Bombay and Cedar March 2019 Haul Flatlay Three Rows Pamphlet
Review Unboxing

Bombay & Cedar Subscription | March 2019 | Unboxing & Honest Review + COUPON

This is a review and unboxing of the March 2019 “Blossom” edition of the Premium Bombay & Cedar subscription box.

Bombay & Cedar is a monthly variety subscription box for women, featuring exclusively cruelty-free & vegan aromatherapy, beauty, wellness, and lifestyle products and new essential oils in every box.

The subscription is available in two versions, Mini & Premium. The two versions share a brochure and the same core items, so this unboxing and review will cover both versions of the box.

Please visit our Affiliate Disclosure page for important information about affiliate links, free samples, and site commissions.

The Haul

The March 2019 edition of the Bombay & Cedar subscription contained either 7 items (Mini) or 10 items (Premium).

The theme for the March 2019 Bombay & Cedar box was “Blossom,” in recognition of the coming of springtime.

Bombay and Cedar March 2019 Open Lid

The box included a 10-page glossy brochure with high production value. It explained the items in the box and also had a spread on the featured brand: Deco Miami.

Bombay and Cedar March 2019 Pamphlet Blossom

As usual, my favorite part of the brochure was the mini article section at the end. I’m always excited to get a recipe that uses the essential oils. This month, there was a recipe for “Moisturizing Mosquito Repellent” using essential oils from the current box and the box from February 2019. What a great idea, and a nice reward for loyal subscribers!

There was also a cute little list of five ways to get ready for spring. We are doing some serious Konmari spring cleaning in our house, so this fits right into the mood in our home.

Without further ado, here are the items that I received in my “Blossom” March 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box:

  • Bombay & Cedar, Pure Essential Oil in Lemongrass (10 ml)
  • Bombay & Cedar, Pure Essential Oil in Blossom (10 ml)
  • Jackson’s Honest, Purple Heirloom Potato Chips (1.2 oz)
  • Real Chemistry, Floral Sun Shade Umbrella
  • Deco Miami, Creme Nail Polish in Venetian Isle (14.8 ml)
  • Deco Miami, Crystal Nail File in Purple
  • JaidenMadison, Natural Lip Creme in Scandalous (9 g)
  • PREMIUM ONLY: M.H. Clark (Compendium), Shine Book
  • PREMIUM ONLY: Touchland, Power Mist Moisturizing Hand Sanitizer in Lavender (38 ml)
  • PREMIUM ONLY: Happy Wax, Outlet Plug-in Wax Warmer in Herringbone & Soy Wax Melts in Lavender Chamomile (2 oz)

This month, Bombay & Cedar allowed Premium subscribers to select between the wax warmer and melts that I received and an Indoor Garden Kit worth $25 from ModSprout.

Bombay & Cedar, Pure Essential Oil in Lemongrass (10 ml)

The first item in the March 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a 10 ml vial of Bombay & Cedar’s own Lemongrass Essential Oil.

Bombay and Cedar March 2019 Essential Oils Lemongrass and Blossom with Info Cards

About

This bottle contains pure aromatherapy-grade lemongrass essential oil, which is grown around the world, predominantly in China, India, and Central America. It is said to relieve pain and prevent infection, and it blends well with the lavandin and tea tree oils that were included in prior boxes. The vial comes in a dropper style.

Bombay and Cedar March 2019 Lemongrass Pure Essential Oil

My Thoughts

I am starting to build up quite a collection of essential oils, and I was excited to receive this one in my box. I love the fruity and herbal aroma of lemongrass, and this one smells really rich and fresh. The mosquito repellent recipe in the pamphlet uses this oil and the lavandin oil from the February box.

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this essential oil is $12.

Stock Up

The only way to get your hands on Bombay & Cedar’s essential oils is to subscribe to one of their subscription boxes. Use promo code EXPAT10 for 10% off your subscription.

Bombay & Cedar, Pure Essential Oil in Blossom (10 ml)

The next item in the March 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a 10 ml vial of Bombay & Cedar’s own Blossom Essential Oil.

Bombay and Cedar March 2019 Blossom Essential Oil Blend

About

This bottle contains a pure aromatherapy-grade blend of lavender, ylang ylang, palmarosa, mandarin, and lemon essential oils. It is another citrusy aroma, but this time with floral notes. It is said to induce a calm feeling, allowing you to face the spring with peace and resolve. The vial comes in a dropper style.

My Thoughts

I love Bombay & Cedar’s original blends, and this one is no exception. It smells rich and powerful, and the floweriness and fruitiness both come through in a balanced way.

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this essential oil is $24.

Stock Up

The only way to get your hands on Bombay & Cedar’s essential oils is to subscribe to one of their subscription boxes. Use promo code EXPAT10 for 10% off your subscription.

Jackson’s Honest, Purple Heirloom Potato Chips (1.2 oz)

The next item in the March 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a 1.2 oz bag of Purple Heirloom Potato Chips from Jackson’s Honest.

Jackson's Honest Purple Heirloom Potato Chips Front of Package

About

These gluten-free, non-GMO chips are slow cooked in organic coconut oil, which preserves both the flavors and the health benefits of the coconut oil.

Jackson’s Honest is a Colorado-owned family business. A little boy named Jackson’s parents started the business after he developed an autoimmune illness that forced him to go on a strict diet.

My Thoughts

I love potato chips, and these were no exception! They are crispy and flavorful, with the perfect thickness.

Ingredients

These chips contain only purple heirloom potatoes, organic coconut oil, and sea salt. However, allergic people should know that they are made in a facility that handles dairy, soy, sesame, and flax seeds.

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of these potato chips is $1.29.

Stock Up

If you missed the March 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get some more of these potato chips for yourself, you can get them from Amazon.

Real Chemistry, Floral Sun Shade Umbrella

The next item in the March 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a Floral Sun Shade Umbrella from Real Chemistry.

Real Chemistry Floral Sun Shade Umbrella Pink

About

This sun shade umbrella is black on the outside and has a beautiful pink flower print on the inside, and it folds down into a compact and portable package.

Real Chemistry is a skincare brand, and this umbrella appears to be its only non-consumable product.

My Thoughts

It’s very difficult to keep cool in the humid Japanese summers, and so parasols have become a key part of my strategy for beating the heat. I love that this one has the design on the inside, where I can enjoy it, rather than just on the outside for others to see.

Ingredients

The list above is not comprehensive. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this umbrella is $12.

Stock Up

This umbrella does not seem to be available any longer. So if you missed the March 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box, you may be out of luck.

Deco Miami, Creme Nail Polish in Venetian Isle (14.8 ml)

The next item in the March 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a 14.8 ml bottle of Creme Nail Polish in Venetian Isle from Deco Miami.

Deco Miami Resort Collection Nail Lacquer Venetian Isle

About

This luxury-grade nail polish is from Deco Miami’s Resort Collection, which features Deco Miami’s colors in a special patented bottle. The formula is vegan and cruelty-free, and it is free of the Big 8 nasty ingredients.

Deco Miami is a brand that bills itself as responsive to the digital era and focused on millennials, including Insta-worthy packaging and on-trend colors.

My Thoughts

I love this pale, icy aqua shade. It is subtle enough to be worn in casual and formal settings, and it is fun but not too young for my 30-something taste. And it’s perfect for spring!

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this nail polish is $12.

Stock Up

If you missed the March 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get some more of this nail polish for yourself, you can get it from Amazon in Venetian Blue or any of the 33 other shades. You can also try one of their scented cuticle oils, like this Coconut one.

Deco Miami, Crystal Nail File in Purple

The next item in the March 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a + Crystal Nail File in Purple from Deco Miami.

Deco Miami Crystal Nail File Purple

About

This durable and washable nail file has a soft purple gradient, and it is translucent. There is a handy white velvet case to store the file after you clean it off.

My Thoughts

I had never used a crystal nail file before, but I really like this one. It works great, and it is much firmer than the flimsy disposable ones. And I like the purple gradient. It’s very stylish.

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this nail file is $8.50.

Stock Up

If you missed the March 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get another of these nail files for yourself, you can get them directly from Deco Miami.

JaidenMadison, Natural Lip Creme in Scandalous (9 g)

The next item in the March 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a 9 g tube of Natural Lip Creme in Scandalous from JaidenMadison.

JaidenMadison Natural Lip Creme Scandalous

About

This lip creme is sheer and can be worn alone or layered on top of another color. It is meant to condition your lips, with ingredients like cocoa butter and sweet almond oil. And the medical-grade lanolin is the same gentle ingredient that is used to soothe and hydrate cracked and sore nipples in newly breastfeeding mothers.

My Thoughts

This cruelty-free gloss goes on very smoothly, and I like the shimmer and shade. It hydrates well, and it is surprisingly non-sticky. It is non-GMO and free of preservatives, artificial fragrances, petrolatum, PEGs, mineral oil, sulfates, and gluten.

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this lip gloss is $20.

Stock Up

If you missed the March 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get some more of this lip gloss for yourself, you can get it directly from JaidenMadison.

PREMIUM ONLY: M.H. Clark, Shine Book

The next item in the March 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a book called “Shine” by M.H. Clark from Compendium.

Shine Book Compendium M.H. Walker

About

This sunny gift book is full of inspirational quotes and beautiful sunbursts and golden yellow colors, and it is meant to remind you to shine as your best self.

Shine Book Compendium M.H. Walker Sample Page

My Thoughts

I adore this beautiful book! It is probably my favorite item in the box. It’s delightful to flip through the gorgeous pages and read the warm messages of self love. I will keep this book within reach so that my children and guests can read and enjoy it as well.

I also love that Bombay & Cedar frequently includes books in the boxes. It really balances them out and pulls together the theme of the box, and of course, the bibliophile in me is always happy to receive a fabulous book to add to my library.

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this book is $14.95.

Stock Up

If you missed the March 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get another copy of this book for yourself, you can get it from Amazon.

PREMIUM ONLY: Touchland, Power Mist Moisturizing Hand Sanitizer in Lavender (38 ml)

The next item in the March 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a 38 ml bottle of Power Mist Moisturizing Hand Sanitizer in Lavender from Touchland.

Touchland Power Mist Moisturizing Hand Sanitizer Lavender

About

This lavender-scented hand sanitizer comes in a sleek canister and comes out as a mist. It is meant to upgrade the hand sanitizer experience, reimagining the things we take for granted, like the medicinal smell and drying effect.

My Thoughts

This stuff smells great, and it really did not dry out my hands like the sanitizers that I am used to. The case is sleek and on-trend, and although it’s big enough that I don’t really want to add it to the truckload of medical supplies that I am always carrying, I will definitely take it on trips.

Ingredients

This hand sanitizer contains aloe vera leaf juice, radish root ferment filtrate, lime seed oil, and lemon peel oil, among other ingredients. But this list is not comprehensive, so if you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this hand sanitizer is $11.95.

Stock Up

If you missed the March 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get some more of this hand sanitizer for yourself, you can get it directly from Touchland in any of 20 different scents.

PREMIUM ONLY: Happy Wax, Outlet Plug-in Wax Warmer in Herringbone & Soy Wax Melts in Lavender Chamomile (2 oz)

The final item in the March 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is an Outlet Plug-in Wax Warmer in Herringbone along with a bag of Soy Wax Melts in Lavender Chamomile, both from Happy Wax.

Happy Wax Outlet Plug-in Wax Warmer Herringbone in Box

About

This wax warmer plugs into a three-pronged outlet and has a no-scrape silicone melting dish.

Happy Wax Outlet Plug-in Wax Warmer Herringbone

The soy wax melts are scented, and they are designed to produce quicker and longer-lasting fragrance than the average candle. The bag provides more than 60 hours of burn time, and the melts can be mixed together to create unique aromatic blends.

Happy Wax Soy Melts Lavender Chamomile

My Thoughts

Three-pronged outlets are not in use in Japan, so this item is a bit of a challenge to use in my home. But I absolutely love the concept, and wow, the melts smell amazing! I am pretty motivated to find a stable converter that will allow me to use this as soon as possible.

And I love the pretty Herringbone pattern, which is somehow both cute and refined.

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the combined MSRP of this wax warmer and wax melts is $27.

Stock Up

If you missed the March 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get another wax warmer for yourself, you can grab one from Amazon in any of the following designs:

And if you’d like to stock up on soy melts, you can grab an 8-oz bag in any of the following mixes (or you can buy just a single aroma separately if you prefer).

Delivery Time

My “Blossom” March 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box shipped on March 23, 2019, and it was delivered to me in Tokyo, Japan, on April 3, 2019.

  • Delivery time: 8 days
  • Average delivery time (as of March 2019): 11 days

Value & Verdict

My total monthly cost for this Premium Bombay & Cedar subscription is $70.90. A Mini box would have cost $46.40.

The total retail value of the items in the box was as follows:

  • Bombay & Cedar, Pure Essential Oil in Lemongrass (10 ml): $12
  • Bombay & Cedar, Pure Essential Oil in Blossom (10 ml): $24
  • Jackson’s Honest, Purple Heirloom Potato Chips (1.2 oz): $1.29
  • Real Chemistry, Floral Sun Shade Umbrella: $12
  • Deco Miami, Creme Nail Polish in Venetian Isle (14.8 ml): $12
  • Deco Miami, Crystal Nail File in Purple: $8.50
  • JaidenMadison, Natural Lip Creme in Scandalous (9 g): $20
  • PREMIUM ONLY: M.H. Clark (Compendium), Shine Book: $14.95
  • PREMIUM ONLY: Touchland, Power Mist Moisturizing Hand Sanitizer in Lavender (38 ml): $11.95
  • PREMIUM ONLY: Happy Wax, Outlet Plug-in Wax Warmer in Herringbone & Soy Wax Melts in Lavender Chamomile (2 oz): $27

Bombay and Cedar March 2019 Haul Stacked Straight

Verdict: The $$$

In sum, here’s how the “Blossom” March 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box measures up:

  • Total retail value: $89.79 Mini / $143.69 Premium
  • Total savings over retail: $43.39 Mini (48%) / $72.79 Premium (51%)
  • Average price per item: $6.63 Mini / $7.09 Premium

The value of this month’s box was slightly lower than the last box, but nevertheless, this box always delivers great value! As usual, Bombay & Cedar beat the promised value of both versions of the box, the Mini by $29.79 (+50%) and the Premium by $43.69 (+44%). So even factoring in the cost of international shipping, this subscription is still a fabulous deal.

Verdict: The ★★★

Another reason that Bombay & Cedar is so great is that their themes are very thoughtfully chosen, and the boxes really feel like an experience.

The “Blossom” box had a very springy feel, with a great mix of beauty items to give me a pop of bright color. The sun shade umbrella will blend right in with the sea of parasols in the Japanese summer, and the wax melts and hand sanitizer provide some cheery refreshment for the mess of spring cleaning.

But more than anything else, I absolutely adored the book. I’m a book addict, and this one is pure indulgence, beauty, and inspiration. It’s the perfect homage to the warmth of the spring sun and the joy of emerging from the gray and cold winter.

Bombay and Cedar March 2019 Haul Flatlay Three Rows No Pamphlet

Coupon

Seriously, you don’t want to miss out on April’s box. Hurry and subscribe today because you have less than a week until the doors close on the next shipment! And don’t forget to use coupon code EXPAT10 for a 10% discount.

General Information

For general information about Bombay & Cedar, including subscription options, cost, shipping, tracking, packaging, charitable giving, and customer experience, see the Bombay & Cedar Overview post.

Also, you can click here to see our other Bombay & Cedar reviews.

Give a Shout!

Let us know what you think of the “Blossom” March 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box in the comments below. As always, we love hearing from you.

You may also like...

Popular Articles...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.