Moi-Même Box New Year 2019 Thrive Box: Haul Flatlay Scatter
Review Unboxing

Moi-Même Subscription Box | New Year 2019 | Unboxing & Honest Review + COUPON

This is a review and unboxing of the January 2019 “Thrive Box” edition of the Moi-Même subscription.

Moi-Même is a quarterly luxury subscription box that delivers a dose of “me” time, straight to your door. The goal of the subscription is to encourage busy women like you to prioritize yourself and practice self-care: it’s a present from you to you. Each quarterly box contains a variety of at least 5 full-sized items, such as jewelry, cosmetics, housewares, chocolate, and stationery, from independent brands such as Kate Spade. Moi-Même is UK-based and promises to deliver at least £75 (~$97.90) in retail value with every box.

Please visit our Affiliate Disclosure page for important information about affiliate links, free samples, and site commissions.

The Haul

I was so excited to unbox my first ever Moi-Même shipment. The January 2019 edition of the Moi-Même subscription was entitled “Thrive Box” and contained 5 items.

Moi-Même Box New Year 2019 Thrive Box: Haul Arc

The theme is meant to promote the idea that the New Year is a time to reevaluate what makes you thrive, rather than depriving and punishing yourself for eating too many donuts last year. With this box, Moi-Même wants to help you live the life of your dreams.

It also included a 14-page color brochure with a full 2-page spread on all but one of the items. Relative to other boxes, the level of detail was outstanding.

Moi-Même Box New Year 2019 Thrive Box: Brochure

Without further ado, here are the items that I received in my “Thrive Box” January 2019 Moi-Même subscription:

  1. Kristina Karlsson, “Your Dream Life Starts Here” Book
  2. Kate Spade, New York Lunch Tote in Deco Dots
  3. Nakin, Performance Face Serum (50 ml)
  4. Rachel Jackson London, “Fit Face” Game Face Bracelet in Sterling Silver
  5. Phase Zero, Blush in Heart Throb (5 g)

Moi-Même Box New Year 2019 Thrive Box: Haul Flatlay Stacked

1. Kristina Karlsson, “Your Dream Life Starts Here” Book

The first item in the January 2019 Moi-Même Thrive Box was a book by Kristina Karlsson called, “Your Dream Life Starts Here.”

About

Kristina Karlson started successful stationery company kikki.K, and she wrote this book to share her insights with dreamers who want to follow their own rainbows to a life of success and personal fulfillment. The book is full of stories from pioneering dreamers like Oprah Winfrey and Arianna Huffington, and it is sprinkled with inspirational quotes and journaling prompts to get you in a highly activated mindset.

This book goes far beyond inspiration. It provides a blueprint for making your dreams come true.

My Thoughts

This sun yellow and white paperback book is both hefty and a stunner. It gives me feels just flipping through it and holding it in my hands.

After reading just a few pages, I am already hooked and convinced that working through this book will be a powerful experience. I’ve read many books with similarly big promises about delivering your dream life, but this one really feels like the real deal. (And did I mention I am a sucker for books?)

I am so excited to work through this book that I also bought the companion Dream Life Journal from Moi-Même.

Dream Life Journal Book by Kristina Karlsson
Dream Life Journal by Kristina Karlsson (not included in the Thrive Box). Companion to “Your Dream Life Starts Here.”

The two books have a similar feel, and they are the same height and width. So the compulsive among you will have happy brains! Each chapter in the book has a corresponding section in the journal, and so working through both together should amplify the results from the book.

Retail Value

According to Moi-Même, the MSRP of this book is £18 (~$23.50).

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 Thrive Box from Moi-Même or you want to get another copy of this book for yourself, you can grab it on Amazon. Don’t forget to pick up the companion Dream Life Journal while you’re at it!

2. Kate Spade, New York Lunch Tote in Deco Dots

The next item in the January 2019 Moi-Même Thrive Box was a New York Lunch Tote from Kate Spade. The box came in two different prints, Deco Dots and Strawberries. My box contained the Deco Dots version.

About

This cute lunch tote has a linen cloth exterior, a generous handle on top, and a gold wraparound zipper.

The interior is insulated to keep your food cool and lined to keep the bag fresh and clean.

Moi-Même normally focuses on smaller independent brands, but they included Kate Spade in the Thrive Box to remind us that our personal well-being must come first on the road to success and wealth.

My Thoughts

This lunch tote brings me so much joy! In a world full of fugly lunchboxes, I am so excited to own such a pretty and classy alternative. And having a cute lunchbox is great motivation to pack lunches for the office, rather than falling back on expensive and harried restaurant runs.

Retail Value

According to Moi-Même, the MSRP of this lunch tote is £28 (~$36.55).

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 Thrive Box from Moi-Même or you want to get one in another pattern for yourself, you can grab them on Amazon:

3. Nakin, Performance Face Serum (50 ml)

The next item in the January 2019 Moi-Même Thrive Box was a tube of Performance Face Serum from Nakin.

About

This cruelty-free anti-aging serum is full of skin-rejuvenating antioxidants. The serum is for all skin types, and the hibiscus and hyaluronic acid in the elixir work to smooth fine lines, improve elasticity, and plump the face.

The serum has no parabens, MEA, beta glucan, artificial fragrances, or dyes.

A vegetarian & cruelty free face serum.

Nakin is a UK skincare company that was voted Best New British Brand.

My Thoughts

The serum smells like a spa, very high-end and clean. Nothing I love more than a home spa day!

It goes on with a satiny finish, and it is ultra-hydrating without being greasy or sticky to the touch. I love the quick-drying formula, which can make an unexpectedly significant difference in the amount of time required to complete my skincare routine. And after applying this serum, my pores look smaller and my skin is smoother.

This is wonderful stuff, and I would definitely consider purchasing it when my bottle runs out.

Ingredients

This serum contains shea butter, baobab seed oil, argan kernel oil & extract, olive oil, hibiscus extract, sunflower seed oil, pomegranate fruit extract, green tea leaf extract, rosemary leaf extract, and kelp seaweed extract.

The serum is gluten-free and vegetarian.

This list is not comprehensive, so if you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to Moi-Même, the MSRP of this face serum is £25 (~$32.63).

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 Thrive Box from Moi-Même or you want to get some more of this serum for yourself, you can grab it on Amazon.

4. Rachel Jackson London, “Fit Face” Game Face Bracelet in Sterling Silver

The next item in the January 2019 Moi-Même Thrive Box was a piece from Rachel Jackson London’s Game Face collection, which includes necklaces and bracelets in 22 ct gold plate or sterling silver, with six different charms: Fit Face (lips), Zen Face (triangle), Revel Face (middle finger), Poker Face (poker chip), Lucky Face (star), and Power Face (lightning bolt).

I received a sterling silver bracelet in the Fit Face design.

Rachel Jackson London: Game Face Collection Fit Face Bracelet with Box and Insert

About

The Game Face collection is meant to empower you to get your game face on, with different energies to meet the many situations your life will bring to you.

The bracelet contains a delicate charm that is attached on two ends to the chain, so that the charm flops around less on your arm. The “Fit Face” charm is a pair of plump lips.

Rachel Jackson London: Game Face Collection Fit Face Bracelet on Box

Rachel Jackson is a female entrepreneur whose work celebrates and empowers women.

My Thoughts

I am a bit confused by this bracelet because I’m not sure what lips have to do with fitness. I’m not the biggest fan of this lip-shaped charm. But I’d rather not pay to exchange my bracelet, and the charm is small enough that I’d still wear the bracelet itself.

Rachel Jackson London: Game Face Collection Fit Face Bracelet on Wooden Table

I wish I had gotten the middle finger, actually, because it’s abstract enough that you can feel like a secret rebel when wearing it.

Which version did you get? Are you happy with your charm?

Retail Value

According to Moi-Même, the MSRP of this bracelet is £30 (~$39.16).

Stock Up

It looks like Rachel Jackson has already discontinued this collection. So if you missed the January 2019 Thrive Box from Moi-Même or you want to get another piece from the Game Face Collection for yourself, you should head over to Moi-Même and snatch one before they run out.

5. Phase Zero, Blush in Heart Throb (5 g)

The final item in the January 2019 Moi-Même Thrive Box was a blush from Phase Zero. Variations were distributed based on skin tone and included Cotton Candy (Pale), Heart Throb (Pale to Medium), Straight Flush (Medium) and Making Moves (Medium to Dark; Dark). I received Heart Throb.

Phase Zero Blusher in Heart Throb Open Mirrored Compact and Box

About

This cruelty-free blush (or, if you’re British, “blusher”) comes in a small mirrored compact. The case looks sleek and has a solid, weighty feel in the hand.

Phase Zero Blusher in Heart Throb Closed Mirrored Compact and Box

Phase Zero’s goal is to bring luxury quality directly to consumers at affordable prices, and they keep prices down by not selling through distributors and third parties.

My Thoughts

This was my favorite item from this box. The color is a perfect springtime sakura, just in time for cherry blossom season in Japan. The color goes on both rich and sheer, and it blends instantly into the skin for an incredibly natural and healthy glow. I will definitely be buying more of this great stuff when it runs out.

Retail Value

According to Moi-Même, the MSRP of this blush is £7.50 (~$9.79).

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 Thrive Box from Moi-Même or you want to get some more of this blush for yourself, you can grab it from Love Me Beauty. They offer worldwide shipping. Hooray!

Value & Verdict

My total monthly cost for this subscription is £64.94 (~$84.77).

The total retail value of the items in the box was as follows:

  1. Kristina Karlsson, “Your Dream Life Starts Here” Book: £18 (~$23.50)
  2. Kate Spade, New York Lunch Tote in Deco Dots : £28 (~$36.55)
  3. Nakin, Performance Face Serum (50 ml): £25 (~$32.63)
  4. Rachel Jackson London, “Fit Face” Game Face Bracelet in Sterling Silver: £30 (~$39.16)
  5. Phase Zero, Blush in Heart Throb (5 g): £7.50 (~$9.79)

Moi-Même Box New Year 2019 Thrive Box: Haul Flatlay Scatter

In sum, here’s how the “Thrive Box” January 2019 from Moi-Même measures up:

  • Total retail value: £108.50 (~$141.62)
  • Total savings over retail: £43.56 (~$56.86)
  • Average price per item: £12.98 (~$16.94)

Overall, the value from this box is excellent! Using the listed values from the brochure, Moi-Même beat the price of the box by over $55, even with the cost of international shipping. This is great for a luxury box, especially one that also introduces products that would normally be off my radar.

Moi-Même Box New Year 2019 Thrive Box: Haul Lined Up in a Slanted Row

Coupon

Hurry and subscribe today so that you don’t miss the April box. And don’t forget to use coupon code EBL5 for £5 off your first subscription!

General Information

For general information about the Moi-Même subscription, including subscription options, cost, shipping, tracking, packaging, charitable giving, and customer experience, see the Moi-Même Box Overview post.

And don’t forget to check out the rest of our quarterly Moi-Même Box reviews.

And if you are in the market for a fabulous subscription or gift box for women that offers global shipping, check out our round-up of the top 10 subscriptions for women who live abroad!

Give a Shout!

Let us know what you think of the “Thrive Box” January 2019 from Moi-Même in the comments below. As always, we love hearing from you.

You may also like...

Popular Articles...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.