Lookfantastic Beauty Box Romance Edition February 2019 Haul on Tapletop Flatlay Vertical
Review Unboxing

Lookfantastic Beauty Box | February 2019: Romance Edition | Unboxing & Honest Review + COUPONS

The Lookfantastic Beauty Box is a UK-based luxury monthly beauty and skincare subscription service for women. Each box includes 6 deluxe or full-sized beauty products, including bath, skincare, and make-up, as well as a copy of Elle magazine. This is a review and unboxing of the February 2019 “Romance Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box.

Please visit our Affiliate Disclosure page for important information about affiliate links, free samples, and site commissions.

The Haul

I was more than a little excited to receive February 2019 Romance Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box. After all, January’s box was great and changed my beauty routine!

This month’s box was pink and contained 6 items, plus the UK edition of Elle magazine.

Elle Magazine UK February 2019

True to form, the inside of the box lid had a nice themed quote about love and romance:

Love is like the sunshine trickling through clouds on a rainy day, inescapable and ever-present.

As usual, the box also contained a 19-page glossy color informational pamphlet containing information and tips about the products included in the box, as well as 4 in-depth beauty articles. A couple of these articles featured items not contained in the box, like REN’s Flash Rinse 1 Minute Facial and MAC’s Lustre Lipstick in See Sheer.

The box also contains a copy of the February 2019 Elle magazine, UK edition.

Without further ado, here are the items that I received in my February 2019 Romance Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box:

  • Philip Kingsley, Maximizer (60 ml)
  • Sleek MakeUP, Face Form Palette in Light (20 g)
  • Lord&Berry, Maximatte Crayon Lipstick in Intimacy (1.8 g)
  • Doucce, Punk Volumizer Mascara (6 ml)
  • Emité, Rose Gold Eyelash Curler
  • Erno Laszlo, Sea Mud Deep Cleansing Bar (17 g)
  • Elle Magazine, February 2019 (UK Edition)

Lookfantastic Beauty Box Romance Edition February 2019 Haul on Tapletop Flatlay Vertical

Philip Kingsley, Maximizer (60 ml)

The first item in the February 2019 Romance Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box was a 60 ml spray bottle of Philip Kingsley’s Maximizer.

About

The Maximizer is a spritz-on treatment for fine, limp, and flyaway hair types. Spray onto damp hair and then blow dry to maximize volume, body, and bounce.

Philip Kingsley is a UK hair care brand devoted to hair and scalp health. The late namesake of the brand was a trichologist and celebrity hair expert who famously created a conditioning treatment for Audrey Hepburn. Fun fact: He coined the phrase “bad hair day.” Who knew?

My Thoughts

This styling product has a very clean and high-end aroma. I love that it comes in a spray bottle because it is frustrating to get sticky hands when fussing around with mousses. And it’s not an aerosol can, so it should be easy to take along in your travel kit.

Because the Tokyo humidity somehow leaves my fine hair both limp and frizzy at the same time, I am always looking for new volumizing products that have a smoothing effect. Applying multiple products tends to weigh my hair down more than I like. This stuff is very promising as a possible new addition to my hair routine.

Retail Value

Lookfantastic does not provide MSRP values for the items in the LF Beauty Box. According to our research, the retail value of this maximizer is approximately £13.99 (~18.47).

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Lookfantastic Beauty Box or you want to get more of this maximizer for yourself, you can order a full-sized bottle from Lookfantastic or from Amazon.

BONUS: If you order today from Lookfantastic, you can get a FREE Philip Kingsley Bundle of the Flaky/Itchy Scalp Shampoo, Daily Damage Defence and Maximizer 60ml worth £29.50 (~$38.94) when you spend £35 on Philip Kingsley.

Sleek MakeUP, Face Form Palette in Light (20 g)

The next item in the February 2019 Romance Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box was a Face Form Palette in the Light shade #373 from Sleek MakeUP.

About

This face form palette comes in a mirrored compact with three different shades: contour powder, highlighter, and shimmer blush. The compact looks “sleek” (get it?), and it’s made out of a heavy metal-like material.

Sleek MakeUP was founded in London in 1995, in response to darker skin tones being underrepresented in the market. True to form, this palette is available in tones from fair to dark. The “light” shade is the second lightest.

My Thoughts

My face is often puffy because of my chronic illnesses and medications, and I have begun to turn to contouring to keep me looking healthy and vibrant. I love that this palette includes all of the elements that are needed to do a basic contouring job, for busy days or days when I want a more natural look. Contouring is surprisingly easy and makes a big difference, so this is a great excuse to take the plunge if you’ve never tried it before.

Retail Value

Lookfantastic does not provide MSRP values for the items in the LF Beauty Box. According to our research, the retail value of this palette is approximately £9.99 (~$13.19).

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Lookfantastic Beauty Box or you want to get another palette for yourself, you can order one from Lookfantastic or Amazon in any of the following shades:

BONUS: If you order today from Lookfantastic, you can get a FREE Sleek MakeUP Highlighting Palette in Distorted Dreams 6g worth £10.99 (~$14.50) when you spend £15 on Sleek MakeUP.

Lord&Berry, Maximatte Crayon Lipstick in Intimacy (1.8 g)

The next item in the February 2019 Romance Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box was a Maximatte Crayon Lipstick from Lord&Berry in the Intimacy shade.

About

This matte lipstick pencil promises to deliver an intense, long-lasting color. Despite the matte formulation, the pencil soothes and softens, providing long-lasting color without the smudging and fading of a standard lipstick.

Lord&Berry is a Milan cosmetics brand.

My Thoughts

I am always wary of matte lipsticks, as my lips are as dry as the desert. But I was surprised at how smoothly this lipstick went on, and how much color it delivered. It is on the matte side, so it looks a tad dry on my lips, but it’s pretty subtle and I can get away with it. The shade itself is pretty close to my natural lip color, so it makes a good everyday lipstick.

Ingredients

The list above is not comprehensive. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

Lookfantastic does not provide MSRP values for the items in the LF Beauty Box. According to our research, the retail value of this lipstick crayon is approximately £14 (~$18.47).

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Lookfantastic Beauty Box or you want to get another lipstick crayon for yourself, you can order one from Lookfantastic or Amazon in any of the following shades:

Doucce, Punk Volumizer Mascara (6 ml)

The next item in the February 2019 Romance Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box was a Punk Volumizer Mascara from Doucce.

About

This volumizing and lash-defining black mascara is made in Germany and comes from New York cosmetics company Doucce.

My Thoughts

Lookfantastic must be reading my mind, because two of the six items in this box are lash-related, and my lashes are the most important part of my beauty routine. I look completely different with a good curl and a swipe of mascara, even if I’m otherwise bare-faced.

I normally prefer waterproof mascara, but I got great results with this mascara. It really separated and lifted my lashes, without noticeable clumping. I don’t think it’s really a “punk” look, but maybe that means my normal mascara game is a little aggressive? In any event, dramatic lashes are a good thing in my book, so cheers to this great stuff.

Retail Value

Lookfantastic does not provide MSRP values for the items in the LF Beauty Box. According to our research, the retail value of this mascara is approximately $13.50.

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Lookfantastic Beauty Box or you want to get some more of this mascara for yourself, you can order it from Lookfantastic (on sale now!) or from Amazon in a full-size or the same mini size that was in the box.

Emité, Rose Gold Eyelash Curler

The next item in the February 2019 Romance Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box was a Rose Gold Eyelash Curler from Emité.

Emité Rose Gold Eyelash Curler

About

This rose gold eyelash curler has an ergonomic design. The curve is designed to minimize smudging of your eye make-up. It even came with three refill pads, so I will be able to use it for a long time.

Emité is a Swedish maker of cruelty-free cosmetics and beauty tools.

My Thoughts

Wow, this curler feels very different than the one I normally use! It really is way more comfortable in the hand, and the curve doesn’t grab my eyelid nearly as readily as my current curler.

I do feel like I have to squeeze a little harder to produce a good curl. Because of this, the curl is a little more subtle than the one I usually get, and it doesn’t last very long before my lashes start to droop down. But it looks much more natural, so maybe I should try a few different curling angles before I write it off. With three refills, I should have plenty of time to decide if this curler will work for me.

Retail Value

Lookfantastic does not provide MSRP values for the items in the LF Beauty Box. According to our research, the retail value of this eyelash curler is approximately $25.

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Lookfantastic Beauty Box or you want to get another curler for yourself, you can get one directly from Emité Don’t forget to stock up on refill pads. Free worldwide shipping!

Erno Laszlo, Sea Mud Deep Cleansing Bar (17 g)

The next item in the February 2019 Romance Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box was a Sea Mud Deep Cleansing Bar from Erno Laszlo.

About

This daily soap is meant to exfoliate and detoxify and contains charcoal powder and real silt from the Dead Sea. Together, these hardworking ingredients draw out impurities and reduce pore size. It is meant to be the second step in a double cleansing routine that starts with cleansing oil to lift and remove make-up.

Erno Laszlo is a New York luxury skincare brand that has been featured in Lookfantastic’s boxes before. The Hungarian namesake founder was the father of modern dermatology and introduced the double cleansing concept. Like Philip Kingsley, Erno Laszlo made products that Audrey Hepburn used and adored.

My Thoughts

Somehow, this soap smells both good and muddy at the same time!

I use Shiseido cleansing oil and face wash in my own double cleansing routine, so I am interested to see the results when I switch my second step to this bar of soap. I really like the Shiseido cleansing oil, but I’m less of a fan of the cleansing milk, which seems to coat more than it cleanses.

Ingredients

The soap contains has been featured extract, as well as other ingredients. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

Lookfantastic does not provide MSRP values for the items in the LF Beauty Box. According to our research, the retail value of this soap is approximately $7.

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Lookfantastic Beauty Box or you want to get some more of this soap for yourself, you can order it from Lookfantastic or from Amazon. Better yet, grab a Detoxifying Double Cleanse Travel Set, which includes this soap along with the Detoxifying Cleansing Oil.

Delivery Time

My February 2019 Romance Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box shipped on February 6, 2019, and it was delivered to me in Tokyo, Japan, on February 22, 2019.

  • Delivery Time: 16 days
  • Average delivery time (as of February 2019): 14 days

Unlike the January box, this month’s box arrived after the estimated delivery window of Feb 12-20, and the delivery was 4 days slower. Perhaps winter weather was to blame?

Value & Verdict

My total monthly cost for this subscription is ~$16.75.

The total retail value of the items that I received in the February 2019 Romance Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box was as follows:

  • Philip Kingsley, Maximizer (60 ml): £13.99 (~$18.47)
  • Sleek MakeUP, Face Form Palette in Light (20 g): £9.99 (~$13.19)
  • Lord&Berry, Maximatte Crayon Lipstick in Intimacy (1.8 g): £14 (~$18.47)
  • Doucce, Punk Volumizer Mascara (6 ml): $13.50
  • Emité, Rose Gold Eyelash Curler: $25
  • Erno Laszlo, Sea Mud Deep Cleansing Bar (17 g): $7
  • Elle Magazine, February 2019 (UK Edition): £4.50 (~$5.93)

In sum, here’s how the February 2019 Romance Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box measures up:

  • Total retail value: $101.56
  • Total savings over retail: $59.90
  • Average price per item: $2.39

Overall, I think that I got excellent value with my haul from the February 2019 Romance Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box. Lookfantastic delivered on its promise to deliver at least £50 (~$65.90) of value with each Beauty Box. In fact, they beat their promise by $35.66, or $29.73 if you ignore the free copy of Elle magazine. Because shipping to Japan is free, this is one of the only boxes that delivers supercharged retail value even when you subscribe from abroad.

In addition to the retail savings, I was very satisfied with the haul itself from my February 2019 Lookfantastic Beauty Box. It was a bit heavier on cosmetics than normal, with 4 out of 6 products being either beauty tools or make-up, but everything was high-quality and fun to try.

Coupons

If you love what you see, subscribe NOW to the monthly Lookfantastic Beauty Box. Plus, for a limited time, if you use code MYSTERYBB when you sign up for a subscription, you will receive a Mystery Beauty Box from 2018 worth £81 (>$100). This monthly box delivers amazing value and a steady diet of luxe beauty and skincare products.

And now is the perfect time to replenish your empties! If you shop Lookfantastic now and use coupon code LF20, you will get 20% off your order.

General Information

For general information about Lookfantastic Beauty Box, including subscription options, cost, shipping, tracking, packaging, charitable giving, and customer experience, see the Overview post.

And don’t forget to check out the rest of our monthly and special edition Lookfantastic Beauty Box reviews.

And if you are in the market for a fabulous subscription or gift box for women that offers global shipping, check out our round-up of the top 10 subscriptions for women who live abroad!

Give a Shout!

Let us know what you think of the February 2019 Romance Edition of the Lookfantastic Beauty Box in the comments below. As always, we love hearing from you.

You may also like...

Popular Articles...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.