Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box January 2019 Drama Queen Edition: Haul Scattered on Tabletop
Review Unboxing

Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box | January 2019 | Unboxing & Honest Review

This is a review and unboxing of the January 2019 edition of the Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box.

Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box January 2019: Opened Lid

Beauteque Monthly’s Beauty Box is a monthly subscription box that delivers a hand-picked selection of full-sized Korean and Taiwanese makeup and skincare products and beauty tools. Beauteque Monthly promises that the value of the box will be at least 3x the cost.

Please visit our Affiliate Disclosure page for important information about affiliate links, free samples, and site commissions.

The Haul

The January 2019 edition of the Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box contained 6 items and carried a “Drama Queen” theme.

Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box: January 2019 "Drama Queen" Edition Haul

It also included a single-page, folded brochure explaining the items in the box and providing use instructions and tips for best results.

Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box January 2019 Drama Queen Edition: Pamphlet (folded)

Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box January 2019 Drama Queen Edition: Pamphlet (unfolded)

Without further ado, here are the items that I received in my “Drama Queen” January 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box:

  1. Yuki, Professional Mineral Water Glow Blusher in 04 Highlighter (12 g)
  2. Shiseido, Neuve Eyebrow Pencil in Natural Gray (1.5 g)
  3. Yeppen Skin, Chameleon Peel-Off Mask in Shine Gold (1.76 oz)
  4. Etude House, Look At My Eyes Eyeshadow in BR425 (2 g)
  5. Quanfan, Silicone Beauty Blender
  6. Wish Formula, Blackhead & Blackmask Home Spa Kit

Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box January 2019 Drama Queen Edition: Haul Scattered on Tabletop

1. Yuki, Professional Mineral Water Glow Blusher in 04 Highlighter (12 g)

The first item in the January 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box was a highlighter compact from Yuki.

About

Yuki is a Korean cosmetics brand that launched in 2013. Yuki products are manufactured and designed in-house by Hankook Costech, a Korean company that got its start as a manufacturer of cosmetics products for established Korean brands such as Skinfood and Etude House.

This highlighter is a powder blush for all skin types, and it is baked using the terra cotta method. The shimmering compact is marbled to pick up a variety of colors, and it is supposed to produce a hydrating, three-dimensional sheen.

My Thoughts

As promised, this highlighter produces a subtle and long-lasting glow, and application is silky smooth. My compact had shed a bit of powder by the time it reached me, but the cake did not break and I was able to clean it up without issue.

I have a few highlighters in my stash already, but this one might have earned the top spot. So pleased with this item!

Retail Value

According to Beauteque Monthly, the MSRP of this highlighter is $19, and this is the price on the Beauteque website. However, the same product seems to be available for around $15 online directly from Yuki, so I would knock this one back by $4.

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box or you want to get this highlighter for yourself, you can grab some for yourself on Amazon.

2. Shiseido, Neuve Eyebrow Pencil in Natural Gray (1.5 g)

The next item in the January 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box is a natural gray (shizen na gurē) eyebrow pencil from Shiseido Neuve.

About

This Japanese eyebrow pencil is smudge-proof and sweat-proof. Neuve is a drugstore label owned by Japan’s Shiseido, and you can tell from the packaging that this product was made for a display rack.

My Thoughts

I’ve never tried this brand, but I am not particularly picky about eyebrow pencils, so I am willing to go with a cheaper option if it works. I am not sure if this pencil is the right color for me, but the gray is soft enough that I may be able to get away with it.

Retail Value

According to Beauteque Monthly, the MSRP of this eyebrow pencil is $7.99.

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box or you want to get this eyebrow pencil for yourself, you can get it from Amazon or directly from Beauteque.

3. Yeppen Skin, Chameleon Peel-Off Mask in Shine Gold (1.76 oz)

The next item in the January 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box is a 1.76 oz tube containing a color-changing peel-off face mask from Yeppen Skin.

Yeppen Skin Chameleon Peel-Off Mask in Shine Gold Tube & Box

About

Like a chameleon, this face mask changes color when you apply it! It contains AHA (alpha hydroxy acids) to exfoliate and clear the skin, as well as extracts of licorice, Japanese honeysuckle, and Asian lizard’s tail to smooth and calm.

Yeppen Skin is a Korean label owned by Dermal Korea.

My Thoughts

I may be slightly obsessed with face masks, so I am very excited to see this Yeppen Skin mask in this month’s box. I wish I could try it right now, but I am trying not to overdo it with the tingly masks, and I just did one yesterday.

Ingredients

If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to Beauteque Monthly, the MSRP of this mask is $13.99. However, the same product seems to be available for around $12 online directly from The Dermal Shop (the exclusive agent in the US for Dermal Korea), so I would knock this one back by $1.99.

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box or you want to get this face mask for yourself, you can get it directly from The Dermal Shop or from Beauteque.

4. Etude House, Look At My Eyes Eyeshadow in BR425 (2 g)

The next item in the January 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box is an eyeshadow compact from Etude House.

Etude House Look At My Eyes Eyeshadow in BR425

About

Shade 425 was included in the Budapest Fall 2016 Collection. Like all Etude House Look At My Eyes compacts, this stuff is supposed to provide deep, long-lasting pigment.

Etude House is a Korean cosmetics powerhouse that is owned by AmorePacific, also Korean and the world’s 14th largest cosmetics company. They now have branches across Asia, including in Japan, Taiwan, and Singapore.

My Thoughts

I love this coppery shade – so pretty! I think it would pair very well with other colors, and it might even double as a bronzer.

Retail Value

According to Beauteque Monthly, the MSRP of this eyeshadow is $9. However, as of publication, Etude House is selling this brand of eyeshadow directly for only $4.60. What’s more, Beauteque itself is offering the same product in the same BR425 shade for only $4. That’s $5 less than the advertised value, a pretty significant difference if you ask me.

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box or you want to get this eyeshadow for yourself, you can find your own compact of this shade of powder eyeshadow from Beauteque, or you can browse the many color offerings directly through Etude House.

5. Quanfan, Silicone Beauty Blender

The next item in the January 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box is a silicone beauty blender from Quanfan.

Quanfan Silicone Beauty Blender

About

This glitter-filled, teardrop-shaped silicone make-up applicator makes it possible to apply liquid foundation without excessive absorption by the applicator sponge.

The beauty blender was made by Quanfan, a Chinese cosmetic sponge manufacturing company. Quanfan does not seem to have a marketing or consumer-facing side, and rather they typically produce white label products for well-known brands.

My Thoughts

I had been eyeing a beauty blender for some time, and I am so pleased that this one dropped into my lap as part of this box. I hope that I will get results with my foundation when using this item, although I acknowledge the controversy about whether or not they are effective. If it agrees with my go-to foundation, I may be able to say farewell to my filthy sponges!

Retail Value

According to Beauteque Monthly, the MSRP of this beauty blender is $4.99.

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box or you want to get one of these blenders for yourself, you can get one directly from Beauteque.

6. Wish Formula, Blackhead & Blackmask Home Spa Kit

The next item in the January 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box is a home spa kit from Wish Formula that is meant to address blackheads.

Wish Formula Blackhead & Blackmask Home Spa Kit

About

This three-step home spa kit includes a nose and chin mask (10-15 minutes), a “black stick” to extract blackheads following mask application, and a pore tightening serum to finish off the treatment.

My Thoughts

My combination skin leaves me prone to blackheads, but stripping treatments for the whole face can be too harsh for the skin outside my T zone. So I am especially excited to see if I can get some results from this home spa kit.

Ingredients

The masks contain, among other ingredients, witch hazel, sage leaf extract, orange peel oil, peppermint leaf extract, burdock root extract, lemon balm leaf extract, juniper berry extract, mistletoe extract, St. John’s wort extract and soapwort root extract.

The serum contains, among other things, Chinese skullcap root extract, wine extract, chamomile flower extract, lily magnolia bud extract, licorice root extract, willow bark extract, mint extract, witch hazel leaf extract, and raspberry ketone.

If you have allergies or sensitivities, you should check the full ingredient list before using.

Retail Value

According to Beauteque Monthly, the MSRP of this spa kit is $3.

Stock Up

If you missed the January 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box or you want to get this blackhead treatment kit for yourself, you can get it through Beauteque or Korean Smooch.

Delivery Time

My “Drama Queen” January 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box shipped on January 25, 2019, and it was delivered to me in Tokyo, Japan, on February 7, 2019.

  • Delivery time: 13 days
  • Average delivery time (as of January 2019): 13 days

Value & Verdict

My total monthly cost for this subscription is $31.95.

The total retail value of the items in the box was as follows:

  1. Yuki, Professional Mineral Water Glow Blusher in 04 Highlighter (12 g): $19
  2. Shiseido, Neuve Eyebrow Pencil in Natural Gray (1.5 g): $7.99
  3. Yeppen Skin, Chameleon Peel-Off Mask in Shine Gold (1.76 oz): $13.99
  4. Etude House, Look At My Eyes Eyeshadow in BR425 (2 g): $9
  5. Quanfan, Silicone Beauty Blender: $4.99
  6. Wish Formula, Blackhead & Blackmask Home Spa Kit: $3

In sum, here’s how the “Drama Queen” January 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box measures up:

  • Total retail value: $57.97
  • Total savings over retail: $26.02
  • Average price per item: $5.33

Overall, the value that I received from this box was about average. Using the listed values from the brochure, Beauteque Monthly beat the price of the box by over $25, even with the cost of international shipping. This is not bad for a beauty box, especially one that also introduces products that would normally be off my radar.

However, strictly speaking, the total retail value of the box was $8.03 less than promised, even if we take Beauteque Monthly’s valuations as they are. For those paying month-to-month, the gap widens to $10.03. And if we disregard the brochure and look just at the pricing that we found online, the spread looks even worse, with a total value of $46.98. On the one hand, this still represents a savings of $15.03 over retail. But on the other hand, it is fully $19.02 below the promised retail value. Yikes!

Even when I get decent value from a subscription, it always irks me when subscription services undershoot their own advertised benchmarks. How hard is it to get that part right?

Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box January 2019 Drama Queen Edition: Haul Lined Up on Tabletop

The haul itself had a good mix of beauty tools, skincare, and cosmetics. However, I was hoping for a bit more on the skincare side of things. Four of the six items were make-up related.

Love what you see? Subscribe NOW!

General Information

For general information about the Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box, including subscription options, cost, shipping, tracking, packaging, charitable giving, and customer experience, see the Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box Overview post.

Also, don’t forget to check out the rest of our Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box reviews.

And if you are in the market for a fabulous subscription or gift box for women that offers global shipping, check out our round-up of the top 10 subscriptions for women who live abroad!

Give a Shout!

Let us know what you think of the “Drama Queen” January 2019 Beauteque Monthly Beauty Box in the comments below. As always, we love hearing from you.

You may also like...

Popular Articles...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.