Bombay and Cedar April 2019 Haul Flatlay
Review Unboxing

Bombay & Cedar Subscription | April 2019 | Unboxing & Honest Review + COUPON

This is a review and unboxing of the April 2019 “Green” edition of the Premium Bombay & Cedar subscription box.

Bombay and Cedar April 2019 Box

Bombay & Cedar is a monthly variety subscription box for women, featuring exclusively cruelty-free & vegan aromatherapy, beauty, wellness, and lifestyle products and new essential oils in every box.

The subscription is available in two versions, Mini & Premium. Bombay & Cedar promises a value of at least $60 for the Mini and $100 for the Premium box. The two versions share a brochure and the same core items, so this unboxing and review will cover both versions of the box.

Please visit our Affiliate Disclosure page for important information about affiliate links, free samples, and site commissions.

The Haul

The April 2019 edition of the Bombay & Cedar subscription contained either 7 items (Mini) or 10 items (Premium).

The theme for the April 2019 Bombay & Cedar box was “Green,” in order to shine the light on sustainable choices in consumption.

The box included a 10-page glossy brochure with high production value. It explained the items in the box and also had a spread on the featured brand: Casa Amarosa.

As usual, my favorite part of the brochure was the mini article section at the end. It included a recipe for “DIY Soothing Body Gel” using essential oils from the current box and the box from February 2019. What a great idea, and a nice reward for loyal subscribers!

Without further ado, here are the items that I received in my “Green” April 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box:

  • Bombay & Cedar, Pure Essential Oil in Purifying Carrot Seed (10 ml)
  • Bombay & Cedar, Pure Essential Oil in Decongesting Eucalyptus (10 ml)
  • Enlightened, Bada Bean Bada Boom Crunchy Broad Beans in Cocoa-Dusted (1 oz)
  • Canvas, Lorelei Latch Bangle Bracelet in Ivory Raffia
  • Earthly Body, Hemp Seed 3-in-1 Massage Candle in Isle Of You (6 oz)
  • BKIND Products, Konjac Facial Sponge in Green Clay
  • Save One Straw, Reusable Silicone Angled Drinking Straw in Magenta
  • PREMIUM ONLY: Casa Amarosa, Cotton Foldover Clutch in Black Diamond
  • PREMIUM ONLY: Myro, Deodorant Kit in Flame + Solar Flare (65 g)
  • PREMIUM ONLY: Fringe Studio, Decorative Stoneware Tray in Pause

Bombay & Cedar, Pure Essential Oil in Purifying Carrot Seed (10 ml)

The first item in the April 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a 10 ml vial of Bombay & Cedar’s own Purifying Carrot Seed Essential Oil.

About

This bottle contains pure aromatherapy-grade carrot seed essential oil, which is derived from the European wild carrot plant. This oil has a detoxifying effect, and it is used to stimulate skin cell growth and prevent UV damage. The vial comes in a dropper style.

My Thoughts

I’m always excited to see what my new essential oils will be, and I love that this subscription box consistently delivers two new essential oils every month. The carrot really comes through in the aroma profile, but the mixture smells earthy and spicy as well. It’s not my favorite stand-alone aroma, but I think it could lend some depth to a bergamot, citrus, or floral blend.

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this essential oil is $19.

Stock Up

The only way to get your hands on Bombay & Cedar’s essential oils is to subscribe to one of their subscription boxes. Use promo code EXPAT10 for 10% off your subscription.

Bombay & Cedar, Pure Essential Oil in Decongesting Eucalyptus (10 ml)

The next item in the April 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a 10 ml vial of Bombay & Cedar’s own Decongesting Eucalyptus Essential Oil.

About

This bottle contains pure aromatherapy-grade eucalyptus essential oil, which can be added to steam rooms to clear the lungs. It is not safe for internal use. The vial comes in a dropper style.

My Thoughts

Eucalyptus oil has a powerful and distinctive aroma, and it’s a real oily workhorse. I am so pleased to have this in my collection of Bombay & Cedar oils.

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this essential oil is $12.

Stock Up

The only way to get your hands on Bombay & Cedar’s essential oils is to subscribe to one of their subscription boxes. Use promo code EXPAT10 for 10% off your subscription.

Enlightened, Bada Bean Bada Boom Crunchy Broad Beans in Cocoa-Dusted (1 oz)

The next item in the April 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a 1 oz bag of Bada Bean Bada Boom Crunchy Broad Beans in Cocoa-Dusted from Enlightened.

About

These vegan, non-GMO, soy- and gluten-free bean snacks are made from roasted java beans, ands this little pack contains just 100 calories.

Enlightened Bean Snacks was created after the founder encountered roasted broad beans in Thailand and realized that American consumers would love their delicious and healthy flavors.

Expiration date: January 10, 2020.

My Thoughts

Non-potato, gluten-free snacks are especially wonderful for me as a type 1 diabetic, and so I am excited to get to sample these unique snacks in this box. I love receiving snacks in my subscription boxes because it is difficult to stay up on the latest treats when you are living abroad. And most importantly, these beans really are delicious! The cocoa flavor is pretty subtle, so the flavor of the beans themselves really comes through.

Ingredients

These snacks contain broad beans (fava beans), sunflower oil, rice flour, cocoa, cane sugar, sea salt, and stevia. They were made in a facility that processes peanuts and tree nuts, so nut-allergic snackers should exercise caution.

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of these broad bean chips is $1.39.

Stock Up

If you missed the April 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get some more of these bean chips for yourself, you can get them from Amazon in the following flavors:

The Sweet Cinnamon snacks look delicious, so I think I will try those next!

Canvas, Lorelei Latch Bangle Bracelet in Ivory Raffia

The next item in the April 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a Lorelei Latch Bangle Bracelet in Ivory Raffia from Canvas.

Canvas Lorelei Latch Bangle Bracelet in Ivory Raffia

About

This bracelet is made from sustainable materials and measures 2.5 inches in diameter.

My Thoughts

I love bracelets, and this one combines bohemian and classic for a look that I really like. It is a tad large, which means that the charm doesn’t always stay in the right spot, but my wrists are unusually tiny. I will definitely add this to my growing accessory collection!

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this bracelet is $20.

Stock Up

If you missed the April 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get another of these bracelets for yourself, you can grab one from Keaton Place.

Earthly Body, Hemp Seed 3-in-1 Massage Candle in Isle Of You (6 oz)

The next item in the April 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a 6 oz jar of Hemp Seed 3-in-1 Massage Candle in Isle Of You from Earthly Body.

About

This unique candle melts down into massage oil that can also be used as a moisturizer. It is vegan and cruelty-free, and it also contains no phthalates, parabens, or THC.

Earthly Body was the featured brand of the month for Bombay & Cedar in February 2019. Their mission is to deliver high-end natural beauty products that are organic, vegan, non-toxic, and cruelty-free.

My Thoughts

Wow, this candle smells heavenly! I love that it is somehow both erotic and pampering because self-care can seem so solitary at times. I cannot wait to add this to the bedroom “routine” and spice things up. wink wink

Ingredients

This candle contains vegetable oil, soybean oil, hemp seed oil, apricot kernel oil, avocado oil, Vitamin E, jojoba seed oil, and coconut oil, among other ingredients. This list is not comprehensive. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this massage candle is $15.99.

Stock Up

If you missed the April 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get some more of this massage candle for yourself, you can get it from Amazon in any of the following aromas:

BKIND Products, Konjac Facial Sponge in Green Clay

The next item in the April 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a Konjac Facial Sponge in Green Clay from BKIND Products. Some boxes contained bamboo charcoal rather than green clay.

BKIND Products Konjac Facial Sponge Green Clay

About

This vegan and cruelty-free sponge is infused with green clay, and it allows you to clean your face and exfoliate without soap. It is biodegradable and compostable, and it can be used for approximately 100 uses (2-3 months).

BKIND Products is a Canadian brand that focuses on sustainability and the power of plant-based ingredients. All of their jars and packaging materials are recyclable.

My Thoughts

I am very intrigued by this concept, which really provides an affordable and sustainable alternative to face wash. If this sponge really works, BKIND may have a new clay sponge convert in me!

Ingredients

This sponge contains konjac root extract, water, and French green clay.

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this sponge is $9.95.

Stock Up

If you missed the April 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get some more of these sponges for yourself, you can get them directly from BKIND Products.

Save One Straw, Reusable Silicone Angled Drinking Straw in Magenta

The next item in the April 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a Reusable Silicone Angled Drinking Straw in Magenta from Save One Straw.

Save One Straw Reusable Silicone Angled Drinking Straw Magenta

Save One Straw Reusable Silicone Angled Drinking Straw Magenta Cleaning Brush

About

This 9.5” angled silicone straw is made with BPA-free silicone, and it is safe for both children and hot drinks. It comes with a cleaning rod, but it is also dishwasher-safe.

My Thoughts

Using a straw makes everything more fun, but for those who don’t need disposable plastic straws for medical reasons, straws are increasingly maligned for their polluting qualities. It’s great to have a sustainable alternative, and the color of this one is bright and cheerful. A great addition to this “Green” box.

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this straw is $4.99.

Stock Up

If you missed the April 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get some more of these straws for yourself, you can get them directly from Save One Straw.

PREMIUM ONLY: Casa Amarosa, Cotton Foldover Clutch in Black Diamond

The next item in the April 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a Cotton Foldover Clutch in Black Diamond from Casa Amarosa.

About

This clutch is made with 100% cotton, and it folds over into an envelope shape. It has a magnetic snap to maintain the shape, and it has a zippered inner pocket to allow compartmentalization of items.

My Thoughts

What a fun bag! I don’t have any clutches in this bold and playful style, and I love the pattern and colors. The zipper pull is very smooth, and the bag actually holds a generous amount. The bag is a great way to round out this box, and it feels like a special reward for being a Premium subscriber.

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this clutch is $39.

Stock Up

If you missed the April 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get some another of these clutches for yourself, you can grab one from Amazon.

PREMIUM ONLY: Myro, Deodorant Kit in Flame + Solar Flare

The next item in the April 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a 65 g Deodorant Kit from Myro. The case color is Flame, and the scent is Solar Flare.

Myro Deodorant Kit Flame Solar Flare

About

The Myro deodorant starter kit comes in a pretty box with a deodorant case of your color choice, along with a cute pin and a single refill in the scent of your choice.

Myro Deodorant Kit Packaging Box

Myro Deodorant Kit Solar Flare Open Box

Myro’s deodorant uses a sugar-based antimicrobial to fight odor, and the packaging uses 50% less plastic than conventional deodorants. The case is durable and dishwasher-safe, and deodorant refills do not require replacement of the external reusable case.

The Solar Flare scent is a combination of orange, juniper, and sunflower.

My Thoughts

I am interested in natural deodorant, and I have even tried Lush’s version. Unfortunately, it didn’t work for me. Myro has gotten a ton of buzz, so I was very excited to receive it in this box and give natural deodorant another shot. The aroma smells fresh and wonderful.

Quality deodorant is notoriously difficult to find in Japan, and as a result, I am used to bringing it back from the United States. So although Myro doesn’t ship abroad, this will not be a dealbreaker for me. (But if Myro is reading this, international shipping would be amazing!)

Ingredients

This deodorant contains barley powder, corn starch, coconut oil, olive fruit extract, and rice extract, among other ingredients. This list is not comprehensive. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this deodorant kit is $10.

Stock Up

If you missed the April 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get some more of this deodorant for yourself, you can get it directly from Myro.

PREMIUM ONLY: Fringe Studio, Decorative Stoneware Tray in Pause

The next item in the April 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box is a Decorative Stoneware Tray in Pause from Fringe Studio.

Fringe Studios Decorative Stoneware Tray Pause

About

This tray has a stoneware base, and it is glazed with a matte white that is embossed with metallic rose gold lettering of the word, “PAUSE”. The diameter of this tiny tray is just 2.625 inches.

My Thoughts

I am on an organizing kick, and so it’s wonderful to get a decorative tray that is both beautiful and functional. The neutral color palette means that it will fit well with most natural, wood-based color schemes. Love it!

Retail Value

According to Bombay & Cedar, the MSRP of this tray is $9.

Stock Up

If you missed the April 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box or you want to get another of these trays for yourself, you can grab one directly from Fringe Studios.

Delivery Time

My “Green” April 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box shipped on April 29, 2019, and it was delivered to me in Tokyo, Japan, on May 7, 2019.

  • Delivery time: 8 days
  • Average delivery time (as of April 2019): 10 days

Value & Verdict

My total monthly cost for this Premium Bombay & Cedar subscription is $70.90. A Mini box would have cost $46.40.

The total retail value of the items in the box was as follows:

  • Bombay & Cedar, Pure Essential Oil in Purifying Carrot Seed (10 ml): $19
  • Bombay & Cedar, Pure Essential Oil in Decongesting Eucalyptus (10 ml): !$12
  • Enlightened, Bada Bean Bada Boom Crunchy Broad Beans in Cocoa-Dusted (1 oz): $1.39
  • Canvas, Lorelei Latch Bangle Bracelet in Ivory Raffia: $20
  • Earthly Body, Hemp Seed 3-in-1 Massage Candle in Isle Of You (6 oz): $15.99
  • BKIND Products, Konjac Facial Sponge in Green Clay: $9.95
  • Save One Straw, Reusable Silicone Angled Drinking Straw in Magenta: $4.99
  • PREMIUM ONLY: Casa Amarosa, Cotton Foldover Clutch in Black Diamond: $39
  • PREMIUM ONLY: Myro, Deodorant Kit in Flame + Solar Flare (65 g): $10
  • PREMIUM ONLY: Fringe Studio, Decorative Stoneware Tray in Pause: $9

Bombay and Cedar April 2019 Haul Flatlay Horizontal

Verdict: The $$$

In sum, here’s how the “Green” April 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box measures up:

  • Total retail value: $83.32 Mini | $141.32 Premium
  • Total savings over retail ($): $36.92 Mini | $70.42 Premium
  • Total savings over retail (%): 44% Mini | 50% Premium
  • Average price per item: $6.63 Mini | $7.90 Premium

This box always delivers great value, and this month was true to form. And even better, using the listed values from the brochure, Bombay & Cedar beat the promised value of both versions of the box, the Mini by $23.32 (+39%) and the Premium by $41.32 (+41%). Outstanding, right? And it’s especially nice that the premiums are higher for Premium subscribers, in exchange for their value as subscribers. Even factoring in the cost of international shipping, this subscription is a no-brainer.

Verdict: The ★★★

Another reason that Bombay & Cedar is so great is that their themes are very thoughtfully chosen, and the boxes really feel like an experience.

As usual, the “Green” box really did a great job tying in the products with its theme. The bracelet and clutch were made with sustainable materials, the straw, facial sponge, and deodorant are direct solutions to vexing environmental challenges, and the candle is a hard-working 3-in-1 delight.

Bombay & Cedar really shines, and it is a pleasure to receive their monthly boxes!

Coupon

Seriously, you don’t want to miss out on April’s box. Hurry and subscribe today because you don’t want to miss out on the next shipment! And don’t forget to use coupon code EXPAT10 for a 10% discount.

General Information

For general information about Bombay & Cedar, including subscription options, cost, shipping, tracking, packaging, charitable giving, and customer experience, see the Bombay & Cedar Overview post.

Also, you can click here to see our other Bombay & Cedar reviews.

And if you are in the market for a fabulous subscription or gift box for women that offers global shipping, check out our round-up of the top 10 subscriptions for women who live abroad!

Give a Shout!

Let us know what you think of the “Green” April 2019 Bombay & Cedar subscription box in the comments below. As always, we love hearing from you.

You may also like...

Popular Articles...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.