Bless Box February 2019 Haul Flatlay Rows
Review Unboxing

Bless Box | February 2019 | Unboxing & Honest Review

Bless Box is a monthly subscription service for women curated by lifestyle blogger Sazan Hendrix: “your digital bestie as your own personal stylist.” Each box includes an amazing assortment of beauty, skincare, fashion, lifestyle, health, and home products that Sazan herself would use, with a promised retail value of around $150 or more. This is a review and unboxing of the February 2019 “A Dozen Roses“ Edition of Bless Box.

Please visit our Affiliate Disclosure page for important information about affiliate links, free samples, and site commissions.

The Haul

I was so excited to open the February 2019 “A Dozen Roses“ edition of Bless Box, one of my favorite subscriptions! It contained 13 items, each with its own themed label, like “Something Kissable” and “Something Rosy.”

Bless Box February 2019 Open Box

The box usually contains a glossy color informational pamphlet containing photos, information and tips about the products included in the box, as well as mini articles. But this month, it included just a postcard directing subscribers to a PDF version of the pamphlet on a bit.ly site, and it said, “We’re going green this month.” It’s a little unclear if this is a permanent change or something that they did this month because they ran out of time for the printing. A few of the labels were doubles, so perhaps there was a crunch? We shall see with next month’s box…

Bless Box February 2019 Informational Card Front

Bless Box February 2019 Informational Card Back

Without further ado, here are the items that I received in my February 2019 Bless Box: “A Dozen Roses”:

  • 1. Something Dreamy: Color Wow, Dream Coat Supernatural Spray (200 ml)
  • 2. Something Kissable: Hola Neon, Velvet Liquid Lipstick in Hola, Lover (6.5 ml)
  • 3. Something Luxe: Wander Beauty, Baggage Claim Gold Eye Mask (1 pair)
  • 4. Something Sweet: Le Mini Macaron: Vanilla Almond Hand Mask (24 g)
  • 5. Something High-Tech: Soo’AE, Hydration Alert Sensor Sheet Mask (30 g)
  • 6. Something Magical: Soo’AE, Unicorn Glow Hologram Sheet Mask (25 g)
  • 7. Something Rosy: Soo’AE, Revitalizing Rose Petal Sheet Mask (30 g)
  • 8. Something Dreamy: Kneipp, Mini Valerian & Hops Mineral Bath Salt in Dream Away (60 g)
  • 9. Something Sweet: Skinny Dipped: Cocoa Covered Almonds in Dark Chocolate Cocoa (0.46 oz)
  • 10. Something Squeaky Clean: CleanTryOn: CleanTryOn Original (1 mask)
  • 11. Something Luxe: Elemis, Pro-Collagen Marine Cream SPF 30 (15 ml)
  • 12. Something ???: Go Smile, Stain Erasers (14-pack)
  • 13. Something ???: InstaNatural, Complete Organics Argan Oil Therapeutic Serum (30 ml)

Bless Box February 2019 Haul Flatlay Rows

The U.S. box contained the following products in place of the Go Smile Stain Erasers and InstaNatural Complete Organics Argan Oil Serum (#12 and #13):

  • Kneipp, Mint & Eucalyptus Shower Foam in Refreshing (193 g)
  • Something Smoothing: Living Proof, No Frizz Instant De-Frizzer (95 ml)

I presume that these items could not be shipped to Japan, because aerosols are not permitted in airmail shipments.

1. Something Dreamy: Color Wow, Dream Coat Supernatural Spray (200 ml)

The first item in the February 2019 Bless Box is a 200-ml bottle of Dream Coat Supernatural Spray from Color Wow.

About

This “supernatural spray” claims to humidity-proof and smooth your hair, with a heat-activated polymer sealant that lasts up to 3 shampoos. It is lighter than the typical one-shot hair product. Simply spray on damp hair and blow dry to activate.

This hair treatment was recognized in the 2017 Allure Best of Beauty Awards and the 2017 Fall Beauty O-Wards.

My Thoughts

Oh my gosh, the humidity is my hair’s worst enemy. And so are products made for strands that are much thicker than mine. I can’t win with the sticky Japanese summers. So if this product works as promised, I will be a lifelong devotee!

Retail Value

Bless Box claims that the MSRP of this hair treatment is $28.

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Bless Box or you want to get more of this hair treatment for yourself, you can order it from Amazon.

2. Something Kissable: Hola Neon, Velvet Liquid Lipstick in Hola, Lover (6.5 ml)

The next item in the February 2019 Bless Box is a 6.5 ml tube of Velvet Liquid Lipstick in Hola, Lover from Hola Neon. This is a classic dark red shade. Some boxes included Party Pop (bright coral pink) or Easy Sell (mauve pink).

Hola Neon Velvet Liquid Lipstick in Hola Lover

About

This lipstick goes on as a liquid lip gloss, but it has a matte finish and functions as a long-lasting, rub-resistant lip stain. It is cruelty-free, paraben-free, gluten-free, and phthalate-free.

My Thoughts

Wow, this is perhaps the most effective lip stain that I have ever tried. It really does NOT come off for anything, not rubbing, not water, not time. I had to use my eye make-up remover to get it off. Very cool stuff!

Retail Value

Bless Box claims that the MSRP of this lipstick is $17.

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Bless Box or you want to get more of this lipstick for yourself, you can order it in the DF shade (a darker mauve pink) from Amazon, or in the other shades directly from Hola Neon.

3. Something Luxe: Wander Beauty, Baggage Claim Gold Eye Mask (1 pair)

The next item in the February 2019 Bless Box is a pair of Baggage Claim Gold Eye Masks from Wander Beauty.

About

These eye masks are foiled with gold, which blocks evaporation of the serum. The formula includes hyaluronic acid, aloe leaf extract, and lavender oil, and it is meant to brighten, hydrate, and reduce dark circles. Made in Korea, they are free of mineral oil, paragon, phthalate, synthetic fragrance, and cruelty.

My Thoughts

I am excited to try these eye masks, because the combination of hyaluronic acid and aloe leaf is very hard-hitting. I have award-winning dark circles and eye puffiness, so I am always hungry for new treatments and pampering options for my tired eyes.

Ingredients

In addition to the aloe leaf extract and lavender oil, these eye masks contain verdolaga extract, marigold flower extract, camu camu fruit extract, shea butter, Baikal skullcap root extract, jojoba seed oil, and natto gum, among other ingredients. This list is not comprehensive. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

Bless Box claims that the MSRP of these eye masks is $4.16.

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Bless Box or you want to get more of these eye masks for yourself, you can order them from Amazon in the following colors:

4. Something Sweet: Le Mini Macaron, Vanilla Almond Hand Mask (24 g)

The next item in the February 2019 Bless Box is a Vanilla Almond Hand Mask from Le Mini Macaron.

About

This hand mask was made in Korea and uses real vanilla and almond extracts to pamper and hydrate tired hands.

Le Mini Macaron was founded in order to deliver a home manicure kit that allows women to use gel polish without going to a nail salon.

Time required: 15 minutes.

My Thoughts

I wash my hands very frequently, so I love pampering my hands with mask treatments! And I am a sucker for both vanilla and almond, so the combination is irresistible. I am so excited to try this mask.

Ingredients

In addition to the vanilla and almond extracts, this hand mask contains shea butter, coconut oil, mushroom extract, and mastic gum.

The list above is not comprehensive. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

Bless Box claims that the MSRP of this hand mask is $4.99.

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Bless Box or you want to get more of this hand mask for yourself, you can order them from Amazon.

5. Something High-Tech: Soo’AE, Hydration Alert Sensor Sheet Mask (30 g)

The next item in the February 2019 Bless Box is a Hydration Alert Sensor Sheet Mask from Soo’AE.

Soo'AE New York Hydration Alert Sensor Mask

Soo'AE New York Hydration Alert Sensor Mask Back of Packaging

About

This is the first of three Soo’AE sheet masks included in this box. This mask is made in Korea and claims to have a soothing and moisturizing effect. But it’s no regular mask: it’s a smart mask that contains a color-changing star print that is supposed to alert you when your skin has reached optimal hydration levels. It’s one of Soo’AE’s new products.

Soo’AE New York brings Korean beauty solutions to the English-speaking world, with a simplifying touch to suit the harried lifestyle needs of today’s jet-setting woman. Soo’AE claims that their products are cruelty-free and free of synthetic parabens, fragrances, and colorants as well as phthalates and sulfates.

Time required: 15-20 minutes.

My Thoughts

I am so excited to have received a few different Soo’AE masks in this box. I adore Korean beauty products, as well as me-time. And it’s perhaps a bit gimmicky, but nonetheless fun to have “smart” features built into the ordinarily quite boring sheet mask.

Ingredients

This mask contains grape extract, orange extract, apple extract, lime extract, lemon extract, and centella leaf extract, among other ingredients.

The list above is not comprehensive. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

Bless Box claims that the MSRP of this sheet mask is $5.

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Bless Box or you want to get another of these sheet masks for yourself, you can order them directly from Soo’AE.

6. Something Magical: Soo’AE, Unicorn Glow Hologram Sheet Mask (25 g)

The next item in the February 2019 Bless Box is a Unicorn Glow Hologram Sheet Mask from Soo’AE.

About

This mask was designed to have a detoxifying and brightening effect, and it contains black charcoal and niacinamide (Vitamin B3). Like the “smart” mask above, this one includes a fun design, in this case a hologram.

This is the second of three Soo’AE masks in this box.

Time required: 15-20 minutes.

My Thoughts

As with the mask above, I am excited to give this mask a shot. I can’t decide which to try first! I am intrigued by the ingredients of this mask, especially the natto gum.

Ingredients

This mask contains rosemary leaf extract, witch hazel leaf extract, sage leaf extract, lavender flower extract, peppermint leaf extract, licorice root extract, natto gum, and hydrolyzed collagen, among other ingredients.

The list above is not comprehensive. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

Bless Box claims that the MSRP of this sheet mask is $5.

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Bless Box or you want to get another of these sheet masks for yourself, you can order them from Amazon.

7. Something Rosy: Soo’AE, Revitalizing Rose Petal Sheet Mask (30 g)

The next item in the February 2019 Bless Box is a Revitalizing Rose Petal Sheet Mask from Soo’AE.

Soo'AE New York Revitalizing Rose Petal Sheet Mask

Soo'AE New York Revitalizing Rose Petal Sheet Mask Back of Packaging

About

This mask is advertised to have an anti-aging and nourishing effect, and it contains Bulgarian Rose water and petals, as well as prickly pear cactus extract.

This is the third of three Soo’AE masks in this box.

Time required: 15-20 minutes.

My Thoughts

As a 30-something mom, I am most excited about this mask. I love prickly pear cactus as an ingredient, and rose is always such a pampering aroma.

Ingredients

In addition to the rose petals, rose water, and prickly pear cactus extract, this mask contains blueberry extract, pomegranate extract, hydrolyzed collagen, honey extract, verdolaga extract, caterpillar fungus extract, and witch hazel extract, among other ingredients.

The list above is not comprehensive. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

Bless Box claims that the MSRP of this sheet mask is $5.

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Bless Box or you want to get another of these sheet masks for yourself, you can order them directly from Soo’AE.

8. Something Dreamy: Kneipp, Mini Valerian & Hops Mineral Bath Salt in Dream Away (60 g)

The next item in the February 2019 Bless Box is a packet of Mini Valerian & Hops Mineral Bath Salt in Dream Away from Kneipp.

About

This bath salt comes from pure natural brine in Saline Luisenhall, which is the only open pan salt works that remains in Europe today. It contains valerian oil and hops extract for relaxation, and it is cruelty-free.

My Thoughts

I love bath salts because I suffer from chronic pain due to my endometriosis, and a warm bath is just what I need to relax and soothe my throbbing back and prepare me for sleep.

Retail Value

Bless Box claims that the MSRP of this bath salt is $4.

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Bless Box or you want to get more of this bath salt for yourself, you can order a full-sized bottle from Amazon. You can also find Kneipp bath salts in the following additional aromas:

9. Something Sweet: Skinny Dipped, Cocoa Covered Almonds in Dark Chocolate Cocoa (0.46 oz)

The next item in the February 2019 Bless Box is a 0.46 oz bag of Cocoa Covered Almonds in Dark Chocolate Cocoa from Skinny Dipped.

About

These gluten-free chocolate-covered almonds are non-GMO and PPO-free, and the chocolate is ethically sourced.

Skinny Dipped Almonds is a family-owned business that was started in response to the tragic death of a young family friend.

My Thoughts

These are so delicious! Almonds and dark chocolate are two of my favorite things, and these yummy snacks taste so much richer than many of the overly sweetened kinds that I have tried before. At only 2 g of sugar per pack, they are a great snack that won’t wreak havoc on my type 1 diabetic blood sugar.

Ingredients

Allergy alert: These nuts obviously contain tree nuts, as well as milk and soy. And they are made in a facility that processes peanuts.

The list above is not comprehensive. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

Bless Box claims that the MSRP of these chocolate-covered almonds is $1.99. But the PDF pamphlet shows the 1.5 oz bag, whereas my box contained a 0.46 oz bag, which has an MSRP of $1.46. So I would knock this back by $0.53. Not a huge deal, but I’m a little bummed that I got a tiny bag because the almonds were so tasty!

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Bless Box or you want to get more of these chocolate-covered almonds for yourself, you can order this flavor and the others in a bunch of different sizes:

If you can’t decide, you can also snag a variety pack that includes four different flavors.

10. Something Squeaky Clean: CleanTryOn: CleanTryOn Original (1 mask)

The next item in the February 2019 Bless Box is a CleanTryOn Original mask from CleanTryOn.

About

This disposable mask is a face cover that prevents your make-up from staining clothing when trying them on or otherwise doing a costume change.

My Thoughts

These masks are actually supplied by Japanese clothing shops as a matter of course, and they are part of the etiquette of trying things on here. So it was a bit funny to find one of these masks in my box, because it had never occurred to me to use them at home.

But actually, I really have stained some of my own clothes with make-up. I am usually dying to get out of my street clothes and into my pajamas as soon as I walk in the door, and long before my nighttime skincare routine. That is great for my aching body, but not so great for the necklines of my tops. So I have to say that I am a bit pleased to have received this, and it may have just inspired a new technique in caring for my precious wardrobe.

Retail Value

Bless Box claims that the MSRP of this mask is $1.

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Bless Box or you want to get more of these masks for yourself, you can order a box of 25 from Amazon.

11. Something Luxe: Elemis, Pro-Collagen Marine Cream SPF 30 (15 ml)

The next item in the February 2019 Bless Box is a 15 ml bottle of Pro-Collagen Marine Cream SPF 30 from Elemis.

About

This anti-wrinkle day cream is part of the Anti-Ageing range from Elemis. The algae collagen-based formula is intended to firm, smooth, and hydrate your skin while protecting it from the sun. The cream is free of artificial colors, parabens, SLS, SLES, DEA, and mineral oils.

Elemis is a luxury British skincare brand that aims to develop dermatologically sound formulas that are clinically trialed and groundbreaking.

My Thoughts

The pamphlet says that this cream is one of the best items from 2018, so this is probably a repeat for some people. How lucky, because Elemis is a fabulous brand!

Like other Elemis products, this cream smells like a high-end spa. I am so excited to try this cream and see what it can do for my 30-something face!

Ingredients

This cream contains shea butter, carrot root extract, wheat germ oil, ginkgo biloba leaf extract, mimosa flower extract, and rose flower extract, as well as red, green and brown algae extracts.

The list above is not comprehensive. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

Bless Box claims that the MSRP of this cream is $44.20.

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Bless Box or you want to get more of this cream for yourself, you can order it from Amazon or Lookfantastic.

12. Something ???: Go Smile, Stain Erasers (14-pack)

The next item in the February 2019 Bless Box is a 14-pack of Stain Erasers from Go Smile.

About

These single-use applicators are designed to remove residue before your teeth get stained, and it can be used up to 3 times a day. It also provides minty refreshment, for those who struggle with bad breath.

My Thoughts

I love this idea! The other day, I was actually starting to notice that my love affair with coffee is taking its toll on my pearly whites. But I can never bring myself to carry a toothbrush around and incorporate frequent brushing into my day, although many people do so in Japan. But these are quick and easy enough that they may push me over the edge and into action.

Retail Value

Bless Box claims that the MSRP of these stain erasers is $14.

Stock Up

If you missed the February 2019 Bless Box or you want to get more of these stain erasers for yourself, you can order them from Amazon.

13. Something ???: InstaNatural, Complete Organics Argan Oil Therapeutic Serum (30 ml)

The next item in the February 2019 Bless Box is a 30 ml bottle of Complete Organics Argan Oil Therapeutic Serum from InstaNatural.

Complete Organics by Insta Natural Argan Oil Therapeutic Serum Bottle with Box Organic Orange Geranium Palmarosa

About

This multipurpose serum can be used on the face, body, hair, or nails, in each case to strengthen and revitalize the applicable area. All of the ingredients are certified organic.

My Thoughts

Facial oils are great, and argan oil is a heavy-hitter. I am excited to add another tincture to my stash.

Ingredients

This serum contains argan oil, orange peel oil, rose geranium oil, and gingergrass oil.

The list above is not comprehensive. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

Bless Box claims that the MSRP of this serum is $29.97.

Stock Up

It looks as if this particular product has been discontinued. So if you missed the February 2019 Bless Box, you may be out of luck.

Delivery Time

My February 2019 Bless Box: “A Dozen Roses“ shipped on March 4, 2019, and it was delivered to me in Tokyo, Japan, on March 15, 2019.

  • Delivery Time: 11 days
  • Average delivery time (as of February 2019): 13 days

Value & Verdict

My total monthly cost for this subscription is $41.66.

The total retail value of the items that I received in the February 2019 Bless Box: “A Dozen Roses” was as follows:

  • 1. Something Dreamy: Color Wow, Dream Coat Supernatural Spray (200 ml): $28
  • 2. Something Kissable: Hola Neon, Velvet Liquid Lipstick in Hola, Lover (6.5 ml): $17
  • 3. Something Luxe: Wander Beauty, Baggage Claim Gold Eye Mask (1 pair): $4.16
  • 4. Something Sweet: Le Mini Macaron: Vanilla Almond Hand Mask (24 g): $4.99
  • 5. Something High-Tech: Soo’AE, Hydration Alert Sensor Sheet Mask (30 g): $5
  • 6. Something Magical: Soo’AE, Unicorn Glow Hologram Sheet Mask (25 g): $5
  • 7. Something Rosy: Soo’AE, Revitalizing Rose Petal Sheet Mask (30 g): $5
  • 8. Something Dreamy: Kneipp, Mini Valerian & Hops Mineral Bath Salt in Dream Away (60 g): $4
  • 9. Something Sweet: Skinny Dipped: Cocoa Covered Almonds in Dark Chocolate Cocoa (0.46 oz): $1.99
  • 10. Something Squeaky Clean: CleanTryOn: CleanTryOn Original (1 mask): $1
  • 11. Something Luxe: Elemis, Pro-Collagen Marine Cream SPF 30 (15 ml): $44.20
  • 12. Something ???: Go Smile, Stain Erasers (14-pack): $14
  • 13. Something ???: InstaNatural, Complete Organics Argan Oil Therapeutic Serum (30 ml): $29.97

Bless Box February 2019 Haul Flatlay Fanned

In sum, here’s how the February 2019 Bless Box: “A Dozen Roses” measures up:

  • Total retail value: $164.31
  • Total savings over retail ($): $122.65
  • Total savings over retail (%): 75%
  • Average price per item: $3.20

Verdict: The $$$

Overall, I think that I got good value with my haul from the February 2019 Bless Box: “A Dozen Roses.” Even with the $15 shipping to Japan, this is one of the only boxes that consistently delivers supercharged retail value even when you subscribe from abroad. The items were 75% off retail price!

For international subscribers, Bless Box beat its target value of $150 per box by $14.31. And for U.S. subscribers, they beat the target value by $1.34. It’s really wonderful that they replaced the U.S.-only items with products worth a bit more. It really makes you feel like they care about their international subscribers, and makes up for the slightly higher shipping fees that we pay for our monthly boxes. It’s an A from me, and it would have been an A+ if there was a little write-up on the replacement items! (I know, so harsh.)

Verdict: The ★★★

In addition to the retail savings, I thought the haul itself from my February 2019 Bless Box was a lot of fun. So much me-time awaits me, and I am so excited about the cutting-edge hair and make-up items.

Love what you see? Click HERE to subscribe.

General Information

For general information about Bless Box, including subscription options, cost, shipping, tracking, packaging, charitable giving, and customer experience, see the Bless Box Overview post.

Also, don’t forget to check out the rest of our monthly Bless Box reviews.

And if you are in the market for a fabulous subscription or gift box for women that offers global shipping, check out our round-up of the top 10 subscriptions for women who live abroad!

Give a Shout!

Let us know what you think of the February 2019 Bless Box: “A Dozen Roses” Edition in the comments below. As always, we love hearing from you.

You may also like...

Popular Articles...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.