Mishibox April 2019 Haul Flatlay
Review Unboxing

Mishibox | April 2019 | Unboxing & Honest Review

This is a review and unboxing of the April 2019 edition of Mishibox.

Mishibox is a monthly subscription box for women that delivers a hand-picked selection of 5-6 deluxe- and full-sized Korean beauty and skincare products.

Mishibox April 2019 Closed Box

Please visit our Affiliate Disclosure page for important information about affiliate links, free samples, and site commissions.

The Haul

The April 2019 edition of Mishibox contained 6 items and carried a “Hello Spring!” theme.

Mishibox April 2019 Open Box with Pamphlet

As usual, the box included an informational card that introduced the items in the box and explained how to use them. 

Mishibox April 2019 Pamphlet

Mishibox also provides online translations of the ingredients in the products, because the product packaging is in Korean. The ingredients listed in this review are taken from these translations, and Expat Box Life cannot guarantee that the translations are accurate or complete.

Without further ado, here are the items that I received in my April 2019 Mishibox:

  • Half Moon Eyes, Milky Jelly Toning Essence in Fig and Silica Powder with Teatree (180 ml)
  • VT Cosmetics, Cica Capsule Mask (7.5 g)
  • Daeng Gi Meo Ri, Ki Gold Energizing Shampoo & Conditioner (70 ml x 2)
  • Wangskin, White Flower Mask Pack (23 ml)
  • Skin79, Seoul Girl’s Beauty Secret Mask in Namsan Tower (Vital Care) (23 g)

Mishibox April 2019 Haul Flatlay Horizontal Line

Half Moon Eyes, Milky Jelly Toning Essence in Fig and Silica Powder with Teatree (180 ml)

The first item in the April 2019 Mishibox was a 180 ml bottle of Milky Jelly Toning Essence in Fig and Silica Powder with Teatree from Half Moon Eyes.

About

This 3-in-1 formula is a toner, booster, and essence, and it comes with a packet of cotton pads for application. The milky appearance comes from silica powder, which is included in the mixture to control sebum and smooth the skin.

Before shaking, you may find that the powder has settled.

Half Moon Eyes is named after the shape of its creator’s eyes, inspired by her decision to find the most beautiful side of herself and cherish her natural beauty.

My Thoughts

This toner smells fresh and clean, and the bottle is generous. It will last quite a while!

Ingredients

This toner contains tea tree leaf water, anise fruit extract, sodium hyaluronate, castor oil, silica, sorbitol, baobab seed extract, aloe leaf water, gympie nut oil, pomegranate fruit extract, fig fruit extract, white mulberry fruit extract, ginkgo biloba nut extract, oat kernel extract, and centella leaf extract, among other ingredients. This list is not comprehensive. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to Mishibox, the MSRP of this toner is $25.

Stock Up

If you missed the April 2019 Mishibox or you want to get some more of this toner for yourself, you can get it from Amazon.

VT Cosmetics, Cica Capsule Mask (7.5 g)

The next item in the April 2019 Mishibox is a 7.5 g capsule of Cica Capsule Mask from VT Cosmetics.

About

This mask uses smooth green clay to reduce redness and inflammation. It is a rinse-off cream mask, which makes it a breeze to use.

VT Cosmetics is a trendy K beauty brand that uses skin science and natural ingredients to deliver innovative skincare and make-up products.

Time required: 10-15 minutes. Expiration date: August 3, 2020.

My Thoughts

What a fun little package! I am always excited to try new mask products, and this one looks promising. Like the toning essence above, this mask contains tea tree leaf ingredients, so here’s hoping you are not sensitive to this ingredient!

Ingredients

This mask contains kaolin, bentonite, silica, centella extract, bee glue extract, green tea leaf extract, cranberry fruit extract, camphor leaf extract, verdolaga extract, montmorillonite, green tea leaf powder, and Korean mugwort leaf extract, among other ingredients. This list is not comprehensive. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to Mishibox, the MSRP of this mask is $4.

Stock Up

If you missed the April 2019 Mishibox or you want to get some more of this mask for yourself, you can get it from Amazon.

Daeng Gi Meo Ri, Ki Gold Energizing Shampoo & Conditioner (70 ml)

The next item in the April 2019 Mishibox is a set containing Ki Gold Energizing Shampoo and Conditioner from Daeng Gi Meo Ri, each in a 70 ml bottle.

Daeng Gi Meo Ri Ki Gold Shampoo and Conditioner Upright

About

This shampoo and conditioner set is intended to increase scalp health and hair shine, and it is packed with herbal ingredients.

My Thoughts

I love trying new shampoos and conditioners, but I don’t love taking the risk of buying a full-sized bottle. Asian hair products can be especially tough for me to use, because my strands are relatively fine. So I am thrilled to have received these items in my box! If they work well for me, I will definitely be on the lookout for bigger bottles, because they are much more affordable here in Tokyo than my go-to American brands.

Ingredients

The shampoo contains chrysanthemum extract, gleditscia australis fruit extract, longan fruit extract, white mulberry root extract, Dahurian angelica root extract, cnidium root extract, green tea leaf extract, oak vinegar, ginseng root extract, mugwort extract, and verdolaga extract, among other ingredients.

The conditioner contains chrysanthemum extract, gleditscia australis fruit extract, rehmannia glutinosa root extract, biota leaf extract, shrubby sophora root extract, white mulberry root extract, dwarf sedge root/stem extract, simpleleaf chastetree fruit extract, yerba de tago extract, cnidium root extract, common mugwort extract, Ceteareth-20, Butylene Glycol, spider lily extract, keratin, and ginseng root extract, among other ingredients.

The above lists are not comprehensive. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient lists before using.

Retail Value

According to Mishibox, the MSRP of this shampoo & conditioner set is $14.

Stock Up

If you missed the April 2019 Mishibox or you want to get some more of these hair products for yourself, you can get both the shampoo and the conditioner from Amazon.

Wangskin, White Flower Mask Pack (23 ml)

The next item in the April 2019 Mishibox is a 23 ml White Flower Mask Pack from Wangskin.

About

This mask decreases inflammation, calms sensitive skin, and purifies and revitalizes your face. The mask is made from 100% cotton, making it suitable for sensitive skin.

Time required: 15-20 minutes. Expiration date: December 6, 2020.

My Thoughts

I love sheet masks, and this one looks promising. The herbal and floral cocktail promises to smell excellent, and I can’t wait to try it out.

Ingredients

This sheet mask contains tiger lily extract, snow lotus extract, edelweiss flower/leaf extract, aloe leaf extract, centella extract, Japanese knotweed root extract, Chinese skullcap root extract, green tea leaf extract, licorice root extract, chamomile fower extract, rosemary leaf extract, and castor oil, among other ingredients. This list is not comprehensive. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to Mishibox, the MSRP of this sheet mask is $3.

Stock Up

If you missed the April 2019 Mishibox or you want to get some more of these sheet masks for yourself, you can get them from Amazon.

Skin79, Seoul Girl’s Beauty Secret Mask in Namsan Tower (Vital Care) (23 g)

The final item in the April 2019 Mishibox is a 23 g Seoul Girl’s Beauty Secret Mask in Namsan Tower (Vital Care) from Skin79. Other boxes contained Namsam Tower (Brightening Care), Bunchn Village (Moisturizing), Han River (Soothing Care), or Kyungbok Palace (Wrinkle Care).

About

This mask comes in a cute Seoul-inspired package, and it promises to revitalize and energize your skin.

Skin79 was one of the BB cream leaders in 2004, and they remain plugged into the latest trends in skincare.

Time required: 15-20 minutes. Expiration date: April 12, 2020.

My Thoughts

This box contained three masks, all with different properties. Masks are one of my favorite items to sample, and I had never tried any of the brands that I received. So excited to try this one, especially because it looks to be easy to buy on English-language websites.

Ingredients

This sheet mask contains evening primrose flower extract, Japanese camellia flower extract, witch hazel extract, ginseng root extract, aloe leaf extract, white mulberry bark extract, Job’s teas seed extract, cucumber fruit extract, green tea leis list is not comprehensive. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to Mishibox, the MSRP of this sheet mask is $3.

Stock Up

If you missed the April 2019 Mishibox or you want to get some more of these sheet masks for yourself, you can get them from Amazon. You can also grab a variety pack that includes four of the five sheet masks included in this box.

Delivery Time

My April 2019 Mishibox shipped on April 13, 2019, and it was delivered to me in Tokyo, Japan, on April 25, 2019.

  • Delivery time: 12 days
  • Average delivery time (as of April 2019): 13 days

Value & Verdict

My total monthly cost for this subscription is $31.44.

The total retail value of the items in the box was as follows:

  • Half Moon Eyes, Milky Jelly Toning Essence in Fig and Silica Powder with Teatree (180 ml): $25
  • VT Cosmetics, Cica Capsule Mask (7.5 g): $4
  • Daeng Gi Meo Ri, Ki Gold Energizing Shampoo & Conditioner (70 ml x 2): $14
  • Wangskin, White Flower Mask Pack (23 ml): $3
  • Skin79, Seoul Girl’s Beauty Secret Mask in Namsan Tower (Vital Care) (23 g): $3

Mishibox April 2019 Haul Standing

Verdict: The $$$

In sum, here’s how the April 2019 Mishibox measures up:

  • Total retail value: $49
  • Total savings over retail ($): $17.56
  • Total savings over retail (%): 36%
  • Average price per item: $5.24

The value of this month’s box was a bit lower than last month, but there was still a reasonable 36% savings over retail value. And using the listed values from the brochure, Mishibox still beat the price of the box by over 50%, even with the cost of international shipping. A great box for international subscribers.

Mishibox April 2019 Haul Stacked Vertical

Verdict: The ★★★

I think it’s wonderful when boxes include lots of masks because that is one product that runs out more quickly than it can be replenished. Hair products are also a rare but welcome addition, and the toning essence was a generous full-sized bottle. All in all, I thought that this box had a wonderful mix of hard-hitting products, and I can’t wait to see what’s in store for future months.

Mishibox April 2019 Haul Flatlay Square

General Information

For general information about Mishibox, including subscription options, cost, shipping, tracking, packaging, charitable giving, and customer experience, see the Mishibox Overview post.

Also, you can click here to see our other Mishibox reviews.

And if you are in the market for a fabulous subscription or gift box for women that offers global shipping, check out our round-up of the top 10 subscriptions for women who live abroad!

Give a Shout!

Let us know what you think of the April 2019 Mishibox in the comments below. As always, we love hearing from you.

You may also like...

Popular Articles...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.