Lookfantastic Beauty Box Subscription: Sample Monthly Box Contents
Review Unboxing

Lookfantastic Beauty Box | January 2019: Clean Beauty Edition | Unboxing & Honest Review

The Lookfantastic Beauty Box is a UK-based luxury monthly beauty and skincare subscription service for women. Each box includes 6 deluxe or full-sized beauty products, including bath, skincare, and make-up, as well as a copy of Elle magazine. This is a review and unboxing of the January 2019 “Clean Beauty” Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box.

Please visit our Affiliate Disclosure page for important information about affiliate links, free samples, and site commissions.

The Haul

I was so excited to open the January 2019 Clean Beauty Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box, my very first Lookfantastic Beauty Box! It contained 6 items, plus a miniature copy of Elle magazine.

It also contained a 19-page glossy color informational pamphlet containing information and tips about the products included in the box, as well as 5 in-depth beauty articles featuring items not contained in the box.

I loved the editor’s tips! Many beauty products claim multi-purpose applications, so it is nice to see how the box’s curators recommend using the items that they have chosen to include.

The brochure is magazine-quality and very thorough, and it even includes QR codes to help you “shop the articles.” Although the bonus articles were also heavy on product promotion, they included a bunch of useful tips and tricks. I am planning to keep this brochure as a resource and reference.

The box also contains a copy of the January 2019 Elle magazine, UK edition.

Lookfantastic Beauty Box Subscription: January 2019 Elle Magazine

Without further ado, here are the items that I received in my January 2019 Clean Beauty Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box:

  • Dr. PAWPAW, Original Clear Balm (25 ml)
  • Popband, Active Hair Ties in Assorted Colors (Pack of 4)
  • Swell, Ultimate Protect and Renew Serum (30 ml)
  • Vitamasques, Marine Gold Dust Sheet Mask (1 sheet, 23 ml)
  • Bellápierre, Banana Setting Powder (4 g)
  • First Aid Beauty, Hello FAB Coconut Skin Smoothie Priming Moisturizer (21.3 g)
  • Elle Magazine, January 2019 (UK Edition)

Dr. PAWPAW, Original Clear Balm (25 ml)

The first item in the January 2019 Clean Beauty Edition of my Lookfantastic Beauty Box is a 25 ml tube of Dr. PAWPAW’s Original Clear Balm.

About

This is a fragrance-free, cruelty-free, vegan multi-use balm for lips, skin, hair, beauty finishing, and cuticles. Dr. PAWPAW claims that it can be used to soothe sunburns and diaper rashes, heal chapped lips, condition hair, moisturize dry skin, and soften cuticles.

This balm was “Highly Commended” in the “Best Classic Cosmetics Product” category of the UK Beauty Magazine’s 2015 Beauty Awards.

My Thoughts

I struggle with dry hands, despite moisturizing frequently, because my type 1 diabetes forces me to wash my hands and check my blood sugar multiple times a day. This balm really softened my cuticles, without leaving them overly greasy.

My husband struggles with psoriasis, and almost every skin product irritates his skin. But this balm really soothed some of the itch and softened one of his scaly patches.

Thumbs up from both of us!

Ingredients

The main active ingredient in the Dr. PAWPAW balm is the juice of fermented “pawpaw” fruit, which is from a species of papaya tree (Carica papaya) that is commonly cultivated for this edible fruit. Don’t confuse this with the “paw paw” tree (Asimina triloba) that is native to the eastern United States and Canada.

The only other ingredients are peterolatum, olive fruit oil, and aloe barbadensis leaf juice, sunflower seed oil, and soybean oil.

Allergies

Note that the Lookfantastic site does NOT list the soybean oil, but the ingredient is printed on the product packaging.

Retail Value

The MSRP of the Dr. PAWPAW’s Original Clear Balm is £6.95 (~$8.95). So if you missed the January 2019 Clean Beauty Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box or you did not receive this item in your box, you can purchase it from Lookfantastic or from Amazon.

Popband, Active Hair Ties in Assorted Colors (Pack of 4)

The next item in the January 2019 Clean Beauty Edition of my Lookfantastic Beauty Box is a 4-pack of special edition Popband Active Hair Ties in a color assortment of light blue, teal, white, and silver.

About

Popbands are wider than regular headbands, so they are not supposed to leave kinks, bumps, and dents in your hair. They are also fun to wear on your wrists…much cuter than your average hair tie.

The “active” line targets gym rats and yoga lovers, and the bands are meant to be worn while working out.

My Thoughts

The bands have a shimmery look to them, and they are indeed cute. Wearing them on my wrist creates a casual look that is a definite upgrade from my normal hair tie bracelet.

The light blue Popband in my set says, “FEEL, BE, LOOK FANTASTIC.” It’s very cute and a subtle nod to the brand without screaming corporate. Nice work, Lookfantastic!

I have already fallen in love with these bands! I have the most kink-prone hair on the planet. But even my hair stayed smooth after I wore my new Popband for a few hours. Believe me: that is an incredible result! Plus, these are a million times prettier. I am sad that I just restocked my normal go-to hair ties.

Retail Value

The color pack from the January 2019 Clean Beauty Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box is exclusive to the box and its subscribers, but the MSRP of a standard 4-pack of Popband Active Hair Ties is £8 (~$10.31). So if you missed this month or you did not receive this item in your box, you can purchase your own 4-pack in a different color group from Lookfantastic or from Amazon.

Swell, Ultimate Protect and Renew Serum (30 ml)

The next item in the January 2019 Clean Beauty Edition of my Lookfantastic Beauty Box is a 30 ml mini of Swell’s Ultimate Protect and Renew Serum.

About

The Swell serum is meant to provide heat protection, add a glossy look, hide split ends, and generally look healthier and softer. Even better, it contains no silicone and promises not to build up on your hair. Finally, it’s both vegan and gluten-free, and it smells great!

My Thoughts

I have never tried Swell products before, but I am always looking for products that protect, seal, and smooth my thirsty hair. In the humid Japan summers, my thin strands drink up the moisture in the air and my hair gets frizzy and loses its shine. In the dry winters, I get a lot of split ends and static, both of which stand out on my long, straight hair. I can’t wait to see how this stuff performs throughout the year.

Ingredients

The ingredient list includes grape seed oil, stinging nettle extract, sugar beet root extract, burdock/gobo root extract, argan oil, rooibos leaf extract, giant thorny bamboo leaf extract, marigold/calendula extract, olive oil, Himalayan cedar oil, bitter orange peel oil, mandarin orange peel oil, crambe seed oil, wild soybean oil, brazil nut protein, corn protein, echinacea oil, lemon-scented tea tree oil, tea tree/melaleuca oil, radish root, rice bran oil, rice bran starch, rose geranium flower oil, rosemary leaf oil, and turkey tail mushroom extract.

Allergies

  • The serum contains hydrolyzed brazil nut protein. Many people with peanut allergies are also allergic to brazil nuts, and brazil nuts are rare enough that they may not know.
  • The serum also contains:
    • soybean oil
    • rice bran
    • tea tree oil
    • corn

So peanut and soybean allergic ladies: use with caution!

If you have any other allergies, check the ingredient list above for a partial list of food and plant ingredients, and check the full ingredient list before you use.

Usage Notes

As a note of caution, many online reviews state that you shouldn’t use too much. You’ve been warned!

Retail Value

The MSRP of this mini serum is £13.50 (~$17.39). So if you missed the January 2019 Clean Beauty Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box or you did not receive this item in your box, you can purchase it in the following sizes:

Vitamasques, Marine Gold Dust Sheet Mask (1 sheet, 23 ml)

The next item in the January 2019 Clean Beauty Edition of my Lookfantastic Beauty Box is this Marine Gold Dust Sheet Mask from Vitamasques of London.

The brochure says that each box will contain one of the following sheet masks: Marine Gold Mask, Black Gold Mask, Diamond Gold Mask, or Rose Gold Mask. I actually received a product with a slightly different name: the Marine Gold Dust Sheet Mask. From the ingredient list, I think this is probably just the prior version of a product that has gone through a re-brand. However, I can’t guarantee that the formula hasn’t changed, and so I will review the product I received.

About

This cruelty-free, paraben-free mask is made in Korea and inspired by Korean skincare technology. Its featured ingredients include marine collagen and gold dust, which are supposed to have a plumping, lifting, firming, and hydrating effect on “mature skin.” LOL! I guess that’s what those young-uns say about us thirty-somethings.

Time required: 20 minutes

My Thoughts

I love sheet masks because they force me to slow down and rest. Because who doesn’t need a little me time? Also, the Japanese winter can really dehydrate my skin. So I can’t wait to try this mask!

Ingredients

This mask includes gold, marine collagen, Chinese tree peony root extract, centella extract, chamomile flower extract, castor oil, and açaí berry extract. This list is not complete, so if you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

In case you are vegan/vegetarian, the Vitamasques website notes that marine collagen is a vegan alternative to the standard collagen sources. Although some kinds of marine collagen come from red snapper scales, others come from seaweed. If this difference is important to you, you will need to contact Vitamasques, as the packaging does not specify the source or claim that the product is vegan.

Retail Value

The MSRP of this sheet mask is £5.99 (~$7.71). So if you missed the January 2019 Clean Beauty Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box or you’d like to try a different variety of the mask, you can get them here:

Bellápierre, Banana Setting Powder (4 g)

The next item in the January 2019 Clean Beauty Edition of my Lookfantastic Beauty Box is this full-sized Banana Setting Powder from Bellápierre Cosmetics.

Lookfantastic Beauty Box Subscription: January 2019 Bellápierre Banana Setting Powder (open)

About

This is a “color-correcting setting powder,” and the yellow hue is supposed to counteract redness and discoloration. “Banana” refers to the color, and this powder does not contain actual bananas.

My Thoughts

I have been experiencing a bit of liquid foundation creasing and weeping recently, despite my usual finishing regimen that uses the same brand’s “powdery foundation.” I can’t wait to see if this powder can earn a place in my makeup cabinet, and I’m excited to have a full-sized canister so that I can use it for a while before passing judgment.

Retail Value

The MSRP of this banana setting powder is $35. So if you missed the January 2019 Clean Beauty Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box or you did not receive this item in your box, you can purchase it from Amazon. As of the time of this posting, Lookfantastic itself did not carry this product.

First Aid Beauty, Hello FAB Coconut Skin Smoothie Priming Moisturizer (21.3 g)

The next item in the January 2019 Clean Beauty Edition of my Lookfantastic Beauty Box is a 21.3 g mini of First Aid Beauty’s Hello FAB Coconut Skin Smoothie Priming Moisturizer.

About

First Aid Beauty touts this product as a non-comedogenic “make-up gripping” 2-in-1 moisturizer. It can be worn alone or as a primer under your normal cosmetics, and it uses “light-reflecting Micro-Pearls” for a smoothing effect and “subtle, dewy luminosity.” What’s more, it is supposed to work for all skin types, including sensitive skin.

My Thoughts

This moisturizer is my favorite from this box, hands down. I have already tried it both alone and as a stand-alone moisturizer and primer under my normal base and foundation. When I wore it alone, my face stayed tight and baby-smooth all day long, without the normal oil factory that erupts on my forehead. I kept touching my face in disbelief, and each time it was as good as I had remembered.

My normal moisturizing regimen is an expensive set-up. It works pretty well for me, but this moisturizer was even better as a base for my face make-up. And it’s WAY cheaper than what I use now, so I have already ordered more! I may just have been converted to a FAB lover…

Ingredients

This moisturizer’s ingredients include coconut water and extract, resurrection moss extract, apricot extract, apple extract, Tahitian vanilla extract, hydrolyzed quinoa, coffee seed extract, tonka bean seed extract, green tea leaf extract, feverfew extract, licorice root extract, fermented radish root and lactobacillus ferment.

It also includes baker’s yeast ferments of copper, iron, magnesium, silicon, and zinc.

Allergies 

This moisturizer is touted as allergy-tested, gluten-free, nut-free, oil-free, soy-free, and vegan.

If you have any other allergies, check the ingredient list above for a partial list of food and plant ingredients, and check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

The MSRP of this mini moisturizer is $14. So if you missed the January 2019 Clean Beauty Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box or you did not receive this item in your box, you can purchase a full-sized tube (50 ml or 1.7 fl oz) from Lookfantastic or from Amazon. Even better, you can get it as part of this First Aid Beauty Priming Paradise Set!

Delivery Time

My January 2019 Clean Beauty Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box shipped on January 3, 2019, and it was delivered to me in Tokyo, Japan, on January 15, 2019.

  • Delivery time: 12 days
  • Average delivery time (as of January 2019): 12 days

Value & Verdict

My total monthly cost for this subscription is ~$16.75.

The total retail value of the items that I received in the January 2019 Clean Beauty Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box was as follows:

  • Dr. PAWPAW, Original Clear Balm (25 ml): £6.95 (~$8.95)
  • Popband, Active Hair Ties in Assorted Colors (Pack of 4): £8 (~$10.31)
  • Swell, Ultimate Protect and Renew Serum (30 ml): £13.50 (~$17.39)
  • Vitamasques, Marine Gold Dust Sheet Mask (1 sheet, 23 ml): £5.99 (~$7.71)
  • Bellápierre, Banana Setting Powder (4 g): $35
  • First Aid Beauty, Hello FAB Coconut Skin Smoothie Priming Moisturizer (21.3 g): $14
  • Elle magazine, January 2019 (UK Edition): £4.50 (~$5.79)

In sum, here’s how the January 2019 Clean Beauty Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box measures up:

  • Total retail value: $99.15
  • Total savings over retail: $82.40
  • Average price per item: $2.39

Overall, I think that I got absolutely incredible value with my haul from the January 2019 Clean Beauty Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box. Lookfantastic delivered on its promise to deliver at least £50 (~$64.35) of value with each Beauty Box. In fact, they beat their promise by $34.80, or $29.01 if you ignore the free copy of Elle magazine. Because shipping to Japan is free, this is one of the only boxes that delivers supercharged retail value even when you subscribe from abroad.

In addition to the retail savings, I was very satisfied with the haul itself from my January 2019 Beauty Box. I discovered a couple of items that I’ve already added to my everyday beauty routine, and the other items are also exciting and high-quality.

Coupons

If you love what you see, subscribe NOW to the monthly Lookfantastic Beauty Box. Plus, for a limited time, if you use code MYSTERYBB when you sign up for a subscription, you will receive a Mystery Beauty Box from 2018 worth £81 (>$100). This monthly box delivers amazing value and a steady diet of luxe beauty and skincare products.

And now is the perfect time to replenish your empties! If you shop Lookfantastic now and use coupon code LF20, you will get 20% off your order.

General Information

For general information about Lookfantastic Beauty Box, including subscription options, cost, shipping, tracking, packaging, charitable giving, and customer experience, see the Overview post.

Also, don’t forget to check out the rest of our monthly and special edition Lookfantastic Beauty Box reviews.

And if you are in the market for a fabulous subscription or gift box for women that offers global shipping, check out our round-up of the top 10 subscriptions for women who live abroad!

Give a Shout!

Let us know what you think of the January 2019 Clean Beauty Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box in the comments below. As always, we love hearing from you.

You may also like...

Popular Articles...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *