane.

Lighthouse Lane Yorkshire Optician Cushion Cover

About

This 41 cm square cushion cover is made from 100% cotton, and it features a black print of a cheeky Yorkshire message in the shape of an eye doctor’s testing chart.

My Thoughts

I love whimsical items, and this pillow will make a fun accent for my reading nook or den. It’s not the softest cover I’ve ever felt, so I’m not sure this will become my go-to pillow, but it would probably work well with an oversized feather cushion.

Retail Value

According to Quaintly & Co, the MSRP of this cushion cover is £12 (~$15.56).

Stock Up

If you missed the March 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box or you want to get another of these cushion covers for yourself, you can grab a similar one directly from Lighthouse Lane. Note that the version in the box is slightly different, as it features this version of the print on this wholesale cushion cover from The Clever Baggers.

The Yorkshire Candle Company, Yorkshire Dales Candle

The next item in the March 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box was a Yorkshire Dales Candle from The Yorkshire Candle Company.

The Yorkshire Candle Company Yorkshire Dales Candle

About

This vegan juniper-scented candle is hand-poured with renewable soy wax and a cotton wick for a clean burn. It has a burn time of 20 hours and comes in a lidded tin.

My Thoughts

I adore the aroma of this candle! It is bright and clean, and it has a universal appeal that doesn’t lean too close to either feminine floral or musky earth. And you can never have too many candles, so I am glad to have received one in this box!

Retail Value

According to Quaintly & Co, the MSRP of this candle is £6 (~$7.78).

Stock Up

If you missed the March 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box or you want to get some more of these candles for yourself, you can grab them directly from The Yorkshire Candle Company.

Yorkshire Sayings Wooden Spoon: £5 (~$6.48)

The next item in the March 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box was a Yorkshire Sayings Wooden Spoon.

Yorkshire Sayings Wooden Spoon

About

This wooden spoon is carved with the saying, “Shut You Cake ‘Ole You Numpty!” It was commissioned by Quaintly & Co especially for this month’s box.

My Thoughts

This may be the first and last wooden spoon that I ever receive in a subscription box! I love housewares and kitchen items, and this one is a humorous take on a kitchen staple that I happen not to own. So for me, it’s a hit.

Retail Value

According to Quaintly & Co, the MSRP of this spoon is £5 (~$6.48).

Stock Up

If you missed the March 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box, you may be out of luck because this spoon was designed especially for this box. So if you want to get products like this in the future, you will need to become a subscriber.

Yorkshire Crisps, Crisps in Roast Lamb & Mint (40 g)

The next item in the March 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box was a 40 g bag of Crisps in Roast Lamb & Mint from Yorkshire Crisps.

About

These crips are fried in pure sunflower oil, and they do not contain MSG, artificial flavoring, preservatives, or GMOs. They are made in South Yorkshire, and all of the potatoes are grown on the Yorkshire Wolds.

My Thoughts

I wasn’t sure what to think when I saw the flavor of these chips (err…crisps), because I really dislike lamb. But the lamb fat lends a richness and depth to the flavor without that overpowering and distinctive gamey smell that I detest. Unexpectedly, I actually loved these crisps! I didn’t really notice a minty flavor, but there was a nice mix of other spices.

Ingredients

These crisps contain potatoes, sunflower oil, salt, sugar, maize starch, yeast extract, onion powder, parsley, rosemary, oregano, garlic powder, black pepper, coriander seed, cumin, lamb fat, licorice powder, coconut oil, palm oil, and acacia gum, among other ingredients.

The above list is not comprehensive. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using. However, Yorkshire Crisps does state that the crisps contain no nuts, milk, gluten, GMOs, soy, egg, or MSG.

Retail Value

According to Quaintly & Co, the MSRP of these crisps is £1 (~$1.30).

Stock Up

If you missed the March 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box or you want to get some more of these crisps for yourself, you can grab 6-packs of full-sized packages in the following flavors from Amazon:

QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Wentworth Pewter, Yorkshire Rose Trinket Box: £15 (~$19.44)

The next item in the March 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box was a Yorkshire Rose Trinket Box from Wentworth Pewter.

About

This handmade pewter pill or trinket box has a White Rose of York pattern on the lid. It measures 25 main height and has a diameter of 50 mm. To care for the box, simply wash in hot soapy water and dry with a soft cloth, and if it has become dull, polish with metal polish before washing.

Wentworth Pewter is a family-owned business based in Sheffield, Yorkshire, the heart of the British metalworking industry.

My Thoughts

I love the pretty design on the lid of this box, and the size is perfect for storing tiny trinkets that might otherwise get unruly. I love it!

Retail Value

According to Quaintly & Co, the MSRP of this trinket box is £15 (~$19.44). However, Wentworth Pewter itself sells these boxes for only £14 (~$18.15), so we would knock the sticker price down to this lower amount.

Stock Up

If you missed the March 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box or you want to get another of these trinket boxes for yourself, you can grab them from Amazon.

You can also pick up matching pieces from the Yorkshire Rose Collection:

QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: The Pretty Little Treat Company, All-Purpose Lavender Butter (12 g) & Sweetheart Matchbox Perfume Set (12 g)

The next item in the March 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box was a set containing a 12 g jar of All-Purpose Lavender Butter and a 12 g bar of Sweetheart Matchbox Perfume, both from The Pretty Little Treat Company.

About

The vegan lavender butter is meant to be used on patches of dry or chapped skin, sunburns, and other minor skin irritations. It is handmade in Yorkshire and packaged in a small tin with a screw-on lid. The lavender aroma can also be used for relaxation when you retire to bed at night.

The matchbox perfume is a solid perfume bar that melts on contact with skin.

My Thoughts

I wish I knew what to call the aroma of the perfume in the matchbox, signature fragrance no. 22, because I adore it! I have never used a perfume bar before, but I love the concept and am excited to add this one to my repertoire.

The lavender butter is also great. It’s softer than other balms that I own, Although it does leave a bit of greasiness as shea butter generally does, it’s not offensive and it does seem like it would feel great on unhappy skin.

Ingredients

The lavender butter contains shea butter, linalool, geraniol, and limonene.

The matchbox perfume contains sweet almond oil, beeswax, parfum, limonene, linalool, and citral.

Retail Value

According to Quaintly & Co, the MSRP of this perfume and lavender butter set is £7 (~$9.07).

Stock Up

If you missed the March 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box or you want to get some more of these treats for yourself, you can grab them from Amazon:

QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Dalesman, Yorkshire Passport: Blue Edition by Adrian Braddy

The next item in the March 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box was a book entitled, “Yorkshire Passport: Blue Edition,” by Adrian Brandy and published by Dalesman.

About

This book covers the history, lingo, and culture of the Yorkshire region, whose nickname is “God’s Own Country.” Yorkshire has a strong regional identity, much like Texas, and so this book is a whimsical look at the local pride and identity that connect “Tykes” (what the people of Yorkshire call themselves).

My Thoughts

I am a total bibliophile, and I love building my collection of books about a bunch of eclectic topics. Because I am not so familiar with Yorkshire, this will be a fun read, and a fun way to decode the other items in the box. This book really brings together the other items in the box.

Retail Value

According to Quaintly & Co, the MSRP of this book is £5 (~$6.48).

Stock Up

If you missed the March 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box or you want to get another of these books for yourself, you can grab one from Amazon.

QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Cartwright & Butler, English Breakfast Tea (30 g), Demerara Shortbread Biscuits (40 g), and Salted Caramel Biscuits (35 g)

The next item in the March 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box was a 30 g box of English Breakfast Tea, a 40 g packet of Demerara Shortbread Biscuits, and a 25 g packet of Salted Caramel Biscuits, all from Cartwright & Butler.

About

This set of tea and biscuits is from East Riding of Yorkshire-based Cartwright & Butler, a world-renowned baker brand.

Expiration dates:

  • Demerara Shortbread Biscuits: November 25, 2019
  • Salted Caramel Biscuits: February 13, 2020
  • English Breakfast Tea: July 15, 2020

My Thoughts

I have a huge weak spot for cookies (err…biscuits), and the ones in my Yorkshire box did not disappoint! The Demerara Shortbread Biscuits were large, extremely buttery, and just the right texture. Such a rich flavor.

The Salted Caramel Biscuits were a bit crunchier, but they struck just the right balance between sweet and salty. The caramel flavor is fully present, rich and sophisticated without being cloying or overly sweet. I would definitely go out of my way to re-purchase this brand!

The tea has a fresh, invigorating aroma, and I was impressed that the bags were sealed in an airtight foil pouch.

What a treat to receive this bundle in my Yorkshire box!

Ingredients

The Demerara Shortbread Biscuits contain wheat flour, salted butter, sugar, demerara sugar, corn flour, and milk powder. The packaging features a warning that the biscuits may also contain nuts.

The Salted Caramel Biscuits contain wheat flour, salted butter, sugar, soft dark brown sugar, glucose from wheat, natural flavoring, salt, and ammonium bicarbonate. The packaging features a warning that the biscuits may also contain nuts, egg, mustard, oat, sesame, and soy.

The English Breakfast Tea contains 100% black tea.

Retail Value

According to Quaintly & Co, the MSRP of this set of tea and biscuits is £3 (~$3.89).

Stock Up

If you missed the March 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box or you want to get some more of this tea and/or these biscuits for yourself, you can grab them from Amazon:

Delivery Time

My March 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box shipped on March 23, 2019, and it was delivered to me in Tokyo, Japan, on April 3, 2019.

  • Delivery time: 11 days
  • Average delivery time (as of March 2019): 15 days

Value & Verdict

My total monthly cost for this Quaintly & Co Quintessentials subscription is £50 (~$64.81). A Classic box would have cost £18.50 (~$23.98).

The total retail value of the items in the box was as follows:

  • Lighthouse Lane, Yorkshire Constellation Chart Print: £12 (~$15.56)
  • Lighthouse Lane, Yorkshire Cushion Cover: £12 (~$15.56)
  • The Yorkshire Candle Company, Yorkshire Dales Candle: £6 (~$7.78)
  • Yorkshire Sayings Wooden Spoon: £5 (~$6.48)
  • Yorkshire Crisps, Crisps in Roast Lamb & Mint (40 g): £1 (~$1.30)
  • QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Wentworth Pewter, Yorkshire Rose Trinket Box: £15 (~$19.44)
  • QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: The Pretty Little Treat Company, All-Purpose Lavender Butter (12 g) & Sweetheart Matchbox Perfume Set (12 g): £7 (~$9.07)
  • QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Dalesman, Yorkshire Passport: Blue Edition by Adrian Braddy: £5 (~$6.48)
  • QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Cartwright & Butler, English Breakfast Tea (30 g), Demerara Shortbread Biscuits (40 g), and Salted Caramel Biscuits (35 g): £3 (~$3.89)

Quaintly March 2019 Haul Flatlay Square

In sum, here’s how the March 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box measures up:

  • Total retail value: £36 (~$46.66) Classic || £66 (~$85.55) Quintessentials
  • Total savings over retail ($): £17.50 (~$22.68) Classic || £16 (~$20.74) Quintessentials
  • Total savings over retail (%): 49% Classic || 24% Quintessentials
  • Average price per item: £3.70 (~$4.79) Classic || £5.56 (~$7.20) Quintessentials

Verdict: The $$$

Overall, the value from this box is generally outstanding. The Quintessential box didn’t deliver as much in retail savings this time around, so the Classic subscribers did better from a purely financial perspective. In fact, the price per item was quite a bit higher for Quintessentials subscribers, even though most of the extra items in the Quintessentials box were not especially valuable.

Verdict: The ★★★

This month’s box was much stronger thematically than monetarily, especially for Quintessentials subscribers like myself. The box had a fun mixture of items loaded with local charm, and it really drew me into the region and taught me a thing or two about it. The variety of products was especially great: a decorative box, a candle, some bath and body items, snacks, a book, a cushion cover, an art print, and a kitchen utensil. And I discovered my new favorite brand of shortbread, which is no small thing!

General Information

For general information about Quaintly & Co, including subscription options, cost, shipping, tracking, packaging, charitable giving, and customer experience, see the Quaintly & Co Overview post.

Also, don’t forget to check out the rest of our monthly Quaintly & Co reviews.

And if you are in the market for a fabulous subscription or gift box for women that offers global shipping, check out our round-up of the top 10 subscriptions for women who live abroad!

Give a Shout!

Let us know what you think of the March 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box in the comments below. As always, we love hearing from you.

You may also like...

Popular Articles...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.