Lookfantastic Beauty Box January 2020 Haul Flatlay Horizontal
Unboxing

Lookfantastic Beauty Box | January 2020: Revive Edition | Unboxing & Honest Review + COUPONS

The Lookfantastic Beauty Box is a UK-based luxury monthly beauty and skincare subscription service for women. Each box includes 6 deluxe or full-sized beauty products, including bath, skincare, and make-up, as well as a copy of Elle magazine. This is a review and unboxing of the January 2020 “Revive” Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box.

Lookfantastic Beauty Box January 2020 Haul in Box Lid

Please visit our Affiliate Disclosure page for important information about affiliate links, free samples, and site commissions.

The Haul

I was more than a little excited to receive the January 2020 “Revive” Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box. This box is one of my favorites because it never disappoints and always delivers amazing value.

The box had a beautiful aqua design with yellow accents.

This month’s box contained 6 items, plus the UK edition of Elle magazine.

As usual, the box also contained a 19-page glossy color informational pamphlet containing information and tips about the products included in the box, as well as 6 in-depth beauty articles.

A couple of these articles featured items not contained in the box, like Rodial’s CBD Sleep Drops and Murad’s Pore Reform Daily Cleansing Foam.

This month’s brochure had more content than usual, and a nice table of contents. It’s almost like a mini-magazine in its own right.

The box also contains a copy of the January 2020 Elle magazine, UK edition.

Without further ado, here are the items that I received in my January 2020 “Revive” Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box:

  • Ecooking, Moisturizing Serum (10 ml)
  • Lord & Berry, Made to Measure Lip Color in Just Naked #3102 (1.3 g)
  • Phenicoptere, GLOV Moon Pads (3-pack)
  • Mio Skincare, Boob Tube+ (30 ml)
  • Australian Bodycare, Tea Tree Oil Spot Stick (9 ml)
  • Sebastian Professional, Dark Oil Lightweight Shampoo & Conditioner (50 ml each)

Ecooking, Moisturising Serum (10 ml)

The first item in the January 2020 “Revive” Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box was a 10 ml bottle of Moisturizing Serum from Ecooking.

About

This vegan, paraben-free, frangrance-free moisturizing serum contains a shot of hyaluronic acid and is formulated to be non-greasy and weightless.

Ecooking was founded by Tina Søgaard of Denmark after a personal crisis left her skin ashen and tired. She began mixing ingredients at home and came up with targeted formulas meant to troubleshoot specific skin woes.

My Thoughts

Serum is the most important part of my skincare routine. So I am always thrilled to receive serums in my beauty boxes. In fact, I discovered my go-to serum in a box! So this product is a big win for me.

Ingredients

This serum contains organic glycerin, pseudoalteromonas marine bacteria ferment extract, hydrolyzed wheat protein, hydrolyzed soy protein, and lecithin, among other ingredients. This list is not comprehensive. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to Lookfantastic, the MSRP of this serum is £21.50 (~$27.98).

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2020 Lookfantastic Beauty Box or you want to get more of this serum for yourself, you can order a full-sized bottle from Lookfantastic.

BONUS: If you order today from Lookfantastic, you can get a FREE Ecooking Derma Roller worth £75 (~$97.62) when you spend £75 on Ecooking products.

Lord & Berry, Made to Measure Lip Color in Just Naked #3102 (1.3 g)

The next item in the January 2020 “Revive” Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box was 1.3 g Made to Measure Lip Color in Just Naked #3102 from Lord & Berry.

About

This cruelty-free lip color is matte but it glides on smoothly.

Lord & Berry is an Italian make-up brand based in Milan that has been featured in previous Lookfantastic Beauty Boxes. None of their products are tested on animals.

My Thoughts

The color is on the darker side for a nude, but it’s quite nice. It is long-lasting, as well, which is always a plus.

I am not sure that the description in the LF Beauty Box pamphlet is accurate, as that one is supposed to be an “Ultimate Lip Liner” that is waterproof and contains macadamia oil. The pencil that I received seems to be a promotional product that is not available for sale through Lookfantastic.

Retail Value

According to Lookfantastic, the MSRP of this lip color is £15 (~$19.52).

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2020 Lookfantastic Beauty Box or you want to get more of this lip liner for yourself, you can order more it from Lookfantastic in Nude or Bare.

Phenicoptere, GLOV Moon Pads (3-pack)

The next item in the January 2020 “Revive” Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box was a 3-pack of GLOV Moon Pads from Phenicoptere.

About

These reusable, no-waste makeup remover pads are made out of pink cloth and can be used with water or your favorite makeup removing solution.

GLOV is a brand from Polish company Phenicoptere. The brand has won numerous entrepreneurial awards in the past few years and is rapidly taking off.

My Thoughts

I love receiving beauty tools in my beauty boxes, because they provide a nice balance to all of the products that expire once opened.

I am intrigued by these pads and excited to try them out. I could use something that makes me feel pampered when I wash my face, and it’s great that they are reusable.

Retail Value

According to Lookfantastic, the MSRP of these makeup removed pads is £7.11 (~$9.25).

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2020 Lookfantastic Beauty Box or you want to get more of these makeup remover pads for yourself, you can order a 5-pack from Lookfantastic or a travel kit that also contains cheeky wipes and a natural fiber cleaning cloth from Amazon.

Bonus: Select GLOV products are included in a 3-for-2 sale on Lookfantastic for a limited time only, including the following travel kits:

Mio Skincare, Boob Tube+ (30 ml)

The next item in the January 2020 “Revive” Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box was a 30 ml bottle of Boob Tube+ from Mio Skincare.

About

This cruelty-free bust and décolletage cream promises to leave your skin looking smooth and toned. It is rich in omega acids and includes hyaluronic acid, on of the power ingredients in the best facial serums.

Mio Skincare formulates its products with clean, natural ingredients and started as a dedicated pregnancy skincare brand called Mama Mio. They branched off into general skincare when they realized that their customers loved their products, such as their Tummy Rub Oil (Amazon link) so much that they continued to use them long after their pregnancy days were behind them.

My Thoughts

I had been eyeing the Mio Skincare line for some time, so I am very thrilled to have received this sample in my box. A very unique addition, and definitely doesn’t overlap with my other boxes.

The cream is on the heavier side, and the sweet floral fragrances really come through. Even though it contains shea butter, it doesn’t leave a greasy residue on my hands. I think I am going to love this stuff.

Ingredients

This bust cream contains aloe leaf juice, shea butter, milk thistle extract, Chinese angelica root extract, tea tree root extract, dandelion extract, common evening-primrose oil, sweet almond oil, squalane, olive oil, avocado oil, white water lily flower extract, hyaluronic acid, Asiatic pennywort leaf extract, white mulberry bark extract, roselle flower extract, cucumber seed extract, and tree moss extract, among other ingredients.

The list above is not comprehensive. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to Lookfantastic, the MSRP of this bust cream is £9 (~$11.71).

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2020 Lookfantastic Beauty Box or you want to get more of this bust cream for yourself, you can order more from Lookfantastic or Amazon.

BONUS: If you order today from Lookfantastic, you can get a FREE 50 ml tube of Mio Skincare Future Proof worth £4.55 (~$5.92) and up to 25% off when you spend £45 on Mio Skincare products.

Australian Bodycare, Tea Tree Oil Spot Stick (9 ml)

The next item in the January 2020 “Revive” Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box was a 9 ml bottle of Tea Tree Oil Spot Stick from Australian Bodycare.

About

This roll-on blemish stick is vegan and has antimicrobial properties. It can be used over makeup or on bare skin to fight the bacteria that cause acne and to soothe red and irritated skin.

Australian Bodycare focuses on tea tree oil, which is actually an aboriginal botanical that has been known for generations. Founded in 1992, all of their products are tested by independent dermatologists and gentle on the skin.

Expiration date: April 2022.

My Thoughts

The roll-on design makes this spot stick easy to apply. It’s nice to have a product for irritated skin that does not require getting your hands goopy and greasy like many balms and salves. Like most tea tree oil products, this formula has a distinct aroma: you either love it or you hate it! This product was a great addition to the box.

Ingredients

This blemish stick contains hydrogenated castor oil, tea tree leaf oil, tea leaf extract, witch hazel water, and wheat germ oil, among other ingredients. This list is not comprehensive. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to Lookfantastic, the MSRP of this blemish stick is £9.99 (~$13). However, they sell the same item on their own website for just £5.99 (~$7.80), so I’d knock a few dollars of the valuation for this item.

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2020 Lookfantastic Beauty Box or you want to get another of these spot sticks for yourself, you can order more from Lookfantastic or Amazon.

Sebastian Professional, Dark Oil Lightweight Shampoo & Conditioner (50 ml each)

The next item in the January 2020 “Revive” Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box was a set of 50 ml bottles of Dark Oil Lightweight Shampoo & Conditioner from Sebastian Professional.

About

This shampoo and conditioner are from Sebastian Professional’s new dark oil line, which promises 3x smoother hair and a lightweight finish.

Sebastian Professional is a luxury haircare brand that was born in L.A. in the 70s and built a legacy on high style and fearlessness.

My Thoughts

I have super long hair, so I go through sample-sized shampoo and conditioner very quickly. I adore boxes that provide shampoo and conditioner! I can use them to try out new formulas before investing in full-sized bottles, and I can also use them when traveling. Because does hotel shampoo work for any long-haired person on the planet?

This shampoo and conditioner have a nice aroma and work great. My hair is fine, and many oil-type formulations are too heavy or kill its natural shine. But for me, this shampoo and conditioner really lived up to the marketing hype, and I am tempted to buy full-sized bottles. A win for the Sebastian Professional team, and a win for me!

Ingredients

The shampoo contains argan oil and the conditioner contains castor oil, argan oil, and jojoba seed oil, in each case among other ingredients.

The lists above are not comprehensive. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient lists before using.

Retail Value

According to Lookfantastic, the MSRP of this shampoo & conditioner duo is £7.92 (~$10.31).

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2020 Lookfantastic Beauty Box or you want to get more of this shampoo and conditioner for yourself, you can order more from:

As of today, the shampoo and conditioner are sold out on Lookfantastic, so the new range must be taking off! And in the meantime, you can hurry and grab the Dark Oil Styling Oil or Silkening Fragrant Mist before those sell out as well.

You can also pick up a gift set that includes travel-sized shampoo, conditioner, hair oil, and hair mask from Amazon.

Delivery Time

My January 2020 “Revive” Edition Lookfantastic Beauty Box shipped on January 2, 2020, and it was delivered to me in Tokyo, Japan, on January 14, 2020.

  • Delivery Time: 14 days
  • Average delivery time (as of January 2020): 14 days

Value & Verdict

My total monthly cost for this subscription is ~$16.75.

The total retail value of the items that I received in the January 2020 “Revive” Edition Lookfantastic Beauty Box was as follows:

  • Ecooking, Moisturizing Serum (10 ml): £21.50 (~$27.98)
  • Lord & Berry, Made to Measure Lip Color in Just Naked #3102 (1.3 g): £15 (~$19.52)
  • Phenicoptere, GLOV Moon Pads (3-pack): £7.11 (~$9.25)
  • Mio Skincare, Boob Tube+ (30 ml): £9 (~$11.71)
  • Australian Bodycare, Tea Tree Oil Spot Stick (9 ml): £9.99 (~$13)
  • Sebastian Professional, Dark Oil Lightweight Shampoo & Conditioner (50 ml each): £7.92 (~$10.31)
  • Elle Magazine, January 2020 (UK Edition): £4.50 (~$5.86)

Verdict: The $$$

In sum, here’s how the January 2020 “Revive” Edition Lookfantastic Beauty Box measures up:

  • Total retail value: $97.63
  • Total savings over retail: $80.88 | 82.8%
  • Average price per item: $2.39

As usual, I got absolutely incredible value with my haul from the January 2020 “Revive” Edition Lookfantastic Beauty Box. Lookfantastic delivered on its promise to deliver at least £50 (~$65.08) of value with each LF Beauty Box. In fact, they beat their promise by $32.55 (50%), or $26.69 (41%) if you ignore the free copy of Elle magazine. The value drops to $92.43 if you take the inflated item into account. But still, even by Lookfantastic standards, this was a fantastic month! Because shipping to Japan is free, this is one of the only boxes that delivers supercharged retail value even when you subscribe from abroad.

Verdict: The ★★★

In addition to the retail savings, the haul from my January 2020 Lookfantastic Beauty Box was fantastic. Most of the products were unique items rarely seen in beauty boxes, and they really stole my heart with the shampoo and conditioner samples. This month was a bit lighter on make-up than most, but I personally prefer to get lots of skincare samples because it tends to be expensive to try new products.

Coupons

If you love what you see, subscribe NOW to the monthly Lookfantastic Beauty Box.

And now is the perfect time to replenish your empties! If you shop Lookfantastic now and use coupon code LFNEW20, you will get 20% off your order.

General Information

For general information about Lookfantastic Beauty Box, including subscription options, cost, shipping, tracking, packaging, charitable giving, and customer experience, see the Overview post.

And don’t forget to check out the rest of our monthly and special edition Lookfantastic Beauty Box reviews.

And if you are in the market for a fabulous subscription or gift box for women that offers global shipping, check out our round-up of the top 10 subscriptions for women who live abroad!

Give a Shout!

Let us know what you think of the January 2020 “Revive” Edition Lookfantastic Beauty Box in the comments below. As always, we love hearing from you.

You may also like...

Popular Articles...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *