Bombay & Cedar January 2019 Haul on Table Upright
Review Unboxing

Bombay & Cedar Subscription | January 2019 | Unboxing & Honest Review + COUPON

This is a review and unboxing of the January 2019 “Cleanse” edition of the Premium Bombay & Cedar subscription box.

Bombay & Cedar is a monthly variety subscription box for women, featuring exclusively cruelty-free & vegan aromatherapy, beauty, wellness, and lifestyle products and a new essential oil in every box.

The subscription is available in two versions, Mini & Premium. The two versions share a brochure and the same core items, so this unboxing and review will cover both versions of the box.

Please visit our Affiliate Disclosure page for important information about affiliate links, free samples, and site commissions.

The Haul

The January 2019 edition of the Bombay & Cedar subscription contained either 7 items (Mini) or 11 items (Premium).

The theme for the January 2019 Bombay & Cedar box was “Cleanse,” in honor of the new beginnings offered by the month of January.

The box included a 10-page glossy brochure with high production value. It explained the items in the box and also had a spread on the featured brand Teapigs. My favorite part of the brochure was the mini article section at the end, which provided a 20-minute daily clean routine that I would love to put into action.

Without further ado, here are the items that I received in my “Cleanse” January 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box:

  • Bombay & Cedar, Cleanse Essential Oil Blend (10 ml)
  • Bombay & Cedar, Cleansing Tea Tree Essential Oil Blend (10 ml)
  • Iota, Roasted Sunflower Kernels in Classic with Pink Himalayan Salt (2.5 oz)
  • Green Air, Essential Oil Case (16 ct)
  • Mídflower, Biocellulose Peel Mask (15 ml)
  • Mídflower, Binchotan Clarify Black Mask (22 ml)
  • Teapigs, Cleanse Tea Temples in Green Tea with Coconut (15 ct)
  • PREMIUM ONLY: Two’s Company, Farm to Table Dish Towel Set in You Look Radishing
  • PREMIUM ONLY: Chronicle Books, Unplug Every Day: 365 Ways to Log Off & Live Better
  • PREMIUM ONLY: Tonic Australia, Eco-Sachets in Geo Black (3 x 30 g)
  • PREMIUM ONLY: Truce, Unscented Pure Organic Castile Hand Soap (12 fl oz)

Bombay & Cedar January 2019 Haul on Table Upright

Bombay & Cedar, Cleanse Essential Oil Blend (10 ml)

The first item in the January 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a 10 ml vial of Bombay & Cedar’s own Essential Oil Blend in Cleanse.

Bombay & Cedar Essential Oils Cleanse and Tea Tree with Pouch

About

This essential oil blend is formulated to provide fresh and uplifting energy, with oils of lemongrass, tea tree, lavender, citronella, and rosemary. The vial comes in a dropper style.

My Thoughts

This is my first experience with Bombay & Cedar’s essential oils, and I am really loving this aroma as well as the cute label and bottle. This blend is fresh and clean, both delicious and herbal at once. Lemongrass isn’t my favorite, but it’s balanced beautifully with the other ingredients and is not turning me off like it normally would. Great stuff!

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this essential oil is $16.

Stock Up

The only way to get your hands on Bombay & Cedar’s essential oils is to subscribe to one of their subscription boxes. Use coupon code EXPAT10 for 10% off a new subscription!

Bombay & Cedar, Pure Essential Oil in Cleansing Tea Tree (10 ml)

The next item in the January 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a 10 ml vial of Bombay & Cedar’s own Pure Essential Oil in Cleansing Tea Tree.

About

This bottle contains pure aromatherapy-grade Australian tea tree essential oil, which is a traditional Australian disinfectant and anti-fungal agent. The vial comes in a dropper style.

My Thoughts

This oil has a very powerful tea tree aroma, a bit less soothing and much more stimulating than the Cleanse blend. It really takes me back to my teenage years, when my mother first introduced me to tea tree oil in skincare. Crazy how scent memories can be so evocative, huh?

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this essential oil is $14.

Stock Up

The only way to get your hands on Bombay & Cedar’s essential oils is to subscribe to one of their subscription boxes. Use coupon code EXPAT10 for 10% off a new subscription!

Iota, Roasted Sunflower Kernels in Classic with Pink Himalayan Salt (2.5 oz)

The next item in the January 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a packet of roasted sunflower kernels from Iota in the Classic flavor with pink Himalayan salt.

Iota Sunflower Kernels Pouch Classic Pink Himalayan Salt

About

These artisanal sunflower seeds are gluten-free, vegan, non-GMO, and organic. The pouch contains 2.5 servings, and you can re-cap it for mess-free on-the-go snacking. The Classic flavor is salted with pink Himalayan salt.

Iota is a California-based snack company.

My Thoughts

I haven’t had sunflower seeds in ages because they are hard to find in Japan. But they are a superfood for me as a type 1 diabetic, because they have a low glycemic index and lots of fiber and protein.

These seeds did not disappoint! I loved the yummy salt, and the bottle-style cap is genius. I threw the half-empty bag in my purse to polish off when I’m feeling peckish on the go.

Allergic Warning

These seeds are made in a facility that processes peanuts, tree nuts, soy, wheat, milk, and egg. So…basically everyone with a food allergy should think twice before eating these seeds.

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of these sunflower seeds is $3.99.

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get some more of these yummy sunflower seeds for yourself, you can get them directly from Iota in the following flavors:

  • Classic (Himalayan Pink Salt)
  • Kettle
  • Umami

Unfortunately, they don’t ship to Japan.

Green Air, Essential Oil Case (16 ct)

The next item in the January 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is an essential oil carrying case from Green Air.

About

This zippered canvas case has a bright blue, green, and yellow Chevron pattern, and it holds 16 essential oil bottles in separate black cushioned compartments.

Green Air Essential Oil Case Chevron Zig-Zag Black Interior Pockets

My Thoughts

My essential oil collection has been growing, and I have been struggling to figure out where I should store all of those tiny bottles. So I am very pleased to have this new storage case, which seems very cushioned and protective. I also love the bold, zig-zag Chevron pattern.

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this case is $20.

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get another case for yourself, you can grab a black 16-bottle case from Amazon. You can also get a matching Chevron case for 10 bottles, for easy travel with your essential oils.

Mídflower, Biocellulose Peel Mask (15 ml)

The next item in the January 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a 15 ml Biocellulose Peel Mask from Mídflower.

About

This sheet mask is for aging skin, oily skin, large pores, and acne prone skin. Its only ingredient is rosa damascena flower water, which is known for rejuvenation and hydration. The biocellulose material binds to dead skin cells and lifts them from the face, which smooths the skin and reduces fine wrinkles.

This mask is cruelty-free and vegan.

Expiration date: September 18, 2019.

Time required: 60 minutes.

My Thoughts

I actually received the very same mask in my January 2019 TheraBox, so apologies for repeating myself. But for those who have not read the other article, I am very excited to try this sheet mask, which is all-natural and additive-free. I have never seen a peeling mask with only one ingredient. If it works, I will be seriously impressed!

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the combined MSRP of the two Mídflower masks is $20. We have assigned a value of $15 to this mask on a standalone basis, based on our research.

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get this mask for yourself, you can get it directly from Mídflower. You can also buy a 4-pack of Midflower masks, including both of the masks in this box, from Amazon.

Mídflower, Binchotan Clarify Black Mask (22 ml)

The next item in the January 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a 22 ml Binchotan Clarify Black Mask from Mídflower.

About

This sheet mask has a deep cleansing and detoxifying effect, using Bulgarian Melissa Water to penetrate deep into the pores and Japanese Binchotan Charcoal to restore balance to the skin with negative ions.

The mask is suitable for oily skin, make-up skin, and stressed skin.

Expiration date: September 20, 2020.

My Thoughts

I tend to abuse my facial skin with lots of cosmetics, so deep cleaning treatments are an important component of my skincare routine. I have had my eye on this mask for a while, so I am thrilled that it showed up in this box. May it wash away all of my skincare skins!

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the combined MSRP of the two Mídflower masks is $20. We have assigned a value of $5 to this mask on a standalone basis, based on our research.

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get this mask for yourself, you can get a 4-pack from Amazon. You can also buy a variety 4-pack of Midflower masks, including both of the masks in this box.

Teapigs, Cleanse Tea Temples in Green Tea with Coconut (15 ct)

The next item in the January 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a parcel of 15 Cleanse Tea Temples from Teapigs in Green Tea with Coconut.

About

This organic green tea coconut blend uses real, quality, whole tea leaves, herbs, and spices. It contains lemongrass, dandelion, and ginger to provide a revitalizing zing and provide a detox for your body. This blend won a Great Taste Award in 2017, and the mesh bag is biodegradable.

Teapigs is the featured brand of the month for Bombay & Cedar, so the brochure contains a two-page spread on the history and philosophy of the brand. It was started in 2006 by two tea company employees who wanted to bring attention to the high-quality teas that are often overlooked in favor of the bland, dusty tea bags that most people use.

Expiration date: September 24, 2021

My Thoughts

My box got a bit damaged during transit, but it did not affect the flavor of this yummy and soothing tea. We get a lot of great green tea here in Japan, but sometimes I need a blend of different aromas and flavors. This is where foreign tea blends really shine.

Ingredients

This blend contains lemongrass, ginger, green tea, licorice root, coconut pieces, dandelion root, lemon peel, marigold flowers, and natural flavors.

Allergic readers should note that the tea was made in a factory that handles nuts. The packaging doesn’t specify the nuts that are handled there, so it’s probably best to steer clear if you have any sort of tree nut or peanut allergy.

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this tea is $9.99.

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get some more of this tea for yourself, you can get it from Amazon. The other feel-good tea blends include:

PREMIUM ONLY: Two’s Company, Farm to Table Dish Towel Set in You Look Radishing

The next item in the January 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box (Premium version only) is a Farm to Table Dish Towel Set from Two’s Company.

About

This cute kitchen set includes a dish towel in the pattern, “You Look Radishing” and a white ceramic fruit crate.

The dish towel is 100% cotton and has an adorable print of a huge radish and a tiny bumblebee, along with the message, “You look radishing.” How cute is that?

The fruit crate is glazed for easy washability and has breathing holes in the sides to prevent mold and keep your berries fresh.

My Thoughts

I am a berry fiend, and berries can be quite pricey in Japan. I can’t wait to use this berry basket instead of just storing them in the unstable plastic grocery store containers. Anything I can use to prolong their freshness and fight the mold that plagues us in this humid climate is warmly welcomed!

And I love the dish towel. It is really thick and absorbent, and the size is generous. And the print is so fabulously adorable.

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this dish towel set is $20.

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get another set for yourself, you can grab one from Amazon in any of the following prints:

And if you love the prints, you can even go all in and grab a matching gift set with an apron and mason jar:

PREMIUM ONLY: Chronicle Books, Unplug Every Day: 365 Ways to Log Off & Live Better Journal

The next item in the January 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box (Premium version only) is a journal from Chronicle Books called Unplug Every Day: 365 Ways to Log Off & Live Better.

About

This hardcover journal has a ribbon bookmark and contains a different activity suggestion on each page, with a small section below the suggestion to record the completion date and reflect on the experience.

Sample suggestions include, “Roll down a grassy hill. Over and over again.” and “Go to a museum and sketch your favorite painting in a notebook.”

My Thoughts

I am a sucker for tracking journals, and especially so for tools that aim to improve my life and bring mindfulness to how I spend my time every day.

As an urbanite in the world’s largest metropolis, I think it will take me a while to get through the entire book. I think I might get a citation if I tried to open a lemonade stand on my block! But I’m excited to work on unplugging in this structured and game-ified way. (And maybe the relatives back home in the U.S. suburbs will entertain a lemonade stand day during our next visit.)

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this book set is $14.95.

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get a copy of this journal for yourself, you can grab one from Amazon.

PREMIUM ONLY: Tonic Australia, Eco-Sachets in Geo Black (3 x 30 g)

The next item in the January 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box (Premium version only) is a three-pack of eco sachets from Tonic Australia in Geo Black.

Tonic Australia Eco Sachets Black Geo Tied Up

About

These fragrant linen and cotton sachets contain lavender, rosemary, cloves & cinnamon chips. The ribbon loops make it easy to hang them in your closet to keep it smelling fresh and ward off insects. The sachets are supposed to last for years, and all they need is a gentle squeeze if the scent starts to fade.

Tonic Australia Eco Sachets Black Geo Stacked

My Thoughts

These scented sachets are so pretty, and they smell amazing, too! I have already added them to my closet and my two smelliest drawers, and I wish I had enough for every drawer.

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of these sachets is $20.

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get another set of these sachets for yourself, you can grab them directly from Tonic Australia.

PREMIUM ONLY: Truce, Unscented Pure Organic Castile Hand Soap (12 fl oz)

The final item in the January 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box (Premium version only) is a 12 fl oz pump bottle of Unscented Pure Organic Castile Hand Soap From Truce.

About

This cruelty-free, hypoallergenic soap is about as pure as it gets: no SLS, phthalates, phosphates, paragons, dyes, toxins, fragrances, or BPA. It contains coconut oil, olive oil, sunflower seed oil, aloe leaf juice, and shea butter.

According to the brochure, the box was originally supposed to contain a bottle of Tea Tree Liquid Soap from Opulent Blends worth $6. But the product arrived damaged, so Bombay & Cedar replaced it with the soap pictured here. They included a sweet apology card, and it even contained instructions for blending your own tea tree soap using their oil and this unscented soap.

My Thoughts

I am impressed with Bombay & Cedar’s response to the supply crisis, and it’s great that they replaced the missing soap with an item of even greater value. And what a fun idea: building your own soap blend!

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this soap is $9.95.

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get some more of this soap for yourself, you can grab it from Amazon in the following aromas:

Delivery Time

My “Cleanse” January 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box shipped on January 29, 2019, and it was delivered to me in Tokyo, Japan, on February 12, 2019.

  • Delivery time: 14 days
  • Average delivery time (as of January 2019): 14 days

Value & Verdict

My total monthly cost for this Premium Bombay & Cedar subscription is $70.90. A Mini box would have cost $46.40.

The total retail value of the items in the box was as follows:

  • Bombay & Cedar, Cleanse Essential Oil Blend (10 ml): $16
  • Bombay & Cedar, Cleansing Tea Tree Essential Oil Blend (10 ml): $14
  • Iota, Roasted Sunflower Kernels in Classic with Pink Himalayan Salt (2.5 oz): $3.99
  • Green Air, Essential Oil Case (16 ct): $20
  • Mídflower, Biocellulose Peel Mask (15 ml): $15
  • Mídflower, Binchotan Clarify Black Mask (22 ml): $5
  • Teapigs, Cleanse Tea Temples in Green Tea with Coconut (15 ct): $9.99
  • PREMIUM ONLY: Two’s Company, Farm to Table Dish Towel Set in You Look Radishing: $20
  • PREMIUM ONLY: Chronicle Books, Unplug Every Day: 365 Ways to Log Off & Live Better: $14.95
  • PREMIUM ONLY: Tonic Australia, Eco-Sachets in Geo Black (3 x 30 g): $20
  • PREMIUM ONLY: Truce, Unscented Pure Organic Castile Hand Soap (12 fl oz): $9.95

Monetary Value

In sum, here’s how the “Cleanse” January 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box measures up:

  • Total retail value: $83.98 Mini / $148.88 Premium
  • Total savings over retail: $37.58 Mini (45%) / $77.98 Premium (52%)
  • Average price per item: $6.63 Mini / $6.45 Premium

Overall, the value from this box is pretty great. Using the listed values from the brochure, Bombay & Cedar beat the promised value of both versions of the box, the Mini by $23.98 and the Premium by $48.88. So even factoring in the cost of international shipping, this subscription really provided some great savings on a bunch of wonderful items.

Quality

The “Cleanse” box really did a great job tying in the products with its theme. Both essential oils had a cleansing feel, and the items for the home were all about organizing and rejuvenating your space. And of course, the book and self-care items focused on cleansing and renewing your body and mind.

This was my first Bombay & Cedar box, and I really loved the items I received. I can’t wait to see what’s in store for future months!

Coupon

Do you love what you see here? Subscribe today with code EXPAT10 to get 10% off any Bombay & Cedar subscription!

General Information

For general information about Bombay & Cedar, including subscription options, cost, shipping, tracking, packaging, charitable giving, and customer experience, see the Bombay & Cedar Overview post.

Also, don’t forget to check out the rest of our monthly Bombay & Cedar reviews.

And if you are in the market for a fabulous subscription or gift box for women that offers global shipping, check out our round-up of the top 10 subscriptions for women who live abroad!

Give a Shout!

Let us know what you think of the “Cleanse” January 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box in the comments below. As always, we love hearing from you.

You may also like...

Popular Articles...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.