Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box March 2019 Flatlay Lined up with Pamphlet
Review Unboxing

Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box | March 2019 | Unboxing & Honest Review

This is a review and unboxing of the March 2019 edition of the Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box.

Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box Shipping Box

Beauteque Monthly’s Beauty Box is a monthly subscription box that delivers a hand-picked selection of full-sized Korean and Taiwanese makeup and skincare products and beauty tools. Beauteque Monthly promises that the value of the box will be at least 3x the cost.

Please visit our Affiliate Disclosure page for important information about affiliate links, free samples, and site commissions.

The Haul

The March 2019 edition of the Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box contained 6 items and carried a “Sweet As Honey” theme.

Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box March 2019 Open Lid

As usual, it also included a single-page, folded brochure explaining the items in the box and providing use instructions and tips for best results.

Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box March 2019 Pamphlet Sweet As Honey

Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box March 2019 Pamphlet Open Sweet As Honey

Without further ado, here are the items that I received in my “Sweet As Honey” March 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box:

  • May Island, Egg Mayonnaise Honey Hair Treatment (200 ml)
  • Farm Stay, Honey & Gold Wrinkle Lifting Essence (150 ml)
  • Biorace, Propolis Repair Two Step Mask (34 ml)
  • The Saem, Saemmul Honey Lip Treatment (10 ml)
  • Lameila, Ball Beauty Eye Massager in Pink
  • Skylake, Natural Botanical Honey Hand Cream (30 ml)

Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box March 2019 Flatlay Horizontal

May Island, Egg Mayonnaise Honey Hair Treatment (200 ml)

The first item in the March 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box was a 200 ml tube of Egg Mayonnaise Honey Hair Treatment from May Island.

About

This hair treatment uses jeju honey and egg to restore damaged hair, strengthen hair, add shine, and reduce frizz. It can be used on damp or dry hair, and it takes just 3-5 minutes to work its magic.

My Thoughts

I am so excited about this hair treatment! It smells amazing, like a spa and not at all eggy like I had feared. My hair is quite dry and damaged, and it can use the TLC that this stuff will provide.

Ingredients

This hair treatment contains collagen, elastin, lecithin, keratin, Japanese goldthread, egg yolk extract, honey extract, sunflower seed oil, sweet almond oil, and gympie nut seed oil, among other ingredients. This list is not comprehensive. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to Beauteque Monthly, the MSRP of this hair treatment is $13.

Stock Up

If you missed the March 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box or you want to get more of this hair treatment for yourself, you can order it from YesStyle.

DEAL ALERT: Hurry, because this hair treatment is 4.9% off at YesStyle, but only for the next 5 days!

Farm Stay, Honey & Gold Wrinkle Lifting Essence (150 ml)

The next item in the March 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box was a 150 bottle of Honey & Gold Wrinkle Lifting Essence from Farmstay.

About

This paraben-free essence contains gold, honey, and antioxidants to ward off wrinkles and promotes youthfulness by lifting under-eye bags. Only a pea-sized amount is needed for one application.

Farm Stay is a brand that dates to 2012 from Myung In Cosmetics that focuses on anti-aging products.

My Thoughts

The honey smell really comes through in this essence, and I am impressed at the hefty size of the bottle. It will last me quite a while!

Ingredients

This essence contains castor oil, aloe leaf extract, honey extract, gold (650 ppm), and yeast ferment filtrate, among other ingredients. This list is not comprehensive. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to Beauteque Monthly, the MSRP of this essence is $21.99.

Stock Up

If you missed the March 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box or you want to get more of this essence for yourself, you can order it from YesStyle.

DEAL ALERT: Hurry, because this essence is 9.9% off at YesStyle, but only for the next 5 days!

Biorace, Propolis Repair Two Step Mask (34 ml)

The next item in the March 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box was a 34 ml Propolis Repair Two Step Mask from Biorace.

Biorace Propolis Repair Two Step Mask

About

This mask starts with a prepping step that removes dead skin cells and cleanses the skin. The second step nourishes and moisturizes the skin by boosting its immunity.

Time required: 10-20 minutes.

My Thoughts

Hooray for another Korean sheet mask treatment! I am developing quite a spa collection, but this is a brand that I have never tried. This mask was a great addition to this box.

Ingredients

This sheet mask contains dokudami extract, aloe leaf powder, verdolaga extract, sage leaf extract, oregano leaf extract, elkhorn sea moss (red algae) extract, tara fruit extract, mallow extract, peppermint leaf extract, cowslip extract, common lady’s mantle extract, heath speedwell extract, balm leaf extract, yarrow extract, propolis (bee glue) extract, matricaria flower/leaf extract, rosemary extract, lavender extract, scarlet beebalm leaf extract, basil leaf extract, sage leaf extract, wild marjoram leaf extract, and spearmint extract, among other ingredients. This list is not comprehensive. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to Beauteque Monthly, the MSRP of this sheet mask is $6.99.

Stock Up

If you missed the March 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box or you want to get more of this sheet mask for yourself, you can order it directly from Beauteque.

The Saem, Saemmul Honey Lip Treatment (10 ml)

The next item in the March 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box was a 10 ml tube of Saemmul Honey Lip Treatment from The Saem.

About

This lip treatment offers sun protection (SPF 10), and it can also be used as a lip sleeping pack.

My Thoughts

The honey is very prominent in this treatment, and yet it is not overly sticky like true lip masks tend to be. In fact, it doesn’t last quite as long as a lip gloss, but it leaves lips feeling soft. So it would make a great spot treatment in a pinch.

Ingredients

This lip treatment contains cacao seed butter, sweet almond oil, honey, lavender oil, rosemary leaf oil, borage seed oil, western rose flower, birch sap, rose flower oil, chamomile flower oil, and ylang ylang flower extract, among other ingredients. This list is not comprehensive. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to Beauteque Monthly, the MSRP of this lip treatment is $7.

Stock Up

If you missed the March 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box or you want to get more of this lip treatment for yourself, you can order it from YesStyle.

DEAL ALERT: Hurry, because this lip treatment is 4.8% off at YesStyle, but only for the next 5 days!

Lameila, Ball Beauty Eye Massager in Pink

The next item in the March 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box was a Ball Beauty Eye Massager in Pink from Lameila.

About

This eye massager promotes circulation and reduces puffiness around your eyes.

My Thoughts

Living in Japan, I have gradually come around to the idea of facial rollers and massage tools. They are actually quite relaxing! The ball mechanism on this massager rolls very smoothly, and the ball itself feels very cool and refreshing on my sensitive eyes. And I have the world’s baggiest eyes, so I need all the help I can get!

Retail Value

According to Beauteque Monthly, the MSRP of this eye massager is $7.

Stock Up

If you missed the March 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box or you want to get another of these eye massagers for yourself, you can order them from eBay.

Skylake, Natural Botanical Honey Hand Cream (30 ml)

The next item in the March 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box was a 30 ml tube of Natural Botanical Honey Hand Cream from Skylake.

Skylake Honey Hand Cream

About

This hand cream hydrates with honey extract and contains a light and fresh scent.

My Thoughts

I like the cute packaging on this hand cream. Although I don’t really get much honey in the aroma, it smells nice and light. It doesn’t leave behind any greasiness or oiliness, which is very important for day hand creams.

Ingredients

This hand cream contains honey extract, Heavenly Lake Herbal Fermentation, florist’s daisy extract, peppermint leaf extract, and ginseng root extract, among other ingredients. This list is not comprehensive. If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to Beauteque Monthly, the MSRP of this hand cream is $4.99.

Stock Up

If you missed the March 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box or you want to get more of this hand cream for yourself, you can order it directly from Beauteque.

Delivery Time

My “Sweet As Honey” March 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box shipped on March 28, 2019, and it was delivered to me in Tokyo, Japan, on April 3, 2019.

  • Delivery time: 6 days
  • Average delivery time (as of March 2019): 9 days

Value & Verdict

My total monthly cost for this subscription is $31.95.

The total retail value of the items in the box was as follows:

  • May Island, Egg Mayonnaise Honey Hair Treatment (200 ml): $13
  • Farm Stay, Honey & Gold Wrinkle Lifting Essence (150 ml): $21.99
  • Biorace, Propolis Repair Two Step Mask (34 ml): $6.99
  • The Saem, Saemmul Honey Lip Treatment (10 ml): $7
  • Lameila, Ball Beauty Eye Massager in Pink: $7
  • Skylake, Natural Botanical Honey Hand Cream (30 ml): $4.99

Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box March 2019 Haul Stacked

In sum, here’s how the “Sweet As Honey” March 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box measures up:

  • Total retail value: $60.97
  • Total savings over retail ($): $29.02
  • Total savings over retail (%): 48%
  • Average price per item: $5.33

Verdict: The $$$

The value from this box generally runs in the middle of the pack, and the value of this month’s box was the same as the actual average of the last three boxes. Using the listed values from the brochure, Beauteque Monthly beat the price of the box by just over $30, even with the cost of international shipping. This is not bad for a beauty box, especially one that also introduces products that would normally be off my radar.

However, strictly speaking, the total retail value of the box was $5.03 less than promised, taking Beauteque Monthly’s valuations at face value. For those paying month-to-month, the gap widens to $11.03. Even when I get decent value from a subscription, it always irks me when subscription services undershoot their own advertised benchmarks. This is the third month in a row that Beauteque has undershot its promised box values, so I am having a hard time believing that this box is even trying to deliver on this promise.

Verdict: The ★★★

Although the value issue is always a bit of a sore issue with this box (so unnecessarily!), I thought this box was a winner thematically and in terms of quality. There are so many great uses of honey in the beauty world, and this box did a great job of highlighting a variety of these. There were a couple of facial skincare products, a beauty tool, a lip treatment, a hair treatment, and a hand cream.

Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box March 2019 Flatlay Horizontal with Pamphlet

General Information

For general information about the Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box, including subscription options, cost, shipping, tracking, packaging, charitable giving, and customer experience, see the Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box Overview post.

Also, don’t forget to check out the rest of our Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box reviews.

And if you are in the market for a fabulous subscription or gift box for women that offers global shipping, check out our round-up of the top 10 subscriptions for women who live abroad!

Give a Shout!

Let us know what you think of the “Sweet As Honey” March 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box in the comments below. As always, we love hearing from you.

You may also like...

Popular Articles...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.