Review Unboxing

Bombay & Cedar Subscription | February 2019 | Unboxing & Honest Review + COUPON

This is a review and unboxing of the February 2019 “Indulge” edition of the Premium Bombay & Cedar subscription box.

Bombay & Cedar is a monthly variety subscription box for women, featuring exclusively cruelty-free & vegan aromatherapy, beauty, wellness, and lifestyle products and new essential oils in every box.

The subscription is available in two versions, Mini & Premium. The two versions share a brochure and the same core items, so this unboxing and review will cover both versions of the box.

Bombay & Cedar February 2019 Packaging Shipping Box
The box arrived with a superficial gash. No damage to the contents, just to the photogenicity!

Please visit our Affiliate Disclosure page for important information about affiliate links, free samples, and site commissions.

The Haul

The February 2019 edition of the Bombay & Cedar subscription contained either 6 items (Mini) or 10 items (Premium).

The theme for the February 2019 Bombay & Cedar box was “Indulge,” in order to encourage you to take a bit of time for yourself in the midst of nearly endless demands on your time and attention.

Brochure

The box included a 10-page glossy brochure with high production value. It explained the items in the box and also had a spread on the featured brand Marrakesh by Earthly Body.

My favorite part of the brochure was the mini article section at the end. It included two recipes, one for a “Revive Essential Oil Blend” using essential oils from the current box and the box from December 2018. What a great idea, and a nice reward for loyal subscribers!

The other recipe was for a “Chilled Chocolate Indulgence” using items from the box. I love boxes that provide some guidance on the items that they contain. It really makes you feel pampered and helps you understand how to get the most out of your items.

Packaging

I also like that the color of the packaging is modified to fit the theme, and the message on the inside of the box lid changes from month to month as well. It really enhances the experience!

Bombay & Cedar February 2019 Packaging Open Box Inside of Box Lid

Items

Without further ado, here are the items that I received in my “Indulge” February 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box:

  • Bombay & Cedar, Pure Essential Oil in Lavandin (10 ml)
  • Bombay & Cedar, Pure Essential Oil in Bergamot (10 ml)
  • Nib Mor, Traditional Drinking Chocolate (30 g)
  • Elly Preston, Peace Necklace (EP#1166b)
  • Marrakesh, Kahm Smoothing Hair Treatment in Original Scent (60 ml)
  • Esther Blum, Eat, Drink, and be Gorgeous Book
  • PREMIUM ONLY: KITSCH, Microfiber Hair Wrap in Palm Print
  • PREMIUM ONLY: Viski, Copper-Plated Modern Moscow Mule Mug
  • PREMIUM ONLY: Minute Mixology, Moscow Mule Packets (8 count)
  • PREMIUM ONLY: Kaneli, Facial Beauty Drops in Bergamot + Neroli (30 ml)

Bombay & Cedar, Pure Essential Oil in Lavandin (10 ml)

The first item in the February 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a 10 ml vial of Bombay & Cedar’s own Lavandin Essential Oil.

About

This bottle contains pure aromatherapy-grade lavandin essential oil, which is grown in Southern France and other parts of Europe. Lavandin, also known as “Dutch Lavender,” is meant to boost self-confidence and mental strength, lifting your spirits in the process. The vial comes in a dropper style.

My Thoughts

I’m always excited to see what my new essential oils will be, and I love that this subscription box consistently delivers two new essential oils every month. The lavandin oil has a powerfully aromatic and herbal feel, and it’s a great addition to my collection.

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this essential oil is $16.

Stock Up

The only way to get your hands on Bombay & Cedar’s essential oils is to subscribe to one of their subscription boxes. Use promo code EXPAT10 for 10% off your subscription.

Bombay & Cedar, Pure Essential Oil in Bergamot (10 ml)

The first item in the February 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a 10 ml vial of Bombay & Cedar’s own Bergamot Essential Oil.

About

This bottle contains pure aromatherapy-grade bergamot essential oil, which is meant to alleviate stress and anxiety. Bergamot is native to Southern Italy. The vial comes in a dropper style.

My Thoughts

Bergamot has a zesty and clean aroma, balancing out the more aromatic notes of the lavandin oil. I love citrusy and fruity oils, and bergamot is one of the most luxurious and indulgent scents that you can find. So pumped to have received this one!

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this essential oil is $19.

Stock Up

The only way to get your hands on Bombay & Cedar’s essential oils is to subscribe to one of their subscription boxes. Use discount code EXPAT10 for 10% off your subscription.

Nib Mor, Traditional Drinking Chocolate (30 g)

The next item in the February 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a single-serving packet (30 g) of Traditional Drinking Chocolate from Nib Mor.

About

This non-GMO drinking chocolate is organic, ethically traded, and fair trade certified. Nib Mor recommends mixing it with 1 cup of coconut milk for an especially rich taste.

My Thoughts

I think this mix is a very sweet idea, and it’s both indulgent and simple as pie to make.

For me personally, as a type 1 diabetic, I don’t feel great about the 27 g of sugar in one serving. I might try splitting the packet into two servings, even at the cost of a bit of the depth of flavor, so that I don’t have to miss out altogether. Or maybe I’ll donate it to my kiddos!

Allergic Warning

This chocolate mix contains sugar (coconut palm and cane), cacao powder, and sea salt. However, note that it was created in a facility that handles milk and soy.

This chocolate mixer is gluten-free, so you can safely indulge if you are wheat-allergic or gluten-sensitive.

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this drinking chocolate is $1.50.

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get some more of this drinking chocolate for yourself, you can get it in a bunch of yummy flavors (6 packs) from Amazon. Drink up:

Nib Mor also makes snacking chocolates in flavors that are absolutely mouth-watering. So if you are a chocolate addict like me, you can grab these now and thank me later (all organic, yay!):

Elly Preston, Peace Necklace (EP#1166b)

The next item in the February 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a Peace Necklace (EP#1166b) from Elly Preston.

Elly Preston Peace Necklace Semi-Precious Gemstone Necklace

About

This long necklace has a brassy gold chain that is sectioned with tiny rings. The chain comes together in the center of the breastbone, and a single pendant extends down the center of the chest. The pendant has a section of sweet purple and brown beads at the top and a feather charm at the bottom.

The necklace is part of Elly Preston’s Clarity Collection. Elly Preston is a Connecticut-based designer who opened shop in 2009.

My Thoughts

My jewelry collection is a little bit weak sauce, so I was excited to receive this necklace in the box. It’s on the casual side and very simple, with a kind of bohemian feel. It would make a great everyday necklace!

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this necklace is $19.

Stock Up

We were not able to find this specific necklace available for sale online and Elly Preston’s website seems to have disappeared, so it’s not clear if her shop is still in business. If you missed the February 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box, you can check out the Elly Preston pieces on offer at reseller Poshmark.

Marrakesh, Kahm Smoothing Hair Treatment in Original Scent (60 ml)

The next item in the February 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a 60 ml bottle of Kahm Smoothing Hair Treatment in Original Scent by Marrakesh.

About

This vegan smoothing treatment works on both straight and curly hair, and it uses argan oil and non-THC hemp seed oil to control frizz and seal out humidity. It is made in the USA and is free of parabens, dyes, and propylene glycol.

The argan oil is sustainable and comes exclusively from woman-led coops in Morocco.

The Marrakesh line is a product of Earthly Body, the featured brand of the month for Bombay & Cedar. Their mission is to deliver high-end natural beauty products that are organic, vegan, non-toxic, and cruelty-free.

My Thoughts

Wow, this treatment smells really rich and delicious. I am always on the lookout for humidity-proofing hair products, especially those that nourish and strengthen the hair and are free of harsh chemicals. So excited to try it out!

Ingredients

In addition to the argan and hemp seed oils, this treatment contains wheat and soy amino acids.

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this hair treatment is $21.

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get some more of this hair treatment for yourself, you can get another bottle from Amazon. Even better, you can pick up the entire smoothing system, which includes this treatment and a smoothing shampoo and conditioner set.

Esther Blum, Eat, Drink, and be Gorgeous Book

The next item in the February 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a hardcover copy of Esther Blum’s book: Eat, Drink, and Be Gorgeous: A Nutritionist’s Guide to Living Well While Living It Up.

About

Esther Blum is a registered dietician and certified nutritionist, and she wrote this book to help women live a fabulous and gorgeous life full of pleasure and indulgence, but without damaging their bodies. She believes it really is possible, and she shows you how, step-by-step and with tons of specific recipes, ingredient explanations, and discussion of specific health challenges and their nutritional links.

My Thoughts

I’m a bookworm and book collector, so I love receiving books like this in my boxes!

The book is full of actionable advice, and Blum has struck a good balance between permissive, non-judgmental comfort that you might get from a best friend and tough love truth bombs that you would expect from a prescriptive doctor. For example, she says you should absolutely prioritize pleasure over nutrition, but at the same time, you should probably wean yourself off of coffee and drink green tea instead.

This is a book that I will turn to again and again.

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this book is $22.95.

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get another copy of this book for yourself, you can get it from Amazon.

PREMIUM ONLY: KITSCH, Microfiber Hair Wrap in Palm Print

The next item in the February 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a Microfiber Hair Wrap in a Palm Print from KITSCH.

KITSCH Microfiber Hair Wrap Palm Print Fabric Detail and Tag
Here’s a closer look at the fabric and the tag. The typesetting for the brand is really pretty!

About

This microfiber towel reduces drying time with its super absorbent material, and it comes in a zipping travel bag for on-the-go storage.

KITSCH is a self-financed, female-owned global accessory brand established in 2010. They reinvent everyday objects to create elevated products that are effortless, elevated, and easy to use.

My Thoughts

I am a huge fan of hair wraps, but the one that I own is a plain pink. I love the splashy palm print and the fun, velvety texture on the outside.

This design is a lot roomier than others I have seen, so it really should accommodate almost anyone’s hair, no matter how long and voluminous. And it’s much more comfortable because it runs a bit looser, which make me think it will be bit gentler on my heat-damaged strands.

I am so pumped to have received this hair wrap!

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this hair wrap is $23.

Stock Up

This hair wrap comes in a bunch of colors! So if you missed the February 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get another hair wrap for yourself, you can get it from Amazon in any of the following colors:

And if you want to go all in one some pampering and get a matching set, you can also pick up one of these microfiber hair bands, also from KITSCH, in a matching print. This looks like the best thing I never knew I needed: a hair tie and headband in one, to tame your hair during your skincare routine, masking, etc.

PREMIUM ONLY: Viski, Copper-Plated Modern Moscow Mule Mug

The next item in the February 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a Copper-Plated Modern Moscow Mule Mug from Viski.

About

This mug is made from stainless steel with a copper overlay, and it has a smooth rectangular handle.

A Moscow mule is a refreshing cocktail made of vodka, ginger, lime, and mint. It is traditionally served in a copper mug, which stays cool to the touch.

My Thoughts

I love this pretty and sleek mug, and I am salivating over the idea of a cool drink to refresh me during the upcoming summer heat in Tokyo. It’s just the kind of thing that I would never buy for myself, which makes it perfect for a box about indulgence.

Although it smelled a bit oily when I first opened the box, the smell has since dissipated. The copper-plating was a little sloppy in a few spots, but overall the mug looks great and I can’t wait to try it out.

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this mug is $29.99.

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get another copper mug for yourself, you can get it from Amazon.

PREMIUM ONLY: Minute Mixology, Moscow Mule Packets (8 count)

The next item in the February 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is an 8-pack of cocktail mixer packets in Moscow Mule from Minute Mixology.

About

These single-serve cocktail mixer packets bring the lime, ginger, and ginger beer flavors to the Moscow Mule, so all you need to get the flavors rolling is a shot of vodka and some soda water. The packets contain real ginger, as well as booth stevia and sugar for sweetening.

Expiration date: October 11, 2021

My Thoughts

I love that the packets make it much easier to mix up a cocktail for one, so that I can indulge by myself if I so please! And the fuss-free nature of the packets removes the labor and leaves the flavor.

There are only 15 g of carbs in this mixer, and because it is paired with unsweetened soda water, it is a wonderful drink option for a type 1 diabetic like me.

Ingredients

The packets contain sugar, citric acid, maltodextrin, ginger, natural flavors, modified food starch, and stevia extract. They are allergen- and gluten-free, Kosher, and non-GMO.

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of these cocktail mixer packets is $6.99.

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you have already run out of these cocktail mixer packets (no judgment here!), you can get replenish your stock at Amazon. Plus, they have a bunch of other fun varieties, so bottoms up:

You can also go bigger with aFiesta Pack that includes Margarita, Michelada, and Spicy Margarita.

PREMIUM ONLY: Kaneli, Facial Beauty Drops in Bergamot + Neroli (30 ml)

The next item in the February 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is 1 30 ml bottle of Facial Beauty Drops in Bergamot + Neroli from Kaneli.

Kaneli Facial Oil Beauty Drops Bergamot Neroli with Box

About

This vegan and cruelty-free facial oil hydrates, brightens, and firms. It can be mixed with your liquid foundation or applied directly after cleansing.

My Thoughts

The fragrance reminds me of an upscale spa, and I love the heavy-hitting and ultra-nourishing ingredient list. The dabber is beautiful and ensures that you won’t use an excessive amount of product. I will definitely be adding this oil to my morning beauty routine.

Ingredients

This facial oil contains jojoba refined oil, hemp seed oil, squalene, pomegranate seed oil, Vitamins C & E, Collageneer, avocado refined oil, rosehip seed oil, rose geranium essential oil, neroli essential oil, and bergamot essential oil. Nothing more, nothing less!

Kaneli Facial Oil Beauty Drops Bergamot Neroli Box Ingredients

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of these beauty drops is $39.

Stock Up

Kaneli’s website is down, pending a temporary relaunch, and we were not able to find any other outlets carrying Kaneli products. So if you missed the February 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box, you might have to sit tight until they come back online.

Delivery Time

My “Indulge” February 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box shipped on February 20, 2019, and it was delivered to me in Tokyo, Japan, on March 1, 2019.

  • Delivery time: 9 days
  • Average delivery time (as of February 2019): 12 days

Value & Verdict

My total monthly cost for this Premium Bombay & Cedar subscription is $70.90. A Mini box would have cost $46.40.

The total retail value of the items in the box was as follows:

  • Bombay & Cedar, Pure Essential Oil in Lavandin (10 ml): $16
  • Bombay & Cedar, Pure Essential Oil in Bergamot (10 ml): $19
  • Nib Mor, Traditional Drinking Chocolate (30 g): $1.50
  • Elly Preston, Peace Necklace (EP#1166b): $19
  • Marrakesh, Kahm Smoothing Hair Treatment in Original Scent (60 ml): $21
  • Esther Blum, Eat, Drink, and be Gorgeous Book: $22.95
  • PREMIUM ONLY: KITSCH, Microfiber Hair Wrap in Palm Print: $23
  • PREMIUM ONLY: Viski, Copper-Plated Modern Moscow Mule Mug: $29.99
  • PREMIUM ONLY: Minute Mixology, Moscow Mule Packets (8 count): $6.99
  • PREMIUM ONLY: Kaneli, Facial Beauty Drops in Bergamot + Neroli (30 ml): $39

Bombay & Cedar February 2019 Haul Upright

Monetary Value

In sum, here’s how the “Indulge” February 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box measures up:

  • Total retail value: $99.45 Mini / $198.43 Premium
  • Total savings over retail: $53.05 Mini (53%) / $127.53 Premium (64%)
  • Average price per item: $7.73 Mini / $7.09 Premium

This box always delivers great value, but this month was especially outstanding! And even better, using the listed values from the brochure, Bombay & Cedar beat the promised value of both versions of the box, the Mini by $39.45 (+66%) and the Premium by $98.43 (+98%). Wow! So even factoring in the cost of international shipping, this subscription is a no-brainer.

Quality

Another reason that Bombay & Cedar is so great is that their themes are very thoughtfully chosen, and the boxes really feel like an experience.

As usual, the “Indulge” box really did a great job tying in the products with its theme. The hair wrap, hair treatment, beauty drops, and pretty necklace had a tropical spa feel.

The yummy drinks and mug were also about savoring the moment while sipping on a sweet treat. There’s almost no bad mood that can’t be lifted by either chocolate or alcohol!

And the book delivered a bunch of priceless tips on enjoying an indulgent life and taking care of your body at the same time. Double win!

This was my second Bombay & Cedar box, and I have adored both boxes. I can’t wait to see what’s in store for future months!

Coupon

Seriously, you don’t want to miss out on March’s box. Hurry and subscribe today because you only have about 24 hours until the doors close on the next shipment! And don’t forget to use coupon code EXPAT10 for a 10% discount.

General Information

For general information about Bombay & Cedar, including subscription options, cost, shipping, tracking, packaging, charitable giving, and customer experience, see the Bombay & Cedar Overview post.

Also, don’t forget to check out the rest of our monthly Bombay & Cedar reviews.

And if you are in the market for a fabulous subscription or gift box for women that offers global shipping, check out our round-up of the top 10 subscriptions for women who live abroad!

Give a Shout!

Let us know what you think of the “Indulge” February 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box in the comments below. As always, we love hearing from you.

You may also like...

Popular Articles...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.