Quaintly & Co January 2019 Box Haul Scatter
Review Unboxing

Quaintly & Co Subscription Box | January 2019 | Unboxing & Honest Review

This is a review and unboxing of the January 2019 edition of the Quaintly & Co Quintessentials subscription box. The subscription is available in two versions, Quintessentials & Classic. The two versions share a brochure and the same core items, so this unboxing and review will cover both versions of the box.

Quaintly & Co January 2019 Box

The Quaintly & Co subscription is a British lifestyle box for women that delivers a curated box full of themed or regional gifts from UK brands, including beauty, accessories, apparel, home essentials, crafts, and luxurious edibles.

Quaintly & Co also offers a Tea & Book Box subscription, which will not be covered in this post.

Please visit our Affiliate Disclosure page for important information about affiliate links, free samples, and site commissions.

The Haul

Quaintly & Co January 2019 Open Box with Information Card

The January 2019 edition of the Quaintly & Co subscription contained either 6 items (Classic) or 9 items (Quintessentials).

The box included an informational card listing the items contained in the box and their retail values.

Quaintly & Co January 2019 Information Card Front

Quaintly & Co advertises that the boxes will be themed or regionally focused, but the information card did not explain the theme for this month. And I was not able to glean the theme from the items that I received. Perhaps toasty and fragrant?

Quaintly & Co January 2019 Information Card Back

Without further ado, here are the items that I received in my January 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box:

  • Yardley London, Exfoliating Body Scrub in English Bluebell (200 ml)
  • Bronnley, Hand & Nail Cream in Pink Peony & Rhubarb (100 ml)
  • Bath House, Feel Lovely Soap Bar in Refreshing Citrus (100 g)
  • Rex London, Mini Hotties Union Jack Hand Warmer
  • Woods of Windsor, Fragranced Sachet in Citrus & Basil
  • Ten Acre, Aunty Winifred’s Sweet and Salty Popcorn (30 g)
  • QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Catherine Tough, Knitted Bobble Hat
  • QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Bronnley, Body Butter in Zealous Flower (200 ml)
  • QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Yardley London, Bath Bomb in English Lavender (100 g)

Quaintly & Co January 2019 Box Haul Flatlay Rows

Yardley London, Exfoliating Body Scrub in English Bluebell (200 ml)

The first item in the January 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box is a 200 ml tube of Exfoliating Body Scrub in English Bluebell from Yardley London.

About

This paraben-free body scrub is infused with English Bluebell fragrance, which has notes of bluebell, peach, jasmine, lily of the valley, and peony. It uses walnut shell powder to exfoliate and smooth the skin. The oils and shea butter in the scrub replenish and protect the skin.

Yardley London has been a purveyor of luxury soaps and fragrances since 1770. Their signature scent is lavender.

My Thoughts

The bluebell fragrance is soft and delicate, and I love that this scrub uses walnut shell powder as an exfoliant. It’s much less abrasive than many other materials. I can’t wait to exfoliate with this during my next shower!

Ingredients

This scrub contains sunflower seed oil, walnut shell powder, shea butter, rice bran oil, sweet almond oil, and cornflower extract.

Allergy alert: Do not use this product if you are allergic to walnuts, rice, almonds, or tree nuts!

The above ingredient list is not comprehensive. If you have other allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to Quaintly & Co, the MSRP of this body scrub is £8 (~$10.57).

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box or you want to get another bottle of this scrub for yourself, you can grab some from Amazon (except where indicated) in any of the following fragrances:

Bronnley, Hand & Nail Cream in Pink Peony & Rhubarb (100 ml)

The next item in the January 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box is a 100 ml tube of Hand & Nail Cream in Pink Peony & Rhubarb from Bronnley.

About

This hand & nail cream is enriched with shea butter for deep moisturization, and the fragrance contains notes of pink peony petals, jasmine, gardenia, rose, rhubarb, and sparkling white musk. This cream is from the Pink Peony & Rhubarb line is from the Contemporary Collection, and the packaging and bottle are decorated with illustrations by award-winning botanical artist Helen Campbell.

Bronnley has been crafting luxurious formulas and beautiful scents for over 130 years. Its founder and namesake James Bronnley traveled to Paris in the 1800s to learn the secrets of the elite French perfumeries, which he brought back to his native England and used to build a thriving business.

My Thoughts

Even though the scent is floral, it feels light, fresh, modern, and youthful. And the cream does not leave any greasy residue, despite the shea butter. I really enjoy this cream!

Ingredients

This lotion contains shea butter, grape seed oil, and coconut derivatives.

The above ingredient list is not comprehensive. If you have other allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to Quaintly & Co, the MSRP of this hand cream is £9 (~$11.89).

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box or you want to get some more of this hand cream for yourself, you can grab it in any of the following fragrances (100 ml unless otherwise indicated):

You can also grab a Citrus Collection of 3 handbag-sized hand creams, which contains Lemon & Neroli, Lime & Bergamot, and Orange & Jasmine, from either Bronnley or Amazon.

Bath House, Feel Lovely Soap Bar in Refreshing Citrus (100 g)

The first item in the January 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box is a 100 g Feel Lovely Soap Bar in Refreshing Citrus from Bath House.

About

This cruelty-free soap is triple-milled and vegetable-based, and it is infused with a refreshing citrus fragrance.

Bath House is a fragrance and natural skincare brand that was started in 1997. Their focus is on artisanship, natural beauty, and creativity, and they operate a handful of boutiques in the London area.

My Thoughts

This soap smells really lovely and subtle, and most importantly of all, clean. It is going straight to my soap dish, because I just ran out of my old bar. Lucky me!

Ingredients

This soap contains palm oil derivatives, evening primrose root extract, shea butter, and sunflower seed oil, among other ingredients.

The above ingredient list is not comprehensive. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to Quaintly & Co, the MSRP of this bar of soap is £6 (~$7.93).

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box or you want to get another bar of this soap for yourself, you can grab one from Amazon.

Rex London, Mini Hotties Union Jack Hand Warmer

The next item in the January 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box is a reusable hand warmer from Rex London (formerly dotcomgiftshop) in a Union Jack print.

About

This clever hand warmer comes in a cute knitted pouch with the Union Jack print on one side and plain red on the other, as well as the opening.

The heating pouch inside can be activated by snapping the metal disc inside the pouch several times, which causes the special gel inside to harden and heat up. The warming effect lasts for about 20 minutes. The pouch can be reused dozens of times, as long as you follow a special procedure to re-melt the crystal gel inside.

My Thoughts

What a nifty idea! Disposable hand warmers work really well, but they always feel so wasteful, and they can get quite pricey. And your typical heating pad is way too bulky to take out into the cold winter air. This little hand warmer is the perfect solution, and it is seriously adorable to boot! It almost makes me want to go out in the cold. Almost.

Retail Value

According to Quaintly & Co, the MSRP of this hand warmer is £5 (~$6.61). But it looks like Rex London has lowered the price to £1.95 (~$2.58).

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box or you want to get another hand warmer for yourself, you can grab one from Amazon.

Woods of Windsor, Fragranced Sachet in Citrus & Basil

The next item in the January 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box is a Fragranced Sachet from Woods of Windsor in Citrus & Basil.

About

This fragranced sachet from the English Heritage collection energizes and uplifts, with an aroma including notes of citrus, grapefruit, lime, orange, basil, bay, and jasmine and a woody patchouli base. It is perfect for use in drawers and wardrobes and lasts for over 3 months.

Woods of Windsor is a luxury bath, body, and home brand that originates in a 1770 apothecary called Woods Pharmacy in the town of Windsor.

My Thoughts

This sachet smells really luxurious and heavenly, like a regal, high-end hotel. It also looks really stylish and classy. The black ribbon is also nice and sturdy, and the tie-it-yourself-design makes it easy to hang this sachet basically anywhere you like.

This is going straight to my closet, and Woods of Windsor may have just found a new customer.

Retail Value

According to Quaintly & Co, the MSRP of this fragranced sachet is £5 (~$6.61).

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box or you want to some more sachets for yourself, you can grab them from Amazon:

You can also get a variety 3-pack containing one sachet each of the fragrances listed above.

And if you really love the fragrances, you can also buy a set that includes 2 sachets and 1 pack of scented drawer liners each of the following fragrances:

Ten Acre, Aunty Winifred’s Sweet and Salty Popcorn (30 g)

The next item in the January 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box is a bag of Aunty Winifred’s Sweet and Salty Popcorn from Ten Acre.

About

This kettle-style popcorn is hand popped, gluten-free, Kosher, Halal, vegan, dairy-free, and MSG-free. The only ingredients are popped corn, sugar, sunflower oil, sea salt, and sunflower lecithin.

This flavor earned a UK Great Taste Award in 2015 and 2016.

My Thoughts

Yum, yum, and more yum! I devoured this popcorn, and I can’t wait to buy more. I am in love with kettle corn, and this light burst of delicious had just the right balance between sweet and salty for my taste.

Retail Value

According to Quaintly & Co, the MSRP of this popcorn is £1 (~$1.32).

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box or you want to get some more of this popcorn for yourself, you can grab 18-packs from Amazon in the following flavors:

You can also find single-serving bags of the following flavors at the Vegan Kind Supermarket (UK-based, international shipping available):

Oh my gosh, aren’t you starving just reading that list? Delish!

QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Catherine Tough, Knitted Bobble Hat

The next item in the January 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box is a 100% Lambswool Knitted Bobble Hat in a Navy & Mushroom Cross Pattern from Catherine Tough.

Catherine Tough 100% Ethical Merino Lambswool Knitted Bobble Hat Cap Cross Pattern Navy Mushroom

About

This ribbed cap has a navy rib and a cross-pattern in a gray mushroom color with a gray bobble on top. It was knitted in Scotland from soft 100% Merino lambswool, and the pompom bobble was added in London. The hat is one-size-fits-all, and it can be either hand-washed or dry cleaned.

Catherine Tough has been designing and hand-making luxury knitwear and home goods since she graduated from the Royal College of Art in 1999. They have collaborated with Anthropologie and Melt Chocolates, and their yarn is ethically sourced from high-quality spinners with animal welfare policies in place (i.e., non-mulesed sources).

My Thoughts

This is the most valuable item in the box. At retail, it would cost almost as much as this entire box!

What an adorable and cozy hat! It matches virtually any outfit, and it looks classic and playful at the same time. I am not usually a fan of wool, but this is about as soft as gets. And the ribbing is very generous, so it doesn’t appear too small even on a large-headed person like me. Because of my head size, the hat does feel a bit snug, but I’m sure it will wear in until it fits me perfectly.

I am so pleased to have received such a high-quality winter staple in my box this month.

Retail Value

According to Quaintly & Co, the MSRP of this hat is £58 (~$76.62)

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box or you want to get another hat for yourself or a friend, you can grab hats in a bunch of different colors directly from Catherine Tough. They ship worldwide!

QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Bronnley, Body Butter in Zealous Flower (200 ml)

The next item in the January 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box is a 200 ml tub of Body Butter from Bronnley in Zealous Flower.

About

This body butter has top notes of bergamot, pear, and orange, heart notes of rose, jasmine, and pink pepper, and base notes of labdanum, amber, and vetiver. The Zealous Flower line is from the Eclectic Elements Collection, and it won an Editor’s Choice Award in the 2017 Beauty Shortlist Awards.

My Thoughts

The scent of this body butter is captivating, and it takes me back to a particular incense that my father used to burn when I was a young child. It’s a really rich and intoxicating aroma, unique and non-cloyingly floral. And the striking design on the tub is really beautiful, and it fits perfectly with the aroma.

This is the second item from Bronnley in this box. I am loving the aromas from Bronnley, and I feel much more confident shopping from this brand after loving two separate fragrances from two different collections.

Ingredients

This body butter contains shea butter, beeswax, sweet almond oil, and moringa seed oil.

Allergy alert: Do not use this product if you are allergic to almonds!

The above ingredient list is not comprehensive. If you have other allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to Quaintly & Co, the MSRP of this £15 (~$19.82).

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box or you want to get some more of this body butter for yourself, you can grab it from the following places:

QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Yardley London, Bath Bomb in English Lavender (100 g)

The next item in the January 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box is a 100 g Bath Bomb in English Lavender from Yardley London.

About

This bath bomb is scented with Yardley’s signature English lavender, and the fragrance is a blend of bergamot, clary sage, eucalyptus, geranium, jasmine, chamomile, violet, wood, vanilla, and patchouli.

This is the second item in this box from Yardley London.

My Thoughts

Just as you might guess from the incredible combination of fragrances in this bath bomb, the aroma is very high-end and complex. It is nothing like the cloyingly floral lavenders that you often find in drugstore brands. I cannot wait to kick back in the bath with some me time and this soothing bath bomb. The perfect indulgence!

Retail Value

According to Quaintly & Co, the MSRP of this bath bomb is £3.50 (~$4.62).

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box or you want to get another bath bomb for yourself, you can grab one from Yardley (UK-based, ships internationally) or from Amazon.

Delivery Time

My January 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box shipped on January 24, 2019, and it was delivered to me in Tokyo, Japan, on February 12, 2019.

  • Delivery time: 19 days
  • Average delivery time (as of January 2019): 19 days

Value & Verdict

My total monthly cost for this Quaintly & Co Quintessentials subscription is £50 (~$66.05). A Classic box would have cost £18.50 (~$24.43).

The total retail value of the items in the box was as follows:

  • Yardley London, Exfoliating Body Scrub in English Bluebell (200 ml): £8 (~$10.57)
  • Bronnley, Hand & Nail Cream in Pink Peony & Rhubarb (100 ml): £9 (~$11.89)
  • Bath House, Feel Lovely Soap Bar in Refreshing Citrus (100 g): £6 (~$7.93)
  • Rex London, Mini Hotties Union Jack Hand Warmer: £5 (~$6.61)
  • Woods of Windsor, Fragranced Sachet in Citrus & Basil: £5 (~$6.61)
  • Ten Acre, Aunty Winifred’s Sweet and Salty Popcorn (30 g): £1 (~$1.32)
  • QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Catherine Tough, Knitted Bobble Hat: £58 (~$76.62)
  • QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Bronnley, Body Butter in Zealous Flower (200 ml): £15 (~$19.82)
  • QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Yardley London, Bath Bomb in English Lavender (100 g): £3.50 (~$4.62)

Quaintly & Co January 2019 Box Haul Scatter

In sum, here’s how the January 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box measures up:

  • Total retail value: £34 (~$44.93) Classic / £110.50 (~$145.97) Quintessentials
  • Total savings over retail ($): £15.50 (~$20.50) Classic / £60.50 (~$79.92) Quintessentials
  • Total savings over retail (%): 46% Classic / 55% Quintessentials
  • Average price per item: £3.08 (~$4.07) Classic / £5.56 (~$7.34) Quintessentials

Overall, the value from this box is outstanding. Because the subscription is priced with the assumption that subscribers will need international shipping, it provides some terrific deals on a bunch of fabulous and high-end UK brands.

The items were also amazing. This box feels indulgent and soothing, and I discovered a bunch of quaint and fabulous British brands. Amazing for my next round of gift-giving!

This was my first Quaintly & Co box, and I really loved the items I received. I can’t wait to see what’s in store for future months!

General Information

For general information about Quaintly & Co, including subscription options, cost, shipping, tracking, packaging, charitable giving, and customer experience, see the Quaintly & Co Overview post.

Also, don’t forget to check out the rest of our monthly Quaintly & Co reviews.

And if you are in the market for a fabulous subscription or gift box for women that offers global shipping, check out our round-up of the top 10 subscriptions for women who live abroad!

Give a Shout!

Let us know what you think of the January 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box in the comments below. As always, we love hearing from you.

You may also like...

Popular Articles...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.