Quaintly February 2019 Haul Flatlay
Review Unboxing

Quaintly & Co Subscription Box | February 2019 | Unboxing & Honest Review

This is a review and unboxing of the February 2019 edition of the Quaintly & Co Quintessentials subscription box. The subscription is available in two versions, Quintessentials & Classic. The two versions share a brochure and the same core items, so this unboxing and review will cover both versions of the box.

The Quaintly & Co subscription is a British lifestyle box for women that delivers a curated box full of themed or regional gifts from UK brands, including beauty, accessories, apparel, home essentials, crafts, and luxurious edibles.

Quaintly & Co also offers a Tea & Book Box subscription, which will not be covered in this post.

Quaintly & Co January 2019 Box

Please visit our Affiliate Disclosure page for important information about affiliate links, free samples, and site commissions.

The Haul

Quaintly February 2019 Open Box Springtime Tissue Paper

The February 2019 edition of the Quaintly & Co subscription contained either 6 items (Classic) or 10 items (Quintessentials).

The box included an informational card listing the items contained in the box and their retail values.

Quaintly February 2019 Informational Card

Quaintly & Co advertises that the boxes will be themed or regionally focused, but the information card does not explain the theme for this month. If I had to take a stab at it, I would say that the theme is “Springtime in the English Countryside.” But it would be fun if Quaintly & Co did a bit more to set the tone for each box!

Without further ado, here are the items that I received in my February 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box:

  • Quintessentially English, Vintage Bouquet Bath Salts (75 g)
  • Plant A Bloomer, Woodland Friends Plantable Greeting Cards in Robin (2 count)
  • Gisela Graham, Wooden Magnetic “Days of the Week” Memo Pegs in Spring Design (set of 7)
  • Lesser & Pavey, Country Life Chickens Lunch Bag
  • Lottie Shaw’s, Traditional Oat Flapjack (100 g)
  • Sirocco Design, Pug Breed Notebook
  • QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Filberts of Dorset, Beeswax Candle Making Starter Kit
  • QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Lesser & Pavey, Leonardo Collection Snack Tray in English Daisy Meadow
  • QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Lesser & Pavey, Leonardo Collection Coasters in English Daisy Meadow (4 count)
  • QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Lesser & Pavey, Leonardo Collection Clutch Bag in Strawberry Thief

Quaintly February 2019 Haul In Box

Quintessentially English, Vintage Bouquet Bath Salts (75 g)

The first item in the February 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box is a 75 g packet of Vintage Bouquet Bath Salts from Quintessentially English.

Quintessentially English Vintage Bouquet Bath Salts for Soothing

About

These aromatic bath salts blend bergamot with geranium. Only one spoonful is needed for a relaxing soak. They are handmade in the historic Lacock Village of Wiltshire, which is almost entirely owned by the National Trust.

My Thoughts

I love products that give me an excuse for a bit of me-time. This bouquet smells exactly like a bouquet of real, fresh flowers, and so I am excited to sneak away for a bath the next time I am feeling a bit achy from my neuromuscular disease. The package is very generous and looks like it will last quite a while.

Ingredients

These bath salts contain Natural Dead Sea Salt, rose geranium, bergamot, cornflower, delphinium, rose bud, citral, geraniol, citronellol, limonene, and linalool.

Retail Value

According to Quaintly & Co, the MSRP of this packet of bath salts is £6 (~$7.94).

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box or you want to get some more of these bath salts for yourself, you can order them directly from Quintessentially English. Not On The High Street also stocks their bath salts in English Rose and Bottled Sunshine.

Plant A Bloomer, Woodland Friends Plantable Greeting Cards in Robin (2 count)

The next item in the February 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box is a set of 2 Woodland Friends Plantable Greeting Cards with a Robin design from Plant A Bloomer.

Plant a Bloomer Woodland Friends Plantable Wildflower Seed Paper Greeting Card Robin

Plant a Bloomer Woodland Friends Plantable Wildflower Seed Paper Greeting Card Robin Back of Card

About

These creative greeting cards include a little animal-shaped biodegradable paper that is covered with wildflower seeds. You simply detach the animal, soak it, and plant it in a pot or a garden. The A5 cards are blank inside and can be used for any occasion.

The cards are designed by Rani Deshpande, who started her own design studio in 2004 after making her own wedding invitations.

My Thoughts

I adore these cards! The artwork is beautiful, and it’s so wonderful that a message of love can be transformed into a more enduring object of beauty for the person who receives the card. I already know who I’m going to send these to!

Retail Value

According to Quaintly & Co, the MSRP of these greeting cards is £4.50 (~$5.96).

I am not sure if the second card in my box was an accident, because the info card does not use the plural, and the price of a single card seems to be £4.50. But I’ll take it!

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box or you want to get some more of these greeting cards for yourself, you can grab them from Not On The High Street in any of the following designs:

If you can’t choose, you can buy a 6-pack that includes one of each design!

Gisela Graham, Wooden Magnetic “Days of the Week” Memo Pegs in Spring Design (set of 7)

The next item in the February 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box is a set of 7 wooden magnetic “Days of the Week” memo pegs in a spring design from Gisela Graham.

Gisela Graham Wooden Memo Pegs Magnetic Clips Clothespins Spring Design Weekly Days of the Week in Packaging

Gisela Graham Wooden Memo Pegs Magnetic Clips Clothespins Spring Design Weekly Days of the Week Zig-Zag

About

These sweet spring clips are covered with leaves and different shades of green.

They have a magnetic strip on the back, so that you can use them to organize your to-dos and paperwork on a bulletin board or refrigerator.

Gisela Graham Wooden Memo Pegs Magnetic Clips Clothespins Spring Design Weekly Days of the Week Magnetic Backside

My Thoughts

The seasonal design of these clips is sweet, and an organization system based on days of the week is useful.

The clips can hold a maximum of about 4 sheets of regular printer paper, so they are best used for forms and slips that you need to remember to bring with you, rather than as a standalone paper organization system.

Retail Value

According to Quaintly & Co, the MSRP of these clothespins is £5 (~$6.62).

Stock Up

These precise clips do not seem to be readily available for sale online. So if you missed the February 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box or you want to get another set of these “memo pegs” (is this the British term?) or clothespins for yourself, you can find them in a couple of different designs:

You can also grab a set of 4 “to do” memo clips in the same design as the set in the box. The clips are labeled with “things to do…”, “don’t forget”, “already done”, and “shopping list”.

Lesser & Pavey, Country Life Chickens Lunch Bag

The next item in the February 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box is a Country Life Chickens Lunch Bag designed by the Jennifer Rose Gallery from Lesser & Pavey.

Lesser and Pavey Country Life Chickens Lunch Bag Top View

Lesser and Pavey Country Life Chickens Lunch Bag Side View

Lesser and Pavey Country Life Chickens Lunch Bag

About

This lightweight lunch bag is made from recycled plastics and features a watercolor print of chickens and eggs on tiny patches of grass.

It is lined inside with foil insulation, which both preserves your food’s temperature and makes the lunch bag very easy to clean.

The designer, Jennifer Rose, creates animal- and nature-inspired watercolors, and the Chicken collection is an homage to English country living. She opened her own design firm in 2013 to share her artwork with the world.

My Thoughts

Jennifer Rose’s watercolor style is really pretty and soft, and chickens are the perfect decoration for an item that you take with you when you went to get out into nature. The bag is feather-light, which is great for my chronically tired muscles, and it’s roomy enough inside to hold a pretty substantial meal.

Retail Value

According to Quaintly & Co, the MSRP of this lunch bag is £5 (~$6.62).

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box or you want to get another one of these lunch bags for yourself, you can grab one from Temptation Gifts.

Lottie Shaw’s, Traditional Oat Flapjack (100 g)

The next item in the February 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box is a Traditional Oat Flapjack from Lottie Shaw’s.

Lottie Shaw's Traditional Oat Flapjack Yorkshire

Lottie Shaw's Traditional Oat Flapjack Yorkshire Nutritional Information and Ingredients

About

This snack looks like a granola bar, but it’s a bit more like a buttery slab of rolled oats. Lottie Shaw’s has been baking traditional flapjacks and other English goodies in Yorkshire for over a hundred years, using recipes handed down through generations.

My Thoughts

I had never tried a flapjack before receiving this box, so I was excited to give it a taste. Wow, it is a lot softer and richer than I expected. The buttery flavor is very prominent, and although it’s sweet, it’s not cloying. I would love to eat another one!

Ingredients

This flapjack contains rolled oats, demerara sugar, and margarine, as well as other ingredients.

Allergy warning: These flapjacks may contain traces of wheat, nuts, and sesame. Additionally, the above ingredient list is not comprehensive. So if you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before consuming.

Retail Value

According to Quaintly & Co, the MSRP of this flapjack is £2 (~$2.65).

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box or you want to get some more of these flapjacks for yourself, you can grab a tin full of 5 different varieties of Lottie Shaw’s flapjacks from Not on the High Street.

Sirocco Design, Pug Breed Notebook

The next item in the February 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box is a Pug Breed Notebook from Sirocco Design.

Sirocco Design Pug Breed Notebook

About

This A5 notebook is blush-colored and has an adorable illustration of a pug on the front cover, along with a string of adjectives about the pug’s temperament in a mix of cute, modern fonts: clever, enthusiastic, bold, mischievous, dignified, intelligent, funny, stubborn, sturdy, good-natured, affectionate, and loving.

The notebook was designed by Sirocco Design, a small design studio based in Hampshire and owned by a married couple, Karen and Rich.

My Thoughts

What an adorable notebook! I am not a pug person per se, but I love the design aesthetic and am happy to have discovered this design house. And I’m a bit of a stationery addict, so I am always glad to add to my journaling stash.

Retail Value

According to Quaintly & Co, the MSRP of this notebook is £7 (~$9.27).

Stock Up

This precise notebook does not seem to be available online at this time. But if you missed the February 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box or you want to get some more of this cuteness for yourself, you can find this precise illustration in an art print format, along with those for 22 other breeds (available directly from Sirocco Designs).

Not On the High Street also stocks pug designs from Sirocco Designs, but without the list of adjectives:

QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Filberts of Dorset, Beeswax Candle Making Starter Kit

The next item in the February 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box is a Beeswax Candle Making Starter Kit from Filberts of Dorset.

Filberts of Dorset Beeswax Candle Making Starter Kit

About

This kit contains everything you need to make 6 floating candles, 24 birthday cake candles, 23 tapered candles, or 6 straight candles, all from natural beeswax. Best of all, you make the candles by rolling them, and so no melting is required! Filberts of Dorset have even made a tutorial demonstrating the rolling technique.

Filberts of Dorset are a family of beekeepers and makers of functional and quirky natural beeswax products, and their legacy includes three generations of farmers in West Dorset.

My Thoughts

I love this idea — what a fun activity to share with the family, and a great way to feel connected with the lifestyle of the British countryside and farming. I didn’t even know that candles could be made by rolling, and it’s wonderful to receive a bit of an education through this box. I love this item!

Retail Value

According to Quaintly & Co, the MSRP of this candle making kit is £10.50 (~$13.90).

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box or you want to get another candle rolling kit for yourself, you can grab one directly from Filberts of Dorset. You can also try your hand at making lip balm, or just grab one of their handmade sets of lip balm, hand salve, and feet salve, both from Amazon.

QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Lesser & Pavey, Leonardo Collection Snack Tray in English Daisy Meadow

The next item in the February 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box is a Snack Tray in English Daisy Meadow from Lesser & Pavey’s Leonardo Collection.

About

This small snack tray is made out of melamine and is covered with a vintage-faded light blue “Daisy Meadow” print. It is part of Lesser & Pavey’s Leonardo Collection, which includes a number of other housewares in matching floral prints.

My Thoughts

This tray cautions that it is not for use in direct contact with foods, so it should be used only for wrapped snacks or as a tray to hold other dishes, such as sugar and cream for tea or coffee. I actually don’t own very much in the way of serving vessels, so it’s fun to have such a cute item to welcome my guests and add a little dash of springtime to the dining table.

Retail Value

According to Quaintly & Co, the MSRP of this tray is £4 (~$5.29).

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box or you want to get another of these trays for yourself, you can grab one from eBay Ireland (if you’re in Europe) or from Amazon.

QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Lesser & Pavey, Leonardo Collection Coasters in English Daisy Meadow (4 count)

The next item in the February 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box is a set of 4 coasters in English Daisy Meadow from Lesser & Pavey’s Leonardo Collection.

About

These coasters are cork-backed and have a heat-resistant (up to 90 degrees Celsius) laminated surface. They match the snack tray, with two of the coasters in the same light blue background and the other two with a complementary navy hue.

My Thoughts

I love that these coasters are lightweight and kid-friendly, and it’s so fun to have gotten a matching set of serving items in this box.

Retail Value

According to Quaintly & Co, the MSRP of this coaster set is £4 (~$5.29).

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box or you want to get another coaster set for yourself, you can grab them from Temptation Gifts or from Amazon.

And if you want to go all in on the print, you can grab the following matching items on eBay:

QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Lesser & Pavey, Leonardo Collection Clutch Bag in Strawberry Thief

The next item in the February 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box is a Clutch Bag in Strawberry Thief, designed by William Morris, from Lesser & Pavey’s Leonardo Collection.

Lesser and Pavey Leonardo Collection Strawberry Thief Clutch Bag Flatlay

Lesser and Pavey Leonardo Collection Strawberry Thief Clutch Bag

Lesser and Pavey Leonardo Collection Strawberry Thief Clutch Bag Hangtag

About

This clutch bag is covered with a reimagined version of the Victorian artist William Morris’s iconic textile pattern, “Strawberry Thief.” Rather than the typical navy/indigo background, this clutch features a lighter version of the print, with a white background.

This is the fourth Lesser & Pavey item in this box, and the third from the Leonardo Collection.

My Thoughts

I really enjoy the colorful floral patterns of Vera Bradley, and this clutch reminds me a lot of that aesthetic. I am something of a bag collector, and I am constantly looking for clutches that I can slip inside larger bags. It’s hard to pack light when you’re a type 1 diabetic, but a girl still needs style!

I will definitely be getting a lot of use out of this pouch.

Retail Value

According to Quaintly & Co, the MSRP of this clutch is £13 (~$17.21).

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box or you want to get another clutch bag for yourself, you can grab what looks to be the same item from Castile Tiles.

Value & Verdict

My total monthly cost for this Quaintly & Co Quintessentials subscription is £50 (~$66.18). A Classic box would have cost £18.50 (~$24.49).

The total retail value of the items in the box was as follows:

  • Quintessentially English, Vintage Bouquet Bath Salts (75 g): £6 (~$7.94)
  • Plant A Bloomer, Woodland Friends Plantable Greeting Cards in Robin (2 count): £4.50 (~$5.96)
  • Gisela Graham, Wooden Magnetic “Days of the Week” Memo Pegs in Spring Design (set of 7): £5 (~$6.62)
  • Lesser & Pavey, Country Life Chickens Lunch Bag: £5 (~$6.62)
  • Lottie Shaw’s, Traditional Oat Flapjack (100 g): £2 (~$2.65)
  • Sirocco Design, Pug Breed Notebook: £7 (~$9.27)
  • QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Filberts of Dorset, Beeswax Candle Making Starter Kit: £10.50 (~$13.90)
  • QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Lesser & Pavey, Leonardo Collection Snack Tray in English Daisy Meadow: £4 (~$5.29)
  • QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Lesser & Pavey, Leonardo Collection Coasters in English Daisy Meadow (4 count): £4 (~$5.29)
  • QUINTESSENTIALS ONLY: Lesser & Pavey, Leonardo Collection Clutch Bag in Strawberry Thief: £13 (~$17.21)

Quaintly February 2019 Haul Flatlay

In sum, here’s how the February 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box measures up:

  • Total retail value: £29.50 (~$39.06) Classic || £61 (~$80.75) Quintessentials
  • Total savings over retail ($): £11 (~$14.57) Classic || £11 (~$14.75) Quintessentials
  • Total savings over retail (%): 59% Classic || 22% Quintessentials
  • Average price per item: £3.08 (~$4.08) Classic || £5 (~$6.62) Quintessentials

Verdict: The $$$

This box consistently delivers great value. The January box was much more valuable, especially for Quintessentials subscribers, so it was a bit disappointing in comparison. But that’s not entirely fair, because the January box really went above and beyond, and one of the items was a high-priced luxury item. It’s probably better to look at January as one of the months that delivered special bonus value to Quintessentials subscribers.

Overall, because the subscription is priced with the assumption that subscribers will need international shipping, it provides some terrific deals on a bunch of fabulous and high-end UK brands.

Quaintly February 2019 Haul Stacked on Table Zoomed In

Verdict: The ★★★

I was pleased to see a focus on a different class of items (home) than was included in last month’s box (self-pampering and body care). I was perhaps a bit more excited about the items in the January box, but that’s because I am a bit of a skincare and body care addict.

Quaintly February 2019 Haul Stacked Vertical Flatlay

General Information

For general information about Quaintly & Co, including subscription options, cost, shipping, tracking, packaging, charitable giving, and customer experience, see the Quaintly & Co Overview post.

Also, don’t forget to check out the rest of our monthly Quaintly & Co reviews.

And if you are in the market for a fabulous subscription or gift box for women that offers global shipping, check out our round-up of the top 10 subscriptions for women who live abroad!

Give a Shout!

Let us know what you think of the February 2019 Quaintly & Co subscription box in the comments below. As always, we love hearing from you.

You may also like...

Popular Articles...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.